Inside Israel – Passover Preparations / Part 3

JerAtNight1

Hi and thank you so much for stopping by for another look inside Israel.  Today our sis in Jerusalem continues to share about this special time, when people prepare their homes and their hearts. God bless you as you read and pray!  Now, here she is . ..

Shalom, dear body of Messiah.  May you be blessed and may HE be blessed and glorified!
It’s beginning to look A LOT like Pesach (Passover)!  As our stores suddenly become sparkling (well…almost) clean, we find that items that we forgot to get have already disappeared off of the shelves, ie; my husband’s breakfast cereal!  With nearly two weeks still left BEFORE Pesach, my poor husband (who usually goes through withdrawals during just the eight days of Pesach) will have to start early…or…discover a less popular cereal that is still on the shelf.  (as fewer and fewer shelves display foods that have leaven…or don’t have the ‘right’ rabbi’s stamp…when an item is ‘out’ it is not restocked.) 
Are there other signs?  Oh yes, many!  The strong but delightful aroma of fresh GARLIC hangs over the shuk and wafts through the air on the trains and buses.  The garlic harvest happens just before Pesach, and because of that many of us give gifts of the beautifully braided bulbs to hang in the kitchen allowing the recipient of such a gift to use a fresh bulb as they cook…whole barbequed and grilled bulbs of garlic are very popular here and garlic is used in many dishes.  Is that a reminder that our ancestors murmured in the desert because the missed the leeks and the garlic?  We have leeks and garlic in abundance here now…we simply needed patience.  Not just the garlic signals the season in the shuk, but the bright red, sweet and fragrant strawberries deck every fruit stand, the colors are dazzling – like a feast of wild flowers to the eyes – the deep greens, oranges, reds, purples, yellows, whites, of the fruits and vegetables so fresh and abundant – all very present and real evidence of God’s great faithfulness…the wonder of it! 
Other things pop up suddenly; ‘ahat pa’ami’ (literally ‘one use’) shops for a start.  These are shops full of every size and shape of disposable item …plates, baking pans, every kitchen item that you can imagine (almost) made in a disposable manner so that you can use it during this ‘inbetween’ stage when your regular dishes and pans are gone and your ‘kosher for Passover’ ones are not to be used yet.  And, yes, there are ‘ecologically friendly ones’ (although I don’t see how).  Plastics shops do a booming business as people replace everything from dish drains to garbage pails.  There is even a ‘sink insert’ the size of a kitchen sink that you can place in your sink with a drain hole in the center and … voila!  A kosher for Pesach sink is installed. 
“Where are you going for seder?” is the sentence I am now hearing through out the day.  It is such a blessing that people care for one another!  It is commanded that the seder be a big and full meal with your table full and ‘none of the  lamb remaining until morning’.  Although the lamb is now symbolic (yes, many do eat lamb, but it is awfully expensive as is most meat, so often fish and poultry sit on the table), it is considered sad indeed for ANYONE to be alone for this meal and great effort is made to make sure that everyone is cared for.  As you can imagine, it is a very costly meal to prepare, as often the table hosts between 10-100 people.  AND I NEGLECTED TO MENTION THE MATZO!  How could I have done that!  The war of the matzo sales has begun!  Who can lure you into their store with the promise of ‘the best price for matzo’ – this is now the battle!  Bitter roots are appearing to deck the seder plate, and there are gifts to buy as this is the time for giving of gifts…oh the ACTIVITY! 
I have had some wonderful opportunities to open discussions with women of late.  On Tuesday (when I began this letter) I had my regular blood test.  The technician who took my blood was a ‘dati’ (religious) woman and when I said that I was tired she said ‘Oh!  From all of the cleaning and preparations!’  This was a wonderful door.  ‘No, actually I have barely begun, but I find it not so hard to prepare for Pesach as I follow the scriptural command to simply have no leaven in my home.’ She smiled and told me that she has also remembered that this was the command.  ‘One year while I was scrubbing the floor on my knees’ I told her, ‘I felt as if God said to me ‘This is where I want you…on your knees letting me shine My light on leaven in your heart so that your heart can be clean of leaven!’  I told her how liberating that had been to me and she breathed in every word.  I am finding people so very receptive this year as I have shared this with a number of other women. It feels as if I am sowing living seed into prepared soil. 
But all is not ‘roses’ as we prepare together for the feast of remembrance.  We are experiencing our first ‘sha’arav’ (desert heat wave – hot winds blowing off the desert that literally suck the water out of you) of the year and this is early.  An international marathon scheduled to be held in Tel Aviv tomorrow has been cancelled by the health ministry as several years ago a runner died from dehydration during a sha’arav.  The locusts that came up from the Sudan, through Egypt continue to multiply and plague our south and threaten our crops inspite of heavy spraying and our still unsure government has been snagged again as they were to sign the coalition agreement tonight…it is again on ‘hold’.  My heart was deeply grieved to tears as our Prime Minister gave in to the very liberal, humanistic party demanding the education portfolio.  This party has the strong backing of the homosexuals.  Thus far our children have been spared these teachings that are rampant in western countries.  My heart was rent to wake up this morning to see that this ministry was now in their hands.  On top of these ominous events…American President Obama is scheduled to arrive on the 20th…this coming Tues., for a 3 day visit to Israel and the Palestinian Authority.  He will not address our Knesset (parliament or congress) but plans to address ‘the people’.  This is what he has done in places like Egypt before their turmoil…and we are wary.  VERY wary…
There is never a dull moment here.  ‘Boredom’ does not exist. 
So we prepare.  We prepare our homes and our hearts…our families.    
When I came to Him some 37+ years ago, He began to open to me (sovereignly as I read and prayed- not through any teaching) the beauty of all of His patterns and paths.  I saw in the holidays, not a ‘law’ and a ‘restraint’ or ‘religious form’, but a tangible and visible expression of His character and nature…a picture of Who He is…and a loving ‘command’ to ‘keep these ways’.  Somehow it did not occur to me that if HE said somewhere in His Word that something was an “abomination” to Him, that because of The Blood of Yeshua I was now suddenly ‘free’ to ‘enjoy’ it.  It didn’t make sense to me.  Why would I WANT to ‘enjoy’ what my Lord called an “abomination”?  Did His opinion of it suddenly change?  In the same vain, if He told us to ‘keep this remembrance’ of a miracle that He performed ‘forever’, why would I NOT want to keep it.  NO, I DON’T keep if for my salvation, or to fulfill the law…He IS the fulfillment of the law.  I keep it for LOVE’S sake…for the love of beauty of His plan and purpose…from a desire to learn to obey His voice…from a desire to love what He loves and to identify with His people who yet have blinders on their eyes.  Paul (Shaul) said  in1 Corin 9:20“ To the Jews I have become like a Jew in order to win Jews; to men under the Law as if I were under the Law–although I am not–in order to win those who are …” 
I will go to sleep now as tomorrow begins early.  On a personal note, I am so blessed that our younger daughter and her new husband will be traveling on very inexpensive tickets, from Minnesota to California on the 25th to be with her older sister and family for the 8 days of Pesach!  It brings us much joy to know that they have chosen to be together, even if we can not be with them.  How wonderful that He truly has all things set in His order for His purposes and His glory.  May we choose His ways.  May we walk together in peace, demonstrating who HE is to a lost and dying world.  May each of you be encouraged in Him, His Word and His Spirit.  May we love what He loves.  ALL glory to The Lamb that was slain and Whose precious Blood is on the doorposts of our hearts. 
Lovingly, your sis in Jerusalem
 
