But Flesh

“But He, being full of compassion, forgave
their
iniquity . . .
For He remembered that they were but flesh,
A breath that passes away and does
not come again.”  Psalms 78:38, 39

A friend received a tough prognosis from her doctor.

Lord, thank You for knowing the number of our days and all that they will be filled with.  And here’s a simple poem . ..

Fleeting

dailykos.com

dailykos.com

O God of mercy
compassion and grace

help us this day
as we seek Your face

for You know that we
are but fleeting flesh

give us strength to live out
the days we have left.

42 Comments

  1. Amen… we are but a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away… (James 4:14) I pray the Lord watches over your friend, and comforts her with the knowledge that before He ever created her, He knew what her beginning and end would be, and He will never leave her nor forsake her.

    Many blessings to you, my beloved sister!

    Love,
    Cheryl

  2. Such a lovely poem-prayer of faith, Sis Deb! My prayers continue for your friend, with greater hope tonight. God bless your generous and compassionate heart, so gentle and full of joy–love you, your sis Caddo Delight

  3. i was just praying yesterday about feeling old. 🙂 At 60 I am aware I cannot do what I used to do. It is hard to kneel and pray for any length of time. The joints ache a whole lot more now. BUT i rejoice in Him. The flesh…yeah it is only fleeting.

  4. Oh how we need to serve the Lord now… for none of us know what tomorrow may hold. Lord bless you.

  5. Come and taste and see how good the Lord is…

  6. Amen! This is a good prayer. These bodies are waning but God has promised us a new body that will never grow old. I will pray for your friend this morning Deb.

  7. It is good for me to be reminded that life here is fleeting. It really lightens my burden when I remember that. I am praying for you and your friend.

    Love,
    Theresa

  8. Thank you, Dearest Deb!

    “Lord, thank You for knowing the number of our days and all that they will be filled with.”
    Oh Joy!!!!

    “O God of mercy
    compassion and grace”
    … And He knows my name! And where I am! And what will be done with the days I have left! How great is our God!!

    Blessings and THANKS!
    ann

  9. Deb your poem was needful for me today. Have a sister in law who in intensive care from surgery complication from cancer. It does not look good. Always good to remember how fleeting life is so we will use our days wisely.

  10. Amen!

  11. “…for You know that we
    are but fleeting flesh
    give us strength to live out
    the days we have left.”

    When I was in my 40’s, I use to get up every morning and cry out to the Lord, “Lord send me. Send me to Burundi or Rwanda or an inner city of America, but send me.”

    After doing this for months without telling anyone, a woman stopped by and said, “The Lord appreciates your zeal, but He would like you not to bug Him about sending you somewhere for at least one month.”

    So, I didn’t bug God for 30 days, but on the 31st, I began anew. Then, my life caved in on me and I have not asked God to send me somewhere for almost twenty years.

    But as the poem reminds us, we are fleeting flesh. So, God, yahoo! Hey! Send me anywhere and I’ll go.

    Great poem. I think of you as that little second grader in the first row of seats, hair in pigtails, waving her hand in the air, so excited to answer the teacher’s question. God bless you.

  12. Debbie…so sorry about your friend. That must be scary. Thankful you reminded us that God remembers we are “fleeting flesh…” So thankful He considers our weaknesses and has mercy and grace for us.

  13. I pray that 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 comes alive for her and us at this time. Have prayed for your friend. What a blessing to know that we’re not hindered by distance. Oh God of mercy indeed. God bless all.

  14. Thank you for reminding me that I am but a vapor . . . and that I need to make everyday court for my Lord and Savior. My prayers for all who are living in their fleeting moment may the good Lord send His peace and comfort to them. God bless you!

    Amen and Amen

  15. Once again – my life motto, borrowed from missionary Jim Elliot’s journal, written a few days before he was killed by Auca Indians . . .

    So live, that when you come to die, you have nothing left to do, but die.

  16. It takes just as much energy to be cranky as it does to be happy, so why not be happy to the end. Great post, Deb!
    God Bless You!

  17. A tough time. Blessings for your friend that this may be a transformational time.

  18. Well – i am glad you did not hold this till tomorrow -that’s my Birthday, and i don’t want to think about how fleeting everything is when my age itself is shouting at me.

    Love this sis – well written as always!

    Ben

  19. I love the phrase: “fleeting flesh”! Ain’t it the truth? I don’t mind going home when it is time. God has such tender thoughts towards us…

    Blessings Debbie ~ Wendy

  20. Oh I love that verse with this, dear Cheryl! Thank you! And thank you for your prayers! I wrote this a little ahead of time and have heard back that God is doing some really good things in her life! Yay Jesus! love you and God bless you!

  21. Thank you for your prayers and your hope! God listens to you! 🙂 Love you too, Sis Caddo Delight and God bless you with a fabulous Friday!

  22. I love that you still rejoice in Him, Pastor Bill. AND you still bike!!! That is really something too! 🙂 God bless you all your days!

  23. Thank you for sharing what we need to hear . .now is the time. God bless you, Pastor Rob!

  24. Indeed, Desiray. The friend mentioned in this post had someone pray for her and he prophesied too. She went home and asked God to confirm what had been said, and He did, in His word as she read. He also changed her diet .. .something that she didn’t think she could do. God is certainly good. Thank you and God bless you!

  25. Thank you so much for your prayers and your faith. You strengthen us! God bless you, Pastor J!

  26. Thank you for praying, sweet woman of the Word! God is listening and moving on her behalf. And yes, it does lighten our burdens knowing we won’t be here forever. 🙂 love you and God bless you and yours!

  27. Thank you for the joy you brought to this, dear Ann full of grace and song! 🙂 It is a blessing to be known! God bless you and all the days filled with Jesus!

  28. Thank you for sharing with us here, dear Betty. I am praying with you for your sister in law. At times like this we realize all the more our fragility. God bless you and cover your days with His grace.

  29. God bless you all your days, poet friend!

  30. 🙂 God bless you too, Mr. Larry, as you wave to Him and offer yourself to Him again and again. I know He sees and hears you and has special plans for you!

  31. I’m so thankful too, dear Brook . And that He is watching over you today. That friend is being encouraged by God that things are not as bad as the doctor has said. I’m excited for her and all that He has yet to do in her life. Another “God bless the yets! ” 🙂 And God bless you too!

  32. Roger, thank you so much! I am blown away as everyone prays and will bring back a praise report as I go see her tomorrow. God bless you and pour out His spirit upon you.

  33. Thank you for the comfort in your comment , Deborah! Yes, we all are here but for a moment , really, and need His peace and comfort! Love you and God bless you and yours!

  34. Oh amen, Mentor Angela. Let that be my motto as well. Thank you so much and God bless you and yours abundantly as you live for Him!

  35. I love that, Lady Dei! I think being cranky even takes MORE energy .. .I’m going for the happy happy joy joy! 🙂 God bless you all your days!

  36. What a beautiful prayer, dear Tammy .. .I believe it is indeed going to be a transformational time. It’s begun already! Thank you and God bless you and all He fills your days with.

  37. Happy Birthday, Mr. Ben!!! Now that aside .. .you have me laughing about this post along with your birthday being too much for you! haha! God bless you on your birthdays and all the days in between!

  38. I love His tenderness, that He knows how we feel and takes care of us now and for all eternity. Thank you for blessing us and God bless YOU, Wendy!

  39. Amen!

  40. Amen!

  41. thanks Deb

  42. Yes He is sis GOD is GREAT


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

