Pesach Preparations Over – The Day Is Here

JerAtNight1

Happy Resurrection Day!  🙂   And welcome to another look inside Israel and our sis in Jerusalem shares about her Passover this year.  Praying you are blessed by her letter and by your Lord!  Thank you for praying and reading. Now, here’s our sis . . .

Beloved sisters and brothers,
Blessings and loving greetings to you all as we all stand in the midst of a week that represents God’s great faithfulness. What a joy that we can step aside and worship The Lamb in so many forms, glorifying Him and remembering all that He has done, is doing and WILL do.  As is written in Psalm 126:3 “The Lord hath done great things for us, whereof we are glad” for sure!
I had fully intended to write yet one more ‘Pesach preparation’ letter (I did it in my head)…but I’m afraid that the ‘preparations’ gathered speed and took up ALL of the time and energy until the sun went down and the siren sounded throughout the city ushering in the feast of the Passover.  That ‘holy hush’ fell only briefly as soon the streets filled with people making their way to synagogue or to the house of another…and the festive joy in the streets was tangible as strangers greeted one another with big smiles ‘Ha’ag  sam’eh’ach’ (Joyful holiday). Our new neighbor’s children brought flowers to us which comforted us as our own children are not with us.
This year’s celebration was to be different for us and we discussed it excitedly on the way to the lovely home where we were being hosted.  It would actually be our FIRST time at a “Gentile Christian Seder” (as was written on the haggada…the little book of ‘liturgy’ that is used to guide the order of the evening.)  We were being hosted by dear friends who came as a tour group from Alaska and were staying at one of the local ‘Houses of Prayer’.  We were very excited to see our friends whom we had not seen in 19 years, since leaving Alaska.  When we made aliyah (immigrated to my ancestral home land of Israel) back in 1994, Israel was a very far away place to most of the Christians of our area, and except for a rare few, there was very little revelation, if any, concerning Israel’s place in God’s heart and God’s plan for the present and the future.  Indeed, the purpose of Israel, past and current, seemed a vague, at best, history lesson.  One dear elderly worker for The Lord approached me gently one day just before we left and said ‘Dear…don’t you realize that you are a Christian now and you are not a Jew anymore?’  I must admit, that took me aback as it revealed a foundational misunderstanding of ‘who’ the Jews are.  Yes, there is the Jewish religion…but not everyone born a Jew… born to the nation of the Jewish people, follows the religion.  Sadly, there are Jewish Buddhists, Hindus, secular, witches and even moslems …but they are all still considered Jewish.  A common question asked at the time was “WHY is it again that you are going to ‘Palestine’?  Are you going to be m….s? (a word describing people who ‘share’ that I can not put in a letter…a word that we don’t use here…nor by the way…is if found in scripture, believe it or not!  AND…Neither is ‘Palestine’ … except in the maps at the back of the Bible! J) At any rate…there were not as yet teachings in the Churches concerning the holidays.  At our home, we yearly had our own form of seder with our children in which we would read about 10 chapters in the book of Exodus as well as others concerning the fulfillment in Yeshua and ending with the ‘last Passover seder’ … the marriage supper of The Lamb.  Occasionally my mother couldn’t get matzo to us on time by mail and so we would use tortillas as our unleavened bread…asking for grace.  Aside from a couple of seders with my parents, that was our general ‘tradition’. It all changed when we made aliyah and neighbors and friends began to invite us to their seder.  Some were orthodox, some had ‘child friendly’ seders, some were believers …all were Jewish, but each one was different from the last.  Some lasted until midnight (I understand some go all night!!) and some were so full of singing laughing teenagers that our stomachs hurt when we got home from the laughter!  And that is right, because although the SUBJECT of the seder is The Lord and HIS great Faithfulness…the OBJECT is stated again and again in scripture: TO TEACH THE NEXT GENERATION WHOSE EYES HAVE NOT SEEN FOR THEMSELVES. 
My husband and I discussed all of this on the way to our friend’s.  What would a ‘gentile Christian seder’ be like?  (I know from my emails that a number of you are going to one, and others are hosting them…some very big!) Well… I can tell you right now, IT WAS A BLESSING!  It WAS learning.  It WAS a testimony to the faithfulness of God!  It WAS the gathering of a deeper understanding of The Blood applied to the doorposts as a type of our hearts… and we could only stand back in wonder when it was over, my husband and I: “Great things The Lord hath done for us, whereof we are glad.”  Here we were in Jerusalem, being hosted at a seder by old friends from Alaska…wow!
