A Cup

“For in the hand of the Lord there is a cup,
And the wine is red;
It is fully mixed, and He pours it out . . .”  Psalms 73:8

I keep thinking of Jesus asking His Father to please take this cup from Him.
(saying, “Father, if it is Your will, take this cup away from Me; nevertheless not My will, but Yours, be done.” Luke 22:42)

Lord, may each of us be willing to take the cup You hand to us.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Willingly

wisegeek.com

wisegeek.com

Just as You
took the cup

of Your Father’s
will for You

may each of us
be willing

to do what
You ask us to.

 

42 Comments

  1. It’s a brave and difficult prayer to pray, some days–isn’t it? Great simple poem, Sis Deb–God bless you–love, sis Caddo

  2. You hit the nail on the head. Willing to do what he wants is never easy, but the best way.

  3. Lord, give me a willing spirit… Fill my cup, Lord..

  4. If only we will say those very words Jesus said when we feel the pressure.

  5. Agreed…. 🙂

  6. God bless you, Dearest-Deb who causes the wheels to turn in my head…

    ” Lord, may each of us be willing to take the cup You hand to us…”
    Sister Caddo spoke my thoughts. This one is a toughie. I cannot pray in my own strength, because I honestly would not be able to follow through. I can pray though, that He would give me the strength I need to take the cup He hands to me.
    I have had some bitter wine before. Very bitter and very painful. I would never want to go through that again, but if He says I should, and that He would walk with me, then yes, I will trust His hand to take me past ‘me’.
    My understanding is that Jesus was not excitedly looking forward to the horrible path that was ahead of Him. If Jesus Himself prayed, “O my Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me. Yet not what I want but what you want.”, I think I am okay not wanting to drink the cup I’m given sometimes.
    I’m thankful for my Father’s mercy and His love… I constantly throw myself at the place where He can wash over me. Trying to walk on my own is a sure way to fail.
    Scripture reference: Matt 26: 39 (International Standard Version (©2012))

    Blessings, hugs and more to you and yours, dear sister. May Papa continue to pour His love all over you.

    I’m glad He drank the cup for me.

    In His hands,
    ann

  7. You have brought up a very good point. What a great reminder that our Lord has set the perfect example for us…. it is an example of unquestioning willingness to accept His will for our lives and remain faithful in whatever He has called us to do. Thank you for your faithfulness in presenting the truths of His Word. Lord bless you.

  8. Oh my Deb. This is so big and so wonderful. This will wreck (in a good way) our lives forever as we ask this of the Father. It was what Jesus’ whole life modeled for us – I have come to do thy will – I only do what i see the Father do – I only say what I hear the Father say.

    Oh that Your Church Lord, would take up this cry!

    Thank you Deb!

    Hey – i have a question on the side – is there anyway to subscribe to your post via email. it is the only way i seem to be able to see every post – i don’t get to my reader often enough.

  9. Oooh – this is another toughie! And yet – if I am to share in the glory, can I not share in the trouble as well? Can I not accept bad as well as good, if it is so carefully chosen for my good? I am learning – but oh! the hard lesson that this one is…

  10. good poem Debbie

  11. “…may each of us
    be willing

    to do what
    You ask us to.”

    Your poem and the upset glass of wine reminded me of a story in “Tramp for the Lord” by Corrie Ten Boom. In the story, she secretly was brought to a church in Uganda when the butcher dictator, Idi Amin, ruled the nation. From the stage, she looked at the standing room audience and could think of nothing to say, knowing many would soon face martyr’s deaths. A lady spoke up and said, “Sister Corrie, just encourage us tonight.”

    The audience was not looking for an escape route from their martyrdom destinies, but instead, they just wanted to be encouraged along the way. Many of these same people were hacked to death in the days following the meeting.

    What an awesome poem which touched me deeply. Thanks for being so obedient with your writing.

  12. Cup hurts.Thank you for being with us Debbie.

  13. Oh that we would understand we have been bought with a price. Thanks Deb.

  14. That was a hard cup Jesus had to swallow, but I’m thankful He was so courageous and strong! May we be strong in Christ to do what the Lord has in store for us! Great post, Deb!
    God Bless You!

  15. I need this one as I approach a ladie’s meeting this weekend where I will share my testimony about healing from eating disorders 3 decades ago. My flesh is terrified to death. But His Spirit in me is saying to keep my eyes on Him & point the ladies to His Word… Debbie – you always encourage us in His direction!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  16. Amen. Such an essential and beautiful prayer. It is a cup difficult to accept but may God give us his grace to carry on the Christian work. God bless Debbie. 🙂

  17. Oh it sure is, sweet Sis! I often pray prayers like this and then later see the results or understand why. Love you and am so thankful for you!!! God bless you with a terrific Tuesday!

  18. I’m raising my hand too, Ann! 🙂

  19. God bless you as you take the narrow way, Pastor Bill .. the way that is best for you!

  20. Thank you so much for the song today, dear Cheryl! God bless you as you stay willing!

  21. That is it for me, Desiray . .. when I feel the pressure it all gets harder. Praying now for help then! God bless you!

