The Lying Way

“Remove from me the way of lying
and grant me Your law graciously.”Β  Psalm 119:29

A witness in court is asked, “Do you swear to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help you God?”

Lord, let me not lie to cover up my flaws, but stay vulnerable and transparent for You. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Separate

enjoyyourcooking.com

enjoyyourcooking.com

Remove from me
the way of lying

when I don’t realize
that I am

for You see deep
inside of me

and separate truth
from the sham.

44 Comments

  1. Hi,

    You never fail to hit some of my favorite scriptures. I love Psalm 119 and set out some years ago to memorize parts of it and plant the words deep into my heart. This verse in Daleth belongs to one of those sets of that I learned. Oh how these verses have helped me to guard my tongue and think before I speak. When I need them most, they come up within my soul and spirit and I hear them speaking softly to me, reminding me in the valley of my darkness; remove from me the way of lying and grant me your law graciously. I have chosen the way of truth, your judgements have I laid before me. I have stuck unto your testimonies, O LORD. Please put me not to shame. I will run the way of your commandments when you, LORD, shall enlarge my heart.

    Love you, Debbie and have a great Friday and a blessed weekend.

    Ciao,
    Patricia

  2. Hmmm–makes me wonder what prompted this. Folks often tell “white lies”, but it’s still deceit. God bless you with an Easy Friday–love, sis Caddo

  3. Very important prayer. I always say “Lord, take over my tongue”.. God bless you!

  4. Wow! I love this! Cuts right to the heart… Love the photo you choose to illustrate, too. Great reminder when I crack an egg of how He separates the truth from the sham. His love runs so deep He doesnt want to leave that sham in us! God bless you!!

  5. I really appreciate the acknowledgement that, at times, we can lie and not realize what we have done. This is true with many types of sin… because of the deceitfulness of the heart we cannot always recognize our failures in God’s sight. Lord bless you. Thanks Deb.

  6. Reblogged this on My Delight and My Counsellors.

  7. I always wonder how many times I sin without even realizing it……I liked your poem

  8. We live in a culture which thrives on lies and deceit and where celebrities are the models of such behavior. When a celebrity is caught in a lie, he usually is not sad he sinned, but rather that he was caught in his lie. He then has to posture himself on various TV shows and Oprah to show himself sorry for his behavior.

    I’m not a celebrity, but I do see myself doing the same thing. O Lord, help me to hate my lies because they hurt our relationship.

    Great as usual. You know a batch of brownies can undo a lot of problems in the world and don’t forget the cold milk.

  9. It’s so easy sometimes to exaggerate or to not tell “the whole truth”. This is a good prayer to remember.

  10. Thank you so much , Patricia, for your comments that bless and teach! πŸ™‚ Psalm 119 has so so much in it, I considered doing more than one devotion from it . .could spend a month or more in there! Love you and God bless you as you pray and keep His word in your heart!

  11. That is a good wonder, Sis Caddo, as to why David prayed that, wrote that! It made me think about how it is a defensive kind of move, to not always tell everyone the truth. I’m sure as King, he faced alot of these kinds of situations! Love you and am thinking of you! God bless you with a fabulous Friday!!!

  12. I really liked your prayer, Emerald! Going to pray that too .. and for Him to take over my mind, where those lies can start. God bless you .. have a good weekend!

  13. I’m thinking it’s something only He can do too, Ali! A part of that transformation process that He specializes in. πŸ™‚ God bless you!

  14. Thank you, Pastor Rob, for that confirmation that we can lie and sin without always knowing it. I wondered about my wording of that. πŸ™‚ God bless you as you bring us lessons on Wisdom from the Proverbs!

  15. Thanks so much and God bless you heaps!

  16. I’ve struggled with adding flowery details and have come to be chastised by the Holy Spirit for choosing Satan’s tactful ways in giving us half truths, half of light, half of purity. I’ve been deeply repentful over this overlooked flaw by too many of us. I realized I was acting like a pharisee! Thank you for your candidness and helping to overcome thru Christ ~ Bless you dear sister ~ Debbie

  17. I am trusting that He will show us, Terry, as we go along with Him. God bless you and keep you today!

  18. thanks Debbie

  19. That is what I think about Mr. Larry, . . .how my words and actions affect my relationship with Him. Praying that same prayer with you, to hate my lies! Thank you and God bless you as you keep your relationship with Him most important thing.
    p.s. brownies , eh? I love brownies. Now I can indulge knowing it’s all good, solving problems as I scarf. πŸ™‚

  20. I think we don’t always do it intentionally .. .like you say, it’s easy to just exaggerate or leave some things out. Thank you for your sweet wisdom and kindness, Daisy! God bless you!

