Inclined

“I love the Lord because He has heard
My voice and my supplications.
Because He has inclined His ear to me,
Therefore I will call upon Him as long as I live.”   Psalm 116:1-2

We cherish people who not only hear our words, but hear the heart behind the words.

Thank You,  Lord, for the healing that comes just from You being close enough to hear me.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Leaning Near

theurbanoutreach.org

theurbanoutreach.org

Oh how beautiful
are His ears

which listen
patiently

to my voice
and my prayers

leaning ever near
to me.

45 Comments

  1. Hi,
    Beautiful. My favorite verses of scripture when in distress come from Psalm 18 and I say When I am in distress I call upon you LORD for you are worthy to be praised. So, shall I be saved from all of my enemies. In fact Psalm 18 is rooted within my heart. For me it is one of the most beautiful passages of scripture in the Bible.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  2. It is such a picturesque metaphor ! I absolutely love this dear friend! A psalm I would read hourly when my sisters became so ill, then hospitalization and, dying several times. How grateful I am that the psamists understood the seasons of life. Debbie do you have a Kindle or do you prefer a book? I can no longer turn the page in a book so,, I’ve had to buy many Kindle books or have a caregiver turn the page. I have a book I’d love to give you.
    Lovingly
    Deb

  3. There are a lot of people who say words. Lots of words. Words that make no sense. Words that are just words. Hearing those who have a message for us is key. Hearing their heart is even better. Well said Deb.

  4. I love picturing the Lord as He leans forward to listen to me, His little girl, as I whisper into His ear… I have little grandchildren who like to whisper secrets to me, and bless their hearts, I have never been good at hearing whispers, because their breath tickles my ears and makes me giggle, plus, the speak so softly, that even I, the one they want to hear their secrets, cannot hear. Isn’t it wonderful to picture a loving God, who surely loves us even more than I love my grandchildren, leaning forward and smiling as my breath tickles His ear, and knowing that He hears every single word and treasures them?

    Thank you for your “simple poem” and for the image that is in my mind now, of a listening God.

    Love you,
    Cheryl

  5. An absolutely WONDERFUL God is ours! With ears that never go deaf and a heart with an endless fountain of love for His own. 😀

    Hallelujah! 🙂

  6. The Lord hearing, and answering, our prayers is one of the greatest unappreciated blessings that exist. Thnk you for reminding us of this great blessing!

  7. Reblogged this on My Delight and My Counsellors.

  8. “This is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, we know that He HEARS us and that we have the petition that we desired of Him.” I John Thanks for this reminder Deb!

  9. Nothing like the promises of God, He’s always there to listen to us no matter how late no matter how big or small His ears are close to hear us.

  10. “…Leaning Near…”

    President Abraham Lincoln sat in many important meetings during the Civil War, but often, his two young sons burst into the meetings to ask questions or just to be with their dad. He never once scolded them and always took time to listen to them.

    I imagine God to be like this, always ready to drop everything and lean near, listening to us, His beloved children.

    Great poem.

    So, no mustard for Aub on noogies anymore, okay? Ranch dressing will be an acceptable alternative, with maybe a few anchovies to spice it up a bit.

  11. Wow, that God would actually listen to our prayers! — “words too wonderful for me to understand!”

  12. Yep, that’s somethin’ to be glad and grateful about. God bless you, Sweet Sis. love, Caddo

  13. “He inclined His ear to me.” Hearing brings healing. God bless you Debbie.

  14. God knows “us” intimately. He knows every tiny detail detail of our lives. We should never be afraid to go to Him and tell Him everything.

    Song 4:6…”Until the day break…and the shadows flee away…I will get me to the mountain of Myrr…and to the hill of frankincence”. This is the place where we need to go for the solution to our problems. “The mountain of Myrrh” is symbolic of the cross of Christ…because myrrh speaks of His death. That is where “we” will find comfort and salvation and help and hope. We got ourselves a God!

  15. beautiful poem Debbie ..love the pic too!

  16. Debbie, I love how you reminded us that He can, “hear the heart behind the words.”

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  17. What an adorable picture! I love the idea of being heard – so many of us do so many unusual things to get heard…..

  18. I love your prayer from Psalm 18, Patricia! Thank you so much for sharing it here, and blessing us! God bless you and the work of your hands!

  19. Hearing hearts is better . ..I like that , Pastor Bill! Praying to hear that way more and more. Thank you and God bless you!

  20. I love the image that you gave us, dear Cheryl .. of little ones leaning in to whisper to Him! Thank you and God bless you as you whisper to Him today!

  21. Praising Him with you tonight, beautiful one! God bless you as He listens and loves you always!

  22. Thank you for showing us what a blessing this truly is! God bless you, Pastor Rob!

  23. Thank you so much for all the reblogs .. God bless you too!

  24. Thank you, Pastor J, for bringing the John verse here and adding on! 🙂 Yay! God bless you as He listens to your heart today!

  25. We love our always near God .. .God bless you, dear Desiray.

  26. Thank you for sharing about Abraham Lincoln and his sons, Mr. Larry. It’s beautiful when we see God through the actions of earthly fathers. God bless you as He leans near to you today!
    p.s. Aub is making faces about the anchovies . . . 🙂

  27. I just know He loves hearing your voice, Daisy! 🙂 God bless you and yours!

  28. So glad and grateful for you, Sweet Sis Caddorino, and all the prayers you offer up for us all. You keep Him leaning near. Praying now for you, this time, trusting He is listening and will move on your behalf. Love you and God bless you always!

  29. Praying for healing in the hearing tonight, dear Brook. God bless you as He never lets you go.

  30. I loved your comment, Ike .. so much! Thank you and God bless you as you go to Him now!

  31. 🙂 Thank you, dear flora, and God bless you as He listens to you now! Glad you liked that picture!

  32. He has special ears for us! 🙂 Thank you and God bless you dear Wendy, as He cares so so much for you!

  33. I like that thought line, Melody! 🙂 Thank you for showing us that with God, it is easy to be heard.! God bless you!

  34. What a heart tugging comment . . .ear leaning comment, sweet Deb. I am so so glad that He is with you, near, listening and inclining. I am really humbled that you would want to give me a book. I will email you, okay? I don’t have a Kindle right now. . .
    love and prayers and God bless you!

  35. Debbie those few words reveal your heart for a close walk with the Lord.
    He hears our prayers and He hears our hearts and He responds.
    What an incredibly amazing God!

  36. He is so faithful and I am so so grateful! Thank you, Mentor Angela, and God bless you as He hears you tonight!

  37. Awesome poem of truth. You couldn’t have found a better image to portray the essence within.
    Bless You
    paul

  38. You’ve taught me about the intimacy of prayer – thank you! I forget so many things. This is a true reminder, Debbie!

  39. Thank you and God bless you, Paul, as you continue to pray and experience Him leaning close to you!

  40. I forget so many things too, Maria. So thankful He is faithful to remind us! God bless you as you pray today!

  41. Debbie, God bless you as you pray, too! Inclining your ear to listen is a love-ly thing….

  42. He leans. I am so thankful. Thank you for this beautiful poem.

    Love,
    Theresa

  43. Love you, Theresa , and have been thinking of you! I wanted to link to the post you did about inclining, but I have lost my linking skills. So, if you want to leave where that post is at here, I’d love it!! God bless you and yours, as He leans to hear you today!

  44. Thank you so much for taking the time to do this! You are a blessing .. a beautiful one!


Comments are closed.

MISPLACED PEACES

POETRY ~ In and Outside the Box

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

