Unstable vs Able

“They do not know, nor do they understand;
They walk about in darkness;
All the foundations of the earth are unstable.”  Psalms 82:5

There were 1450 earthquakes in 2012, according to wikipedia.

Thank You, Lord, for giving us a sure foundation – Jesus.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Day to Day to Day

library.thinkquest.org

library.thinkquest.org

There is only One we can go to
who will not shift or sway

only One we can trust
day to day to day

for the earth’s systems and governments
are crumbling away

but Jesus is able
to keep us as we pray.

40 Comments

  1. I’m so thankful for HIS constancy, stability and security, Sis Deb–nothing shakes Him, so I vote to Stand IN Him. God bless you big, all through Worshipful Wednesday–love, sis Caddorino Delightino

  2. Only ONE. Well said Deb. praying for you (and me) and those we love to know that sure foundation.

  3. Jesus is such a sure foundation – unshakable – thanks Deb for this reminder.

  4. He is our Rock! We don’t even need to fear what is happening in the world

  5. Amen! Powerful word… powerful prayer… powerful song in my heart…

  6. I love how you call your poems “simple.” They may be simple, but they’re also very powerful. Thank you 🙂

  7. He is truly our foundation. AMEN

  8. For me, the most wonderful aspect of His faithfulness is that He is ETERNALLY faithful… no matter what may come our way, earthquakes, famines, mass apostasy, threat of martyrdom, or Satanic opposition…. the Lord will always be there and take care of those who are His! He will never leave nor forsake us! Lord bless you Deb. Thanks for the encouraging posts!

  9. All other ground is sinking sand

  10. Excellent, my friend.

  11. Thank you Jesus. And thank you for this wonderful poem.

  12. Thanks Deb, prayer changes things, changes us!

  13. So much truth in so few words. Sometime less is best and this one proves it. God bless you more and more . . .

  14. Debbie…just right for my wobbly-feeling day! *Thank you.*

  15. “Therefore since we are receiving a kingdom which cannot be shaken…” (Hebrews 12:28)

    Living on the West Coast, we do notice a shaking every so often. So, we’re thankful for His kingdom and for the King, Jesus.

    Thanks. You’d better cover the rutabagas and begonias tonight.

  16. I raising my hand to stand IN Him too, Sis Caddorino Delightino! The only sure place for our feet! Love you and God bless you bunches!

  17. Definitely praying with you for those we love to know how much He is here for them! God bless you as you stand in Him today!

  18. I love that He doesn’t get shaky even when I do! God bless you, Mr. Ben, as you stay so so sure of Him!

  19. I love that, Pastor J . ..we don’t even need to fear. So true! God bless you as you rest on your steady sure Jesus!

  20. Oh Cheryl .. .you songed us and blessed us! Thank you! And God bless you as you trust your Only One! love and prayers!

  21. Amen, dear Desiray! And He is able to keep us this day . ..God bless you and yours!

  22. Thank you for that word . .. that eternal promise .. . Pastor Rob! Loved it! God bless you as you keep us encouraged in what all our God can and will do!

  23. Now I have a song playing in my head, sweet Gwen! Thank you! And God bless you and yours!

  24. God bless you, as you stay stayed in Him, poet friend!

  25. God bless you, dear Emerald, and your steadfast love of Him . ..and His for you!

  26. I’m so glad that I can be changed by Him! God bless you Keith, and all the changes He is able to make!

  27. Oh Deborah . .thank you for blessing me and helping me. God bless you more and more and more too!

  28. Oh I’m so glad. 🙂 He is just what we need on wobbly days! God bless you, sweet Brook, as He sets things aright.

  29. Thank you, Mr. Larry, for the Hebrews 12:28 verse . .so good. And faith boosting! God bless you as you stay unshaken with Jesus. Gotcha about the rutabagas and begonias . .I’m on it! 🙂

  30. Debbie, I love the rhythm, wisdom, and comfort of this poem (especially since I live in earthquake territory)! 😉 He is in control.

    Blessings ~ Wendy xo

  31. Amen! Great word, Deb! Thankful Jesus has us in His mighty hand in these shaky times!
    God Bless you!

  32. There were a number of things that came to my mind while reading this.

    First, the picture combined with the words “all the foundations of the earth are unstable” reminded me of how stable some things really look when they really aren’t, both tangible things and intangible things. I so often set my heart on silly things the Lord warns us not to set our hearts on. The problem is I usually don’t realize what I am doing until they fall apart.

    Then there is the earth’s systems and governments parts. This semester I am in both American Government and World Civilization II. The government class isn’t so bad, but the World Civ. II is so disturbing. They go into detail describing accounts where people tortured and Killed each other. The past week we have been studying about the Protestant Reformation, The Catholic Reformation, witch hunts and religious wars, Then there is the news, unpleasant interactions between people on facebook with many who are Christians. All of that combined can really be a downer. I guess I am just one of those sensitive types.

    This post reminds me that it probably is so upsetting to me because I am too attached to this world and wanting it to be a happier place, when we are supposed to get our strength and happiness from the Lord and remember that we are citizens of Heaven who are only sojourning here.

    Thank you so much Deb. I feel less alone now. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  33. Oh Wendy, you deal with this shaking in a very literal way , then! Thank you and God bless you as you trust in His control and ability!

  34. PRAISE GOD! 🙂 I just had to throw that in right off the bat! God bless you, dear Lady Dei, as you stand firm in Him!

  35. Love and hugs, sweet sensitive friend! I think we are all attached more than we even realize, to this world. And . ..it is one thing to say this, to know it . ..but then to walk it out. I want to be able to do that. God bless you and filter all that you are having to study and hear, through His word and promises to you!

  36. “only One we can trust” . . .
    One and only One – but what a One!
    He alone is able.
    He alone is ready and willing.
    He alone is desirous of supplying our every need.
    He alone keeps us as the apple of His eye.
    He alone.
    He alone.
    He alone.

  37. I’m sorry . .I missed your comment earlier! Thank you for stopping by and blessing us! God bless you as you settle into your new home!

  38. I loved your comment, mentor Angela . ..like a poem or song. Thank you and God bless you, as He upholds you today, and is alone your God!

  39. yes He is indeed my strong foundation and my fortress..thanks for sharing!

  40. Thank you for sharing your love and faith, flora! You bless me! God bless YOU!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