  21. Oh Debbie .. another beautiful comment from you and your beautiful heart. Thank you for sharing like you do .. the ‘half truths, half of light , half of purity’ .. .that really struck me too and I know that He is going to help us with this. God bless you and hug you for me today!

  22. I too have struggled to weed out half-truths or the full meal deal, when under pressure to look good rather than BE good. Lord, have mercy! I never realized as deeply before how crucial the Truth is – the definition of insanity is a disconnect to reality, so I guess to the extent that we swallow lies, we are insane… My journey is bringing me from living in layers of denial, to discovering and uncovering what was lurking beneath, to embracing the Truth as freedom!

  23. That is it exactly, Melody! Thank you! It’s that pressure to look good, rather than be good . .even looking bad .. as we share what He wants us to. I’ve even asked God before if I always have to look so bad. haha! God bless you as you encourage us to embrace the freedom of the truth!

  24. Debbie, this is a thought provoker! It makes me wonder what denials are yet to be uncovered in my own heart and mind. He is faithful – may we be hearers… and doers.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  25. I love the prayer to be hearers and doers, dear Wendy! I need to know .. want to know. God bless you and yours as spring begins!

  26. Amen, Deb – this was beautiful – and the picture of the yolk being separated from the white is a beautiful illustration of God separating the truth from the sham. Hallelujah!

    Love you,
    Cheryl

  27. As Jesus said to the woman at the well in Samaria..”God is spirit..and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth” (John 4:23). God is looking for that kind of worshiper. If we can be honest before God…..even with all our moods..sins..failures..pain..and questioning…..we will find grace to meet all our needs.

  28. Debbie, I needed your words today. It’s so easy to lie, it comes so naturally. I know the Lord detests it, so this prayer is a good good prayer. Perhaps thinking before I speak – and praying – could prevent some of this. Wonderful post!

  29. Separating real from sham…delicate surgery. Hurts.

  30. God has a most excellent way to do this! Thank you , dear Cheryl and God bless you and your health!

  31. Amen, Ike .. so well said. Praying to be honest before Him, always, with it all! God bless you and thank you for being here!

  32. Maria, thank you for understanding the way you do! God bless you as you pray, speak and write!

  33. God bless you too, dear Debbie! Let’s continue along the narrow way!

  34. Yes, I know it can hurt, Brook. I am trusting His most delicate hand for us both. God bless you and hold you close.

  35. Great post Debbie! We often think of lying in a black and white way – white lies, etc. But when we look at the underlying motives of our heart, there is often deception and impurity. Thanks for reminding me that God knows my heart, and he can help me uncover the lies I’m not even aware of committing. May we seek truth, authenticity and vulnerability always πŸ™‚

  36. Thank you, dear Ali, for understanding what I might not have expressed so well! πŸ™‚ I thought if David needed to pray it, I most likely did too. So thankful for His grace and Holy Spirit, to lead us along in the truth. God bless you and yours today!! You are a bright spot in our lives!

  37. I pray for that too! It’s easy to speak nonsense, but hard to speak truth at all times. Great post, Deb!
    God Bless you — hope you’re well?

  38. So good to see you, Lady Dei .. I’d been thinking about you! God bless you and your precious ones! And thank you for asking about us! Aub’s had seizures each week this month, but is pulling out of them well and God is covering her and keeping her from injury each time! Yay Jesus!

  39. As always you are right on target – the lies we don’t even realize we are living and telling. Lord, give us true lips and clean hands.

  40. Steve had one too! Thank you for your thoughts and prayers. Hopefully, I’ll be back into the swing of things soon! Just wanted to stop by and say hello. I was thinking about you too!
    God Bless you!

  41. I’m praying for Steve with you, dear Dei.

  42. Thanks Mr. Ben, for the prayer to help us with lies that we don’t see or understand yet. I know He will help us as we desire to be pure and purely His. God bless you muchly!

  43. This verse came to my mind as I read this post:

    “7 Ye hypocrites, well did Esaias prophesy of you, saying,

    8 This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.” Matthew 15:7-8

    Our hearts wander away, and we forget what is true (blindness comes upon us), but we continue to share whatever is on our minds which isn’t true. That is the result of a heart that has wandered far.

    Yet we are still in His hand…always within his reach, and he faithfully stops our mouths, draws us back, restores our sight, puts a new song in our mouth…a song of truth and praise! πŸ™‚

    Love,
    Theresa

  44. Wonderful woman of the Word, thank you for bringing this verse here . . .for showing us that it’s our hearts that wander far. Wow ..such a great insight for me!!! Love you and God bless you as you comfort us with the reminder that we are still in His hand and ready reach!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

