Old Age and the Ageless One

“They shall still bear fruit in old age;
They shall be fresh and flourishing,
To declare that the LORD is upright;
He is my rock, and there is no
unrighteousness in Him.”   Psalms 92:14-15

Jesus is our fountain of youth.

Lord, we thank You for never considering us to be too old for You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Flourishing

edudemic.com

edudemic.com

We see the signs
of aging

we hear the words
“too old”

but  Holy Spirit
doesn’t retire

once He’s taken
a hold.

29 Comments

  1. Oh YES, BINGO, AMEN!! This is perfect, Sis Deb! Joseph Prince preaches this all the time–that we’re being renewed, rather than “falling apart” as we age. My spirit feels like it’s “youthening” everyday!! God bless you on Worshipful Wednesday–praying the Holy Spirit powers you through your activities! love, sis Caddo Delight

  2. Amen – I agree with our youthening sis! Good word Deb. thanks for reminding us that the Holy Spirit does not retire. I often say regarding the really young who give themselves to God that they don’t get a Holy Sprit Jr. So why do we think and those who have more years end up with a decrepit Holy Spirit!
    Thank you, youngster!
    Bro Ben

  3. As I continue to grow older (everyday), I am continually greatly He still allows me to serve HIm. There are so many people who feel that after about the age of 50 or so we are too old to contribute to society.
    So thankful the Lord thinks otherwise! In some ways, wisdom, experience etc) as a Christian grows older they actually become of greater use for Him.

    Two people that come to mind immediately are Charles Stanley (In Touch Ministries) and Angela (cloudwatcher)… just two of many that are personal blessings to me. What a gracious God we serve.

    Lord bless you Deb. Thanks for the great reminder.

  4. this was beautiful

  5. Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.1 Timothy 4:12

  6. Love it Deb – Jesus our fountain of youth! Ben said what I was going to – couldn’t agree more that the Holy Spirit doesn’t retire, and there isn’t a junior version :). There are so many ‘aged’ in our Church family who inspire me as they continue to flourish and be fruitful into their 80’s! May you flourish in His presence this week xx

  7. Indeed, ’tis true, thanks – Mosk

  8. I can see and hear you getting younger in Him, Sis Caddo. Delight! Love you and God bless you as you worship Him!

  9. You made me smile, Mr. Ben! I remember the day a real youngster called me ma’am, for the first time. I must’ve been in my 30’s. haha! It hurt some. God bless you with super Holy Spirit power!

  10. I agree, Pastor Rob . .. those more experienced Christians bless me so much. And I can see where each year added to me helps me grow in maturity and grace. God bless you as you continue on in Jesus!

  11. Thank you and God bless you, Terry!

  12. Oh perfect, dear Desiray! Thank you and God bless you all your days!

  13. Thank you for your prayers and input, dear Aimee! 🙂 The older people get, the more and more sure of Him they are. It’s a beautiful thing! 🙂 Love you and God bless you as you stay forever young in Him!

  14. Thank you, dear poet friend and God bless you as you stay Holy Spirit young!

  15. Debbie, I’m so glad that He continues the work in us regardless of our age… This poem is a fun read aloud! 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  16. to this day when people call me Mr Nelson, i look over my shoulder for my dad.

  17. Oh me too, Wendy! I’m on the long term plan .. a slow learner! But, He doesn’t give up on me! God bless you and yours, young and old!

  18. “…but Holy Spirit
    doesn’t retire…”

    I’m jumping up and down here and saying, “Amen.” God bless you today.

  19. Look at you! Jumping up and down and not even breaking a sweat! 🙂 Thank you and God bless you and yours, eternally!

  20. Are you saying age doesn’t matter? Thank you!

    I certainly see the signs of aging . . .
    . . . but my amazing God has it all worked out. He took me out of one ministry and placed me in another more suited to my circumstances.

    Since nothing I do depends on me, but ALL depends on Him, age doesn’t really come into it, does it? If He calls me to do something, He gives me the strength and ability, regardless of my age.

    My 96 year old uncle-in-law died this week and he was still preaching the Gospel to anyone and everyone at every opportunity right up to the end . . . or I should say the beginning, where there is no more need for preaching the Gospel.

    We are saved to serve.
    We are saved to carry on the work of Christ on earth and it will last as long as we are here.

    What a tremendous privilege!

  21. I have an opposite situation where a very dear old relative who didn’t have a relationship still doesn’t. It has taught me the value of teaching our children.

  22. Debbie….”fruit in old age” So timely and timeless. *Thank you!*

  23. You are such an inspiration and blessing to us, mentor Angela! God bless you as you keep serving and loving Him . ..you just can’t help yourself .. you gotta! 🙂
    Love and prayers to you and the family at your uncle’s death from this life here .. but the beginning of all eternity with Jesus.

  24. Tammy, I have some dear ones like that too. So thankful for you and how you teach your boys. The story of your son playing his violin on Valentine’s Day at the nursing home was so touching!

  25. It comforts me, Brook, to know we get as long as we’re here, to do what He helps us do. God bless you and yours!

  26. I love this poem and post. I am so glad that the Holy Spirit doesn’t retire or take leave of absences.

    Love,
    Theresa

  27. Me too, Theresa . .we’d be in trouble. 🙂 love you and praying that all is well! God bless you and yours bunches!

  28. So much truth here . . . in fact as I get older the Holy Spirit makes me bolder! God’s wonderful blessings to you!

  29. I’ve noticed that too, Deborah! 🙂 God bless you, dear one, as you go in Holy Spirit strength!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