Ofcourse, ‘the last supper’ before the crucifixion, was a Passover seder, so we know that when Jesus, Yeshua, walked the earth, Jews were still fulfilling this commandment.  It has never stopped.  It has continued through out the centuries, through out the persecutions and dispersions, through out the wanderings and the return.  In concentration camps it continued to the best of their abilities.  It remains a testimony to God’s faithfulness…and I can only wonder!
I have a dilemma. The longer that I am here…the more that I see and experience and begin to understand…the more difficult it becomes to write about and explain.  It seems to me that the less I knew…well…it was just less complicated and simple to talk to you about.  Now…having ‘dug down’ layer past layer past layer…the intricacies of the work of His Hands and Heart defy description!  Thank you for the grace to be blessed by my inadequate offerings. 
So today we awoke – tired – to a hot spring day, beautiful and quiet.  No one works on this day as it is a ‘high holyday’.  The house is so clean (the kitchen anyway!) that I just want to stare at it and not use it…and…OFCOURSE I spilled the juice (yes, fresh squeezed orange juice!) spilled all over the table and floor first thing this morning.  DAVKA! (remember?  That word means ‘Murphy’s law’, or ‘wouldn’t you know it!’) But I didn’t get upset … His Presence was still too close.  We ate our matzo (which we will have for 8 days) and went out for a walk in the country.  It was there that we were reminded of the ominous realities of the day in which we live as we ran into some locusts.  Yes, it was a very small swarm, but if they have made it this far north, it is NOT good.  They are laying their eggs in the ground right now…not good at all!  The south of the country is experiencing huge swarms. Not good at all.  We also understood from the news that the Syrian rebels have taken over the area north of our Golan border.  This is also sobering news as they are making a great deal of noise in Arabic about how Assad has been so bad by “not liberating the Golan from the Zionist regime”.  We had 2 cross border fire incidents this past week.  The US pressure following the Obama visit upon our government to ‘make painful concessions’ also became ominously evident this week as we ‘eased the Gaza blockade’, released money to the Palestinian Authority and ‘apologized’ to Turkey for the death of those on their ship who were trying to breach our naval blockade on Gaza.  Lord knows what else is coming. 
BUT GOD…WHO IS FAITHFUL, AND WHO HAS BEEN FAITHFUL, WILL BE FAITHFUL TO GLORIFY HIS NAME!  You know, the longer I live here, the less I know about WHAT He is going to do (and I hear many who claim that they do know!) except for that one thing: HE WILL GLORIFY HIS NAME!  His purposes are about ours and His thoughts and ways are above ours, and to stand in the center of His will is the ONLY safe place!  I think of the Israelites standing between the sea and the Egyptian…how HOPELESS it looked; BUT GOD was planning to glorify His Name.  I also think of Miriam (Mary) and the other disciples at the foot of the cross…and at the tomb…thinking all was hopeless…BUT GOD had plans to glorify HIS Name!  The older I get, the more I simply want to draw near to Him and trust Him. 
Ok…my husband is ready to eat; more matzo! When we lived in California many years ago, we had to be creative with zucchini that was incredibly abundant…In Alaska it was salmon (I know…most of you can’t IMAGINE getting tired of salmon…but after 3 times a day, YES!  You CAN!)…and here we go to the matzo. WE WILL GIVE THANKS AND EAT WITH JOY!  I send much love, May His Presence rejoice your hearts and change you (and me) to the reflection of HIM! 
Lovingly, your sis here.
OOOOPPPSS….Personal p.s.: 
Our younger daughter and new husband apparently arrived at our older daughters’ family last night for 8 days of Pesach together.  I would appreciate prayer for them all. 
It has come to my attention lately a couple of you have sent us things and you did not receive a response from me.  IF THIS HAPPENS PLEASE CONTACT ME!  With VERY rare unavoidable exceptions I ALWAYS respond as I am SO THANKFUL for anyone who thinks of us.  I am seeing that neither snail mail nor email is always getting through – especially from here to you. 
And finally:  I know that it is annoying, but I still need to ask you to PLEASE make sure to keep MY NAME or the names of any member of my family off of email completely.  That means even in your address book (as it shows up on your email).  (Just list me as ‘friend’ or whatever you would like)  This is because my emails are very explicit and could jeopardize us.  Thank you!!!   
ani b’derek
Published in: on March 31, 2013 at 7:42 am  Comments (28)  
Tags: , , , ,

