Inside Israel – 8th Day of Chanuka

JerAtNight1

Hi and welcome to a look inside Israel today. I didn’t receive a letter from our Sis in Jerusalem this week, but had an older one that hadn’t been shared yet, from back in December.  Thank you and God bless you for reading and praying. Now, here she is . . .

“The entrance of Your Words gives light; It gives understanding to the simple.”  Psalm 119:130
We have just lit the final candles on our Chanukiah…all eight lights are gleaming, lighting up the room so brightly.  It is beautiful and peaceful and ushers in the final day of Chanuka. We went to a wonderful Chanuka shabat meal last night at my pastor’s home with most of our congregation and we sang about The Light of The world.  When we came home we heard about the tragic shooting in Connecticut USA where so many little ones were killed.  How distinct Light is from darkness, and how grievously evident its fruits!
I want to share with you that I got to share about HIM and His Light and peace this Chanuka, and I would like to tell you a bit about the young woman with whom I shared, hoping that you will pray for her.  Her name is Molly and she is a new secretary who works along side of me several days a week.  When I met her it was a little bit of a shock.  She is big and tough looking, (not what you generally expect a dr. secretary to look like) and in her early twenties. She was a police woman and I found out that she is now studying criminology.  Wow!  That is quite a subject.  As I thought about it, I wondered what it is like to stare at criminal minds and study them.  I spend my life studying the mind of Yeshua… staring at Him, knowing that as I fix my eyes on Him I am changed more and more into His likeness.  I remember having a good friend in California years ago who was a police man.  He had told us that he and his wife went on required ‘psychiatric retreats’ periodically through his work to ‘debrief’ them.  He said that after awhile you see so much evil that it affects you and you must be brought back into balance and reminded that all people are not like that.  I found myself thinking quite a bit about Molly’s line of study, so I brought it up again several days later.  ‘Molly, I was thinking about your studies in criminology and thought how you must have to guard your heart as you study.’ (The word that I used was not ‘heart’ but ‘nefesh’… a Hebrew word that is more like a combination of your heart, soul and spirit) She was interested; ‘Well, I know and I try to.  I actually study it because most criminals are depressed and I have been very depressed and there is much depression in my family.  As a matter of fact, we have learned that depression is a severe problem in Israel.’  This had really opened a door!  ‘I have noticed that Jewish depression seems to be an ancient problem’ I said. I wondered if this would lead to speaking about how turning from God to sin and darkness brings such depression.  I told her that I get up every morning at 4:30 to ‘Study God’…to read His Word and to stare at Him.  She was interested and it opened a door.  ‘My father died very suddenly 5 months ago and I could not get out of bed I was so sad.  I quit my job and would have killed myself but I couldn’t do that to my family.  I am the oldest of 4 sisters and our father had a heart attack and went into a deep coma.  For one week we all sat by his bed and our Mother cried.  It was awful.  We were so sad.  I prayed and said ‘God…if you are real…please either heal my father or take him home but don’t let him live this way.  Then, right away, he died.’  Suddenly I knew with a deep ‘knowing’ that I had to tell her about The Lord.  Thankfully, the office was miraculously quiet. ‘Molly…I want to tell you something about myself that I don’t usually share here at work.  I am a messianic Jew.’ She said ‘What is that?’ I was hoping that she would know.  ‘I believe that Yeshua is our Messiah.’ I said. ‘Oh! yeshu!’ This is a bad word for HIS Holy Name.  ‘No.’ I said…’His Name is YESHUA.’ Thankfully she did not seem shocked or upset. She asked ‘Are you still Jewish then or are you now a Christian (Notzrei) and not Jewish?’ I told her that I am still Jewish and am a disciple of Yeshua.  All of my parents and Grandparents all the way back were Jewish and so I a, as well…but I follow Yeshua.’ I began to share my full testimony with her…including how I was hospitalized having been (among other things) suicidally depressed and how He came to me Face to face when I had never heard about Him and how He changed my life and flooded me with joy and peace.  She looked at me deeply.  ‘The way you believe in Yeshua is how I believe in God.’ She said.  ‘When my father died and I prayed, when God answered my prayer, He did that to me.  I suddenly was flooded with peace that I knew was Him.’
At this point the office suddenly got busy again, effectively ending our conversation, but – again – I was flooded with peace and His Light seemed to fill the room.  Later that day Molly said to me ‘I am so happy to be working with you.  I have never been this happy to work with anyone.’  I do not know how this will continue, but I pray for her salvation.  Although my words were awkward, His ways are perfect and I know that His Word will accomplish what it is sent to do.  Should The Lord press Molly into your heart, please lift her in prayer, that she would be set free to turn her studies to The One Who is Light?
Having much to share and knowing that you are all so busy during this season of LIGHT, I pray for each of you to be blessed by His Presence. How precious is His Light in this darkening world.  May His priorities be yours daily.  I miss you.  Lovingly, your sis
 
