My Anguish

“Has God forgotten to be gracious?
Has He in anger shut up His tender mercies?

And I said,  ‘This is my anguish.’
But I will remember the years of the
right hand of the Most High,
I will remember the works of the Lord;
Surely I will remember Your wonders
of old.”    Psalms 77:9-10

I injured my leg awhile back and found it hard to not think about the pain.

Lord, please help us remember in the midst of our painful situations that You have not changed.  And here is a simple poem . . .

I Will Remember

futurity.org

futurity.org

This is just my anguish
this is just my pain

You are still the Lord God
You are still the same

great is Your faithfulness
great is Your name

this is just my anguish
You have not changed.

53 Comments

  1. I cling to this promise Deb. It is a standard upon which I stand and survive. God never changes. Thanks.

  2. Hi,
    I learned from someone, and I don’t remember who it was a phrase that we as Christians should never forget. Sometimes I tend to forget it though, but the LORD has to always open my eyes to what he has done for me in the past. The phrase is, “This too shall pass.” So, I am learning when everything seems to be coming against me, and my burdens seem more than I can bear, to look back at what he has already done for me, the trials that I have overcome, the victories that I have won through his grace and mercy and to say, “This too shall pass.”

    Loved reading this this morning.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  3. Deb,

    Your poem clearly shows you have learned the key to getting through the painful times in life…. keep your eyes upon Jesus. I believe, when we do this we end up better off after the trial is over then before it began. BTW I appreciate the comments of Patricia as well.

    Lord bless, another very encouraging post Debbie.

  4. love the thought……it is just my stuff.

  5. These same thoughts have gotten me through some of the most painful heartaches and trials in my life. Interestingly, because God doesn’t change, I later discovered that those most painful experiences were also times that He was demonstrating His most tender care, affection, and faithfulness. Beautiful poem, Deb!

  6. This is so true Deb! Our anguish seems to consume us when it arises but like all things on this Earth it comes to pass. What will remain is this wonderful relationship we have with the Savior who walks with us through every Valley of the Shadow of Death. I love Him so!

  7. Excellent words today, Deb! Thanks! 🙂

  8. This poem combined with the picture really tugs at my heart. I pray that the Lord would remind me to be more sensitive to those who are suffering anguish.

    Love,
    Theresa

  9. Amen, Dearest Deb

    Someone told me some time ago “our circumstances do not change the fact that the Lord is good…” I have come to believe that is the absolute truth.

    God bless you and thank you for sharing.

    His,
    ann

  10. I had a similar situation about two years and a month ago. And i can say i understand the unspoken meaning of the poem. I titled mine: Ache to Amen. God bless you richly.

  11. Hi sister Debbie; Thank you for sharing these encourageing words today… God Bless you .. Bro Pat 🙂

  12. Your poems are perfect and perfectly-sized for the (trying to be humble) believer. Excellent, my friend!

  13. I need to remember this also

  14. This IS beautiful and wonderful, and has such a nice rhythm, as well as an excellent message to remember. I do recall, recently, there were pinpricks of light in the fog–when I focused on what and WHO was real: Jesus. His words would come so clearly: “Do you trust ME?” I hope your leg is better–you know how I fret. God bless your Wednesday–love, sis Caddo

  15. AMEN! Pain is only temporary Jesus is forever.

  16. “Wow”!! Hi Debbie this is so very good and encouraging,because so many times we do feel that God has forgotten us,but he never will!!
    Love you 😀

  17. When I hurt myself, I always want immediate healing right now and pray something like, “Heal me, Lord. If You need to, send a whole cavalry of angels to help me in my pain. If those aren’t enough, send more.” Does this type of praying instantly ease my pain? Not usually, but two or three times it did. The rest of the times, the healing comes over a period of time.

    I like instant done, but the Lord tends to favor well done.

    Great message today. Stay off the roller skates for another week and eat a raw rutabaga.

  18. Debbie…what a good picture to go with this Psalm about anguish. It’s so hard to look up when distracted and down and out with pain. But *thank you* for reminding that God doesn’t change.

  19. Wow!!! that is exactly how S,M,&A, Daniel’s friends saw the fiery furnace! ouch, and how painful … but You O God are the Same as ever and even if you do not deliver us, we will still praise You. This is Victory, and peace in the Holy Ghost… Praying for healing for you dear friend! Your faith is a great gift!

  20. Larry , I love your replies… I can alway see Deb smile!

  21. These are strengthening words for me, today! Thank you, Debbie.

    Blessings ~ Wendy xo

  22. Deb- this is so good – and thanks for the email sign up – that is a big help!

  23. LOL – perfect advice

  24. So thankful we can go to the Father in all circumstances and He listens with grace. Great Post, Deb! I pray your leg mends speedily!
    God Bless you!

