At The Waters Of Meribah

“You called in trouble, and I
delivered you;
I answered you in the secret place
of thunder;
I proved you at the waters of Meribah.”  Psalms 81:7

God is always working . . .even in the hard places.

Lord, I desire to listen for You and have faith more and more and more.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Proved

bible.ca

bible.ca

I have heard of
your great trouble

and I will deliver
you in time

listen for Me
in the thunder

know in the desert
you are Mine.

35 Comments

  1. Sometimes we tend to forget God in the ‘hard’ places and all we do is to seek our own way of escape from it but it all proves nought. We all need to pray this prayer.

    I like the phrase “listen for me in the thunder”… May God give us all his ears, that way, we’ll know the right sound and we’ll know what the particular word means.

    May God continue to increase your knowledge of the word Debbie. I love your poems, short and direct! God bless you!

  2. SO Beautiful, Sis Deb!! I’m thinking the “thunder” is not always literal, but often a thunder in our minds and hearts. Such a good reminder to be listening for Him even in that. God bless your Terrific Tuesday–love, sis Caddorino

  3. These are such beautiful, moving words Debbie… I feel like I’m resting in His presence, hearing them spoken directly to my heart.
    I LOVE that image of listening for Him in the thunder, I’ll remember that.
    God bless you as you continue to bring us His truth.
    Ali

  4. “Know in the desert you are mine.” So good. It is when I am in the desert that I need to have His water.

  5. It is thundering today here in Wisconsin….awesome post beautiful!

  6. Aren’t we all glad that He does work int he hard places! What would we do without Him? Thanks Deb.

  7. very nice

  8. This is where I am right now and what I needed to hear… thank you dear friend.
    I would appreciate your prayers… God knows the spiritual battle we face…He is our Victory

  9. This is above awesome!

    The waters of Meribah was a tough place for Israel and Moses because there was no water there. The people were thirsty and God then provided water out of a rock. Impossible, but yet, isn’t that what God does for each of us everyday.

    Thanks. Better enjoy today because tomorrow may be yucky.

  10. “…know in the desert
    you are Mine.”
    Wonderful, Debbie!

  11. Eloquent. Says it perfectly! Thanks, Mosk

  12. “I will deliver you in time…know in the desert you are Mine.” *Thank you* Debbie:)

  13. “know in the desert you are Mine.” is a quiet but calming comfort. I have repeated the line “I am His and He is mine,” during stressful treks through the desert. Simplicity can be so powerful!

    Blessings Debbie ~ Wendy

  14. I could relate to “seek our own way of escape ” in the hard places. Thank you, dear Emerald, for how you understand and encourage us in Jesus! God bless you!

  15. Oh yes, Sis Caddorino Delightino . ..that thunder can be many things! Now, for me to hear Him then. 🙂 Love you and God bless you as He tells you He loves you today!

  16. God bless you, sweet Ali .. .as you rest in Him and listen for Him too. Praying He provide a soft place for you, always!

  17. He seems to pour over you, dear Pastor Bill . .and I’m so glad that He does! God bless you and yours!

  18. It was thundering here today too! 🙂 Thank you for encouraging us and God bless you always!

  19. I’m raising my hand, Pastor Rob, glad that He works His wonders daily in us and for us. God bless you!

  20. Thank you, Terry . .now go take care of you! 🙂 Praying you can get something to help you feel better soon! God bless you!

  21. Praying with you now, dear faith filled fisherlady, for His staying hand to cover this and bring you through. Love you and God bless you.

  22. You are so right, Mr. Larry . ..He does the impossible for us each day! God bless you as He provides the unexplainable today!
    p.s. I’m readying for ‘yucky’!

  23. Thank you, dear Maria . .. for being His and a witness to Him! God bless you!

  24. So glad that He is there for us, when we are in between the rock and the hard place! God bless you and yours, poet friend!

  25. Thank YOU, Brook . .for living out His promises! God bless you and keep you safe.

  26. Oh Wendy . ..that must be why He has me do simple things. He knows that I have a better chance of remember it during the hard times. I’ve done that line too during stressful times!
    God bless you and lead you to the Rock today!

  27. Awesome poem, Deb! I’m glad I am God’s too!
    God Bless you!

  28. God bless you, Lady Dei .. .God’s high flyer!

  29. Thank you for being a constant encouragement, Debbie!

  30. In all my desert places He has been my Wellspring.

  31. That is really beautiful, Pastor J . .thank you and God bless you!

  32. I love this one, Deb. It also felt so good to be looking at His word and what He gave you to share. I am so thankful.

    Love,
    Theresa

  33. I am so thankful for you, Theresa, and thinking of you tonight, with love and prayer! God bless you and answer you softly.

  34. In the ‘thunder’ – the hustle and bustle, the noise and confusion, the contradictions and influences of the world . . . and in the ‘desert’ – the ‘down’ times, the dry times, the disappointments and pains of life . . . we are NEVER alone.

    We who are blood-bought, adopted children of the living God *KNOW* that we belong to Him; that we are His treasured possession; that He will not allow anything to overcome us, but will provide all we need to be victorious in His enabling and power.

    I am His and He is mine and I can rest safely and securely in His loving arms.

    What an incredibly amazing God!

    Thanks Deb.

  35. Thank you, mentor Angela, for always reminding us WHO we belong to and how treasured we are and how trustworthy He is. God bless you and keep you as you pray for those in need today.


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