21 Comments

  1. thinking of you

  2. Reblogged this on A Christian imagination and commented:
    This is one of the most significant and loving and Jesus-filled posts I’ve read.

  3. “And they overcame him [Satan] because of the blood of the Lamb and because of the word of their testimony…”

    Because the Word never returns void, I believe that once you speak your testimony to an unbeliever it keeps chipping away at the hardness on their hearts. Afterwards, I pray that others will come along and water the Word until the revelation of Jesus blooms in their hearts.

    Great post today.

  4. Molly is soon to be a Christian by His grace. She’s in my prayers. Thanks Debbie for sharing. I’ll reblog.

  5. Reblogged this on Emerald's Notebook and commented:
    We should lift a word of prayer everyday for Molly. This is a stage we all get to in Christianity. Do take the time to read. God bless you!

  6. What a very lovely and honourable testimony…simple faith … and the mighty working of God… I am not surpised ever at how mightily He works… it is His heart to save … blessings dear sister in Israel and to you Deb too. It gives me great joy to hear this story. I will never tire to hear of how the Lord works in each of our lives!

  7. God bless you, Betty, and yours! Thinking and praying for you too!

  8. Thank you, Maria, for your special heart for Jesus. Sending your comment off to Jerusalem .. God bless you!

  9. Thank you for sharing that encouragement, Mr. Larry, that we may all continue to share our testimonies and let Him work in it. God bless you bunches . . .and off you go to Jerusalem too!

  10. Thank you for your prayers and faith, Emerald! He shines in you! God bless you and sending your comment on to our Jerusalem Sis!

  11. Thank you for reblogging and praying! God bless you muchly!

  12. Thank you for posting this, and for letting her know. A blessing all around!

  13. Faith filled fisher lady . ..I love to hear how He works too. And I love testimonies!! Thank you for being touched by this sister in Israel’s letters too, and what she shares. God bless you and yours . ..and the special ministry He has given you, of sharing your favorite things.

  14. Molly sounds like such a sweet person. I will write her name down on the prayer list beside yours and your friend’s name. If I don’t write things down – it won’t happen. 😉

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  15. Thank you for writing down her name and praying! You are such a sweet heart. I even write things on my hand . .yep, like a kid . .. so I remember sometimes! Embarrassing when I still forget! haha!
    God bless you and yours!

  16. God bless you, Dearest Bridging Deb

    Thank you for sharing…there has never been a time that I visited and came away empty-handed. I always leave with so much to chew on, but this one makes me feel like putting on my ballet shoes and getting my ribbons out. 🙂

    “I spend my life studying the mind of Yeshua… staring at Him, knowing that as I fix my eyes on Him I am changed more and more into His likeness.”
    Beautiful and reflective.

    Praying this for Molly as well.

    Blessings
    ann

  17. Oh God bless you, Ann full of grace and song . ..and dance! 🙂 I loved that part too and her insight into what Molly was studying and how it might affect her. Thank you for your prayers! You are going off to Jerusalem now .. .get ready! 🙂

  18. Beautiful– thank you for sharing! Praying for Molly!! :). God is so good and I have faith He’ll finish watering these seeds He’s planted in her heart. Thank you for letting us peek into this story of His beauty and grace.

  19. This was very moving. Thank you for sharing it.

    Love,
    Theresa

  20. You are so dear and right that He will finish the work that has been started in her! Thank you for being here, for reading and praying! God bless you and yours!

  21. Thank you for your always encouraging heart, Theresa! Love you and God bless you!


Comments are closed.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