28 Comments

  1. Dearest sister in in the Lord… I sat down to a quiet house on Resurrection Morning to read … Your up-dates are something I look so forward to… Oh how right you are, He will bring glory to His name. … We see so very little and know just in part … however, He has given us everything we need for life and godliness. You help so much in “adding to the knowledge” … your letters give such marvelous glimpses and insights into yet another part of HIM. I wish you a love filled Pesach and that you are able to speak of His ever lovingkindnes to those around you!!! Many blessings to you!

  2. what a wonderful post you have given me today. Have a wonderful Easter Debbie

  3. Thanks Debbie for sharing that.

  4. Thanks much, Dearest Bridging-Deb 🙂

    Happy Resurrection Day to you too!

    I love these posts! I always learn so much. 🙂

    As always, I will takeaway a bunch of new knowledge with me, but I will not soon forget this : “the intricacies of the work of His Hands and Heart defy description!” How great is our God!

    Prayer requests also noted. Will keep J and family in prayer.

    Blessings,
    ann

    P.S. Thanks for your faithful praers. I am done in 3 weeks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Hallelujah! Bless you Deb for faithfully posting your friend’s emails to us. They are such a blessing, helping us to feel closer to our Jewish brothers and sisters, who were and still remain, God’s chosen people. Let us never forget this, and always keep them lifted in prayer.

    Many blessings to you, my beloved friend,
    Cheryl

  6. Reblogged this on Burning Fire Shut Up In My Bones and commented:
    My beloved readers, please make time to read these weekly letters from our sister in Israel, which keep us informed on a personal level with the happenings in the very city that God commanded us to pray for. You will be blessed as you read, and the Lord will give you wisdom about what to pray for as well…

  7. What a beautiful response for J, Heidi! Thank you and God bless you! Sending you off to encourage her now!

  8. Thank you, dear Terry! God bless you with a wonderful Easter too! Ready to head to Jerusalem? Off your comment goes . . . 🙂

  9. You’re welcome, S. Keith ( do you just go by Keith? ). God bless you and yours today and always!

  10. 3 weeks!!!!! Oh my! Cheering you on for the final stretch, Ann! And sending your dear comment off to J in Jerusalem! God bless you and your Resurrection Day!

  11. Thank you for blessing me, so much, Cheryl! I am just so thankful that she writes and lets me share! Her letters always touched me so. God bless you and yours! Praying you are feeling better.

  12. Thank you for reblogging! You are a blessing!

  13. I give all glory to God, Sis Deb, because I am so much better, in so many ways. Thank you for your continued prayer support, because I truly needed it.

    Much love to you,
    Cheryl

  14. I am so glad I read this. I am praying.

    Love,
    Theresa

  15. Debbie, how very sweet that the neighbor’s children brought flowers for them. God is so good!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  16. Thank you wonderful woman of the Word! Love and prayers and God bless you!

  17. That was really sweet, Wendy! I love how God works! God bless you and yours . ..and the flowers you will have soon too!

  18. your sentient soul overwhelmed me!

  19. […] Inside Israel – Pesach Preparations Over – The Day Is Here […]

  20. So glad you were overwhelmed in a good way! God bless you, Debbie .. sending you off to Jerusalem!

  21. Thank you for reblogging Maria! God bless you and yours!

  22. as long as you’re there!

  23. I do actually. My first name is Stewart so I do all legal things as S. Keith Barnes, and so I titled my book that way as well. Blessings to you for your kind words and great posts and poems. I have had such little available time that I have missed reading so many of the posts I follow…be well Debbie!

  24. Thanks for letting me know! I understand about the time thing . .no worries!!! God bless you!

  25. Thank you Deb! I do so enjoy reading Sister J’s descriptions of life in Israel. I am focused on praying about the locust issue and of course the Syrian conflict!

  26. I’m glad these letters bless you too, Pastor J! Thank you for reading and praying . .sending you off to bless Sis J too! God bless you!

  27. I enjoy these so much. Thanks.

  28. You are welcome, Mr. Larry! Thank you for being here, even when unpacking and settling in! God bless you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