  22. Oh Ann full of grace and song (Aub just said, ‘what a pretty song!’) , thank you for all that your comment contains! Worthy of a post in itself. I loved how you thought that if Jesus asked the cup to be taken from Him, then it isn’t wrong for us to ask at times too, or to not want to take it. Praying with you for His strength when it is His will for us to take the cup.
    Love you and God bless you as He answers your prayers this week and strengthens you for the journey!

  23. Thank you and God bless you, Pastor Rob, as you help us remain faithful to serve Him by sharing His word with us!

  24. Part of me wants to pull back, Mr. Ben, at being wrecked like this! But, the other part tells me that it will be okay, with Him. Thank you so much for building our faith, so we are encouraged and strengthened in Him each day, for whatever we are asked to do.
    God bless you!
    And Mr. Ben . .I tried to see what to do about you receiving this in your email, because I am the same way and miss the ones that just come to my reader. But I don’t know what to do, how to change and make something appear for you to subscribe by email. I will see if someone else knows how I can change this!

  25. I’m so glad that I’m not the only one a little shaky on taking the cup, knowing it isn’t always going to be something easy to swallow. Thank you for being here so we can all pray for each other! God bless you, Melody, and keep you and cover you today!

  26. Thank you, dear Terry, and God bless you and Al! You have a touch cup right now, friend.

  27. Mr. Larry, I am reading “The Hiding Place” by Corrie ten Boom right now and so your comment extra blessed me. Along with knowing that sometimes we just need to be encouraged along the way, not rescued from it. God bless you as you do that.

  28. Sweet Brook . .I’m so sorry for the pain and hurt. Praying with you for strength and mega doses of His mercy. God bless you as you walk through this.

  29. Praying for that understanding too, Pastor J, and the reality of it lived out. Thank you and God bless you!

  30. So well put, Lady Dei .. .and whatever He asks us to do won’t be as hard as what He had to do. Plus, He’ll be with us! God bless you and yours! (hey . ..you just did a ‘cup’ post of sorts too! 🙂 )

  31. Dear Wendy . ..I am praying for you now, as you give your testimony. My stomach tightens for you . ..I’m not good in front of people! God bless you as He speaks through you and gives you the words, His Words, to share. Praying for those whose hearts will be touched and lives changed by this encounter with a living healing God!

  32. There’s a certain slowness, and reflectiveness, in the way we drink wine. I can imagine the same kind of pondering happening with Jesus at the Last Supper. I love those verses, and the analogy of the cup for us. May we be willing to take up the crosses He gives us, for the “joy set before us”.
    Thanks for continuing to listen to His voice and word, and for being such a blessing Debbie.

  33. Thank you, Emerald, for taking His cup and this time in Africa, to do as He wills for you! God bless you!

  34. Thank you for helping us consider this in the way you do, Ali! You have me remembering that His strength is our joy .. even when taking up crosses and cups. God bless you as you rejoice to do His will today!

  35. here is how
    Go to the dash board and on the left hand side you should see “appearance” When you click on that or hover over it, you should see Widgets.
    There is one called “follow blog”
    All you have to do is drag that up to the right hand column and drop it in and it should show up on the side bar of your post.
    i suppose some themes don’t allow it, but that actually seems unlikely.

    thanks again sis

  36. to know His will and do it… a lifetime of blessing
    my prayer each day. Gosh I love your simple poems!

  37. I so often pray “Thy will be done in earth as it is in heaven.” not pausing long enough to regard them the way the Lord intended them to be regarded. Then there is something else to consider:

    How often do I pause and thank the Lord for His will being done when I am in difficult and painful situations?

    Thank you for this post, Deb.

    Love,
    Theresa

  38. I see a lifetime of blessing poured out over you, dear faith filled fisherlady! 🙂 love and prayers for you and yours .. .and that precious baby!!! God bless you!

  39. Oh Theresa . .. to stop and thank Him for His will being done in the difficult places. That stopped me! Thank you so much for all the things you ponder about Him and share with us! love you and God bless you!

  40. Thank you, Mr. Ben! I’m heading off to see if I can get ‘er done! 🙂

  41. When I think of Jesus praying about the possibility of the cup being removed (even though He knew it was the ONLY way) I think also of Hebrews 12:2 which says Jesus, for the *JOY* set before Him, endured the cross, and Luke 9:51 which tells us that Jesus STEADFASTLY set His face to go to Jerusalem.

    We can never fully appreciate the horrible cost that Jesus endured – not just the physical pain, but the fact that He, the perfect, sinless, holy One actually became sin, the absolute antithesis of His being. I believe the astounding part of this is that He considered the *JOY* that was set before Him – the JOY of redeeming His bride.

    I know it is a VERY poor comparison, but when I am asked by the Lord to do something I would shrink from doing, this helps. The trauma of the ‘cup’ is faced more easily when I think of the JOY of obeying Him and actually achieving His purpose (through His enabling and empowerment) What a privilege and joy it is to be used by Him!

    Debbie, you say so much in so few words. Sorry for rambling on, but those words “for the JOY that was set before Him” are mind-boggling to me.

    What an absolutely incredibly amazing Saviour!

  42. Thank you, Mentor Angela! You added something so important with Hebrew 12:2! I want to hang onto that whenever He asks me to do something difficult too! God bless you as you praise your amazing God. You can come here and share as much as you want to!! You are always a blessing!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

