His Arrows

“Behold children are a heritage from
the LORD,
The fruit of the womb is His reward.
Like arrows in the hand of a
warrior,
So are the children of one’s youth.”  Psalm 127:3-4

Not every child is seen as a reward by their parents.

Lord, please help us understand our heritage as Your much loved children.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Within His Quiver

medcitynews.com

medcitynews.com

Kept as arrows
close by His side

within His quiver
we abide

until sent out
when the time is right

to pierce the darkness
with His light.

36 Comments

  1. Oh Deb!!! This poem not only sounds beautiful…lyrical said aloud, but the deep meaning revealed in these carefully chosen words. What a blessing it is for me to read it with a mother’s heart and a mother’s cares…and to read it from a child’s perspective, because I am a child who so needy.

    God bless you, Deb!

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. Absolutely wonderful Deb!

    God bless you 🙂

  3. You know how I feel about my girls Deb. that is only a fraction of the love I feel from the Father.

  4. Reblogged this on My Delight and My Counsellors.

  5. Every time i read your poems, it’s like a symphony automatically start playing in my head. Lovely, beautiful and all the words that qualifies perfection!

  6. Wonderful – ok – i admit it – there were times over the last 32 years of parenthood when i may have wondered what kind of reward this is – but those times were fleeting.

    My 4 – and now 6 (2 married in) children are a reward i do not deserve.

    A friend said to me a while back that he thinks of his kids as arrows that he has shot into the world, and they are a mark of his impact on the world –

    The first commandment – be fruitful and multiply and subdue the earth – we take those arrows and shoot them into the earth as our act of bringing order?

    Sorry – i am letting my mind wander at your expense – lol –

    This is a wonderful poem, i pray I can be a true arrow for my Father today.
    Thank you Sister Deb!

  7. What a blessing to know that we are joint heirs with Christ Jesus…YEAH

  8. AMEN! What a wonderful blessing children are to their parents. May their parents come to appreciate and love them as the Lord loves His spiritual children.

    Lord bless you.

  9. GLORY TO GOD! What a beautifully powerful poem Deb!

  10. excellent job on this!!!

  11. Deb,

    This is so profound and packed with power. There is a great anointing in these words. You know I’m a fan of yours, my friend, but this poem came from the very heart of God.

    “…within His quiver
    we abide

    until sent out
    when the time is right

    to pierce the darkness
    with His light.”

    Praise God, He has kept you in His quiver, and as you wrote and posted this poem, you were sent out at just the right time, to pierce the darkness with His light! Thanks so much for sharing this!

    Love,
    Cheryl

  12. “That’s great!” said my wife when I read your poem to her. I added, “It’s beyond great. It’s awesome!”

    So, there you have it. A perfect 10 score from the two Southern California judges.

    It looks like rain is a great possibility in Peoria today. Better slip on your goulashes and take an umbrella along with you today. Sneak up on Aub and give her a big Chicago Bears’ hug for me.

  13. Amen.

  14. Beautifully ~ beautiful Deb . . . ~ Blessings ~

  15. The sovereign intention of God is far more crucial to the outcome than man’s efforts. The same principle of God’s sovereignty applies to raising a family……how comforting:-)

  16. Your thoughts today hold a very deep meaning for me – every child deserves to be honoured as a blessing, and so many aren’t… Our world is harsh for so many.

  17. Love you and God bless you for your heart that hears His!

  18. God bless you too, beautiful one!

  19. I love your love for your girls . .and then helping us understand how much more than that, He loves us. Thank you and God bless you, Pastor Bill, and your loved ones!

  20. Thank you and God bless you and your ministry!

  21. God bless you, Selah, as He readies you and sends you out today!

  22. You are definitely a true arrow, Mr. Ben . ..and you can let your mind wander here any time you want. 🙂 God bless you and thank you for piercing the dark each day!

  23. Yaying with you, dear Desiray! God bless you and yours today and all the ways He loves you!

  24. Praying that with you, Pastor Rob. Thank you and God bless you as you remain ready for Him always!

  25. I loved the big ‘GLORY TO GOD!’ Amen! Thank you and God bless you and yours!!

  26. God bless you, Terry, and your loving care of Al.

  27. I am thankful that He helped me write this .. .helped me be an arrow today. 🙂 The arrow idea came from a devotion I read in Streams In The Desert, by L. B. Cowman.
    Love you and God bless you, Cheryl, as He sends you out today!

  28. You Southern California judges are kind of push overs. Every one knows that. haha! Thank you for encouraging me and God bless you and Honey Who!
    I gave Aub that hug . ..she liked it better than the noogies! 🙂

  29. Thank you and God bless you, poet friend and arrow!

  30. Thank you for being the beautiful arrow you are for Him! God bless you!

  31. Thank you , Ike, for your insight into His sovereignty! God bless and comfort you and yours with His love!

  32. Thank you for your special understanding , Melody. You are right, I was thinking about those children that aren’t honored as a blessing today. God bless you and those lives you touch with Him.

  33. Hallelujah! I love Streams in the Desert – it’s a powerful devotional.

  34. J of Jerusalem sent it to me , Cheryl! I am so thankful and loving it! 🙂

  35. The greatest of all earthly blessings is that of being a mother and I fail to understand why some mothers do not realise this. Surely, the abuse of a child is the worst blight on humanity.

    (The following verse says ‘happy is the man who has his quiver full of them’. A quiver full is five, so Myles says he is a happy man)

  36. I thought of you, Mentor Angela, and others who had suffered in their childhood under parents who failed to see the treasure you all are. Smiling at Myles being a happy man! Yay!
    God bless you and your arrows that He has blessed you with!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