  25. Debbie, these words really got me. In times of grief or simply immobilization, I concentrate on the cross, on his lonely journey to Golgotha. My burdens feel lighter. I sprained my ankle, too, so maybe we are happenstance twins. Hope you are better soon. Love, Amy

  26. I love that His promise to never change is your standard, Pastor Bill!! God bless you as you stand with Him today!

  27. That is a beautiful way to go through the painful times, Patricia .. I love it! I’ve heard that saying too! It’s a good one. God bless you as you keep looking and seeing what God has done and is doing in your life! Thank you!

  28. Thanks , Pastor Rob, for sharing how we come through stronger and better each time, for staying focused on Him. God bless you always!

  29. God bless you Gwen .. .and thank you for the driving lesson today! I know I’ll be thinking of that as I try to park in the parking deck tomorrow. haha!

  30. Oh I love your comment and what God showed you . ..that during those times He was demonstrating His most tender care. Thank you so much for sharing and God bless you muchly!

  31. I love how much you love Him, Pastor J! 🙂 And the wonderful reminder that everything else will pass, but our relationship with Him will remain. God bless you and thank you for sharing and blessing us here!

  32. God bless you, Ted, and thank you too!

  33. Sweet and wonderful woman of the Word .. .that is exactly what He wanted me to understand and see! My leg pain wasn’t catastrophic by any stretch of the imagination . ..and it dawned on me how much I was thinking about it, instead of Him or others. Then how hard must it be for those in great pain and anguish to stay focused on Him? Love you and so thankful for you! God bless you as you go on into the end of the week!

  34. Thank you, dear Ann full of grace and song, for that beautiful truth! I’ll be remembering it too! God bless you!

  35. I loved that poem, Emerald . ..and your heart for Him. Thank you and God bless you as you minister always!

  36. Good to see you, Bro Pat and God bless you and keep you encouraged today! Thank you!

  37. God bless you, humble poet friend, as you remember Him in the hard stuff!

  38. Me too , Terry! it’s one thing to say it , but another to do it when the painful times come. Love you and God bless you!

  39. Oh my stinking leg is fine. haha! But I do want to remember the lessons He brings me in every situation. And of course, to not run with shopping carts in the parking lot again either. 🙂
    I love how He speaks to you and leads you through each painful time . ..looking to Him for everything.
    love you and God bless you, Sis Caddo Delight and fog buster!

  40. I love that attitude, Dear Desiray! Amen and God bless you!

  41. I can only imagine what it might be like for those with chronic pain and how to adjust your live to that and not let it overtake everything else. I have the greatest respect for those who deal with anguish and pain and still praise Him. Beautiful people like YOU, precious Pat! love you and God bless you!

  42. Mr. Larry is the best at advice! And prayers! 🙂 And making me smile! Thank you Mr. Larry! I just went to the store and forgot rutabagas .. .but I got avocados .. will that do?

  43. So so true, dear Brook .. it is hard to look up when distracted with pain. Praying for extra help with this and to remember to pray it for others when they are hurting. Thank you and God bless you!

  44. Oh faith filled fisherlady! Thank you for bringing us that portion of scripture from Daniel . That goes perfect! And thank you for your prayers too! I’m doing good . . .just want to remember what He wants me to! 🙂 love you and God bless you and your precious family!

  45. You are strong in Jesus, dear Wendy! Thank you for blessing us and God bless you!

  46. Oh yay . .I hoped it worked. I’d never have figured it out without you! 🙂 God bless you as you trust in your God that never changes!

  47. Thankful with you for His care and grace, Lady Dei! And thank you for the prayers! It looks worse than it feels! 🙂 God bless you too!

  48. Amy, you have a such a strong and beautiful relationship with Jesus. I loved how you can concentrate on the cross and His journey when undergoing your own anguish and pain. Praying to grow in this in the future! Praying for your ankle .. .thinking of how we could limp along together. The hop-a-long kids. 🙂
    love you and God bless you!

  49. One of the ‘rocks’ of our faith is knowing that God never changes. HE never changes; His love, mercy and grace never change; His care, provision and undertaking for His children never change; His energising and enabling never change.

    We *KNOW* that whatever happens in life, He is right there with us. He knows all about us and He knows how He is going to use this opportunity for our good, to mature us.

    What an incredibly amazing God who ALWAYS wants and does the best for us.

  50. I love thinking of His never changing being one of the rocks of our faith. Wonderful comment and declaration of faith and trust in your amazing God, Mentor Angela! God bless you and yours!

  51. […] My Anguish […]

  52. Our Lord remain faithful . . . to us in all things. Amen and Amen

  53. Oh yes He does! Thank you and God bless you, Deborah!


Comments are closed.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