Published in: on March 24, 2013 at 8:33 am  Comments (25)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

25 Comments

  1. My heart so looks forward to reading these posts. Thank you for sharing. What a beautiful and lovely way God has provided to grab glimpses of His heart through these posts. I am grateful He allowed me to cross paths with you, Deb and with this lovely sister. Yes, may we be able to look at God’s heart through the lens of His Word and may we trust that the blood on the doorpost of our hearts is sufficient to save us. Much love and blessings to you.

  2. thank you so much for a wonderful post Debbie!!!!

  3. … Why would I WANT to ‘enjoy’ what my Lord called an “abomination”?…

    it’s interesting that gay groups state we should agree with their agenda for love’s sake, but no one mentions that “love does not rejoice in unrighteousness.” (1 Corinthians 13:6)

  4. Deb, this was so moving and insightful. I praise the Lord for the wonderful things He is doing in Jerusalem for His people, and I pray that their Pesach will be blessed. I pray for our beautiful sister who boldly shares the love of Christ with her Hebrew brothers and sisters, and I pray that the Lord opens the eyes of their hearts, so that they would find the fulfillment of their faith through Christ, their Messiah during this holy time. In Jesus’ name, amen.

  5. Reblogged this on Burning Fire Shut Up In My Bones and commented:
    Greetings everyone! I pray you will take the time to read this blog from our sister in Jerusalem, as she continues to share with us about Pesach. It is truly beautiful to read the words of this Messianic Jewish woman as she boldly shares the love of Christ.

  6. Thank you, sincerely, for sharing these lovely, love-filled letters! God bless you, and also our Sister in Jerusalem as she shares our Lord!

  7. Debbie, I really appreciate learning more about Israel. I giggled about “our ancestors murmured…missed…the garlic” We grow our own and love it!

    Blessings & prayers ~ Wendy

  8. sister ~ I took liberties to share with my sister at church~ you’re my teacher too~ God keep you blessing you in every way!

  9. Heidi, I am so touched that these letters mean so much to you, and I know that our sis in Jerusalem is too. Thank you for your tender heart, that cares about what God cares about. love and prayers for your day!

  10. Thank you so much for being here and encouraging us , Terry! God bless you muchly!

  11. Thank you, Mr. Larry, for reminding us of His word! God bless you as you fly off to Jerusalem!

  12. Thank you for your beautiful prayers, Cheryl! Love you and God bless you as I send you off to our sis!

  13. Thank you for reblogging! God bless you!

  14. Thank you for reading and praying and caring, Ali! God bless you as your comment is forwarded to our sis in Jerusalem, to bless her as well.

  15. I thought that was funny too! And you being a gardener, appreciated it all the more! Thank you and God bless you as you encourage this sis in Jerusalem!

  16. Debbie, I’m so so glad that these letters are blessing others, and so is our Sis in Jerusalem. Thank you and God bless you bunches. You are headed to Israel now . .buckle up! 🙂

  17. I’d go with you anywhere ! Seriously !

  18. I’m the one who is most blessed by these posts!

  19. I find these letters fascinating!

  20. I’m so glad! I just thought they were to good to keep to myself .. I had to share them. 🙂 Thank you and God bless you!

  21. […] Inside Israel – Passover Preparations / Part 3 […]

  22. Dear sister, yes, “May we choose His ways.”
    Shalom! Blessed Pesach!
    Maria

  23. Debbie, I linked to the three Passover posts in my post for this week.
    Love,
    Maria

  24. Thank you, Maria, for wanting to share these letters too! God bless you!

  25. Thank you for blessing our Sis in Jerusalem, Maria . .sending your comment to her now!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

