Famine Breaker

“Moreover He called for a famine in
the land,
He destroyed all His provision of bread.
He sent a man before them –
Joseph – who
was sold as a slave.”  Psalm 105:16-17

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son . . .

Lord, thank You for coming for us, for suffering the cross, in order to end our personal famines.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Sent Be(for)e Us

en.wikipedia.org

en.wikipedia.org

I have sent
a Man before you

My Holy Son
by humble birth

to put an end
to your famine

to be the Bread
of the whole earth.

32 Comments

  1. Oh Sis, I really like this one a LOT! Yes, our Holy Provision of Bread to end our personal famines–wow, good work!! God bless you as you head into the new week, Holy Spirit-powered–much love, sis Caddo Delight (novel-ing)

  2. “I am the bread of life” is more than a saying by Jesus. It is truth. it is as you have stated here: our survival meal.

  3. What a blessing to stop and think about all that the Lord has done for us by coming to the earth and dying for us so that we might have the bread of life. Thanks Deb.

  4. Reblogged this on My Delight and My Counsellors.

  5. Wow – I just wrote on my gardening blog more about the little bird busy seeking crumbs when when the feeder was above him and all he had to do was look up. I am thinking now that I should have used this passage for those thoughts. Funny we were thinking about the same topic today… I’m so glad that I know the Bread of Life!

  6. Wow I love how you correlate the poem to the passage (for) us! Thank you sooo much for feeding me again 🙂

  7. I love the story of Joseph so often we forget to see the blessing of him being sold into slavery. He was able to provide for his family and they was reunited together. It reminds me what God said, what the enemy meant for evil God will make for your good. Glory to GOD

  8. love that the Word points to Christ … no matter where we read 🙂 Thanks for the reminder, friend 🙂

  9. “…Moreover He called for a famine in
    the land…”

    Who caused the famine in the land? God did.

    Today, leaders who suggest God causes famines or floods or hurricanes are vilified by the media and other lightweights. Yet, most of us had no problem with this “controversial” scripture.

    As Graham Cooke wrote: “God allowed in His wisdom something to happen which He could have prevented by His power.”

    And Deb elegantly wrote in her poem the reason why God did it:

    “…to put an end
    to your famine

    to be the Bread
    of the whole earth.”

    Super poem today. Take your boots off and relax.

  10. What A powerful testimony Deb!

  11. I really liked the title and this: “Be(for)e”. It reminds me that the Lord always act first and on behalf of His children. And all He does is sufficient!

    Thank you so much for this beautiful poem. Say a prayer for me. I have midterm tomorrow in “World Civ II.” and I am behind in that class. I should have studied over the weekend, but the house was such a mess. I am just not juggling well.

    Love,
    Theresa

  12. I just want to say again how thankful I am for your blog. The Lord has been using it like manna ever since I started school in 2011.

    Love you, and may the Lord richly bless you.

    Theresa

  13. Love you, Sis Caddo, and how He is feeding you each day . .enough to cover novel-ing too! God bless you abundantly!

  14. Thank you for showing us that Jesus being the bread of life is a fact of life, Pastor Bill! God bless you as you count on Him today!

  15. God bless you, Pastor Rob, as you think of Him and help us to too!

  16. Thank you very much and God bless you!

  17. I’m so glad too, Wendy, that we don’t have to search for crumbs under the table. And I loved how you connected it to your post about the little bird! Wow! God bless you as you feast with Him today!

  18. Oh our Rae of Sonshine! I love seeing you pop in!!! You are His sweet spoon, always hungry for more of Him and always ready to make sure others are fed too! Love you and God bless you and hug you for me!

  19. Glory to God indeed, dear Desiray! God bless you as you serve Him and others today!

  20. So glad that I didn’t seem too off, connecting it to Jesus, Heidi! Thank you and God bless you lots and lots!

  21. Thank you, Mr. Larry, for helping with the first part of this scripture . .the controversial part! 🙂 You’re good at that! God bless you as you help us know Him more.
    p.s. It’s suppose to snow . .I better keep those boots handy!

  22. Thank you and God bless you , Deborah!

  23. Praying for you, wonderful woman of the word, and asking Him to cover you during this exam with wisdom and knowledge and understanding. May He order your days and your times and give you peace.
    Sweet Theresa, our friend from Jerusalem, whose letters I share on Sunday, wrote to tell me that without me knowing, she was blessed even more by that title Sent Be(for)e Us. She said the the letters Be in Hebrew mean “in Me”. I just thought you might like to ponder on that too! 🙂
    Love you and God bless you! So thankful for you!

  24. Your beautiful thankful heart and comment were like manna for me today. Thank you for encouraging me, helping me to keep doing this. Love you lots!

  25. “an end to (personal) famine…always need the hope:)*Thank you* Debbie!

  26. Debbie…you are so insightful and creative…”Be(for)e Us.

    Also, just wondering if you have a favorite kind of bread…warm bread (with butter) being such a comforting food.

  27. Yes, we do need the always hope of Jesus! God bless you bunches, dear Brook! Thank you for being here and blessing me!

  28. You know, I like bread . .but it’s not something that I crave or have to have. So, no real favorite! 🙂 How about you?

  29. “in Me”…does that mean “in Christ”? Please share more about that when you have time. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  30. That is what I was taking it as, Theresa! She didn’t explain much, was at work. Sorry .. .not to helpful here!

  31. Hallelujah!

  32. 😀 Echoing that hallelujah! God bless you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

