Inside Israel – Overflowing Joy

JerAtNight1

Hi and welcome to a look inside Israel today. Our sis in Jerusalem shares some of what is going on in her country and in her heart! Thank you for reading and praying!  Now, here she is . ..

Dear Brothers and Sisters,
I greet you from Jerusalem, where we are preparing for Elections this coming Tuesday.  It has been a grueling battle as our notorious political system exhibits its ‘colorful’ nature.  That is a nice way of putting it I guess.  The display of some 37(?) (I lost track.) political parties battling it out in the mud is something that grieves me. I try to listen to enough to be informed, but even more so to bring it to Him and find His direction, for certainly He cares about this country… these countries (yours and mine)…and we try to be good stewards…walking in the world but not being of the world.  The will of The Lord for this country, which is more then a country…a country engraved with a mysterious and ancient relationship with God…a country who is called to unfold prophecy today and to display His Name… what a responsibility! I am thankful that it IS HIS responsibility and not ours, but we ARE called to be stewards, and so we move toward an agonizing voting process and I do ask for your prayers.  Although ‘polls’ show an ‘easy win’ for Prime Minister Netanyahu, I do not trust polls, the media, nor do I trust the world’s ways…so prayer to Him Who knows the way ahead is our only hope through the pea soup of this crazy world. 
The annual Intercessors for Israel (ifi)(this is the prayer group that I participate with every Friday morning) prayer conference here in Jerusalem is scheduled to begin this year the night before elections (next Monday night) and of course it was set way before elections were called.  What perfect timing for a gathering of prayer warriors from around the world with a heart to pray for Israel!  Because of my work schedule, I will only be able to attend 2 morning meetings, however my husband has agreed to come to the meeting this Monday night, so I also thank you for your prayers for his heart to be warmed.  J
Thank you for having borne with my reports concerning our weather.  I had a lot of fun writing them! I was surprised (but shouldn’t have been) by those who wrote from ‘wet Europe’ saying that they hadn’t really thought of rain as a ‘blessing’ and thanking me for the reminder.  I had to stop and wonder…if I didn’t live in a desert would I be thankful for the cold torrential rains and snow?  I also lived in the California foothills during severe drought, but in Alaska we had abundant water (where I lived)…HOWEVER…we were subject to some very extreme weather conditions.  One of the ‘children’s songs’ that we sang at our fellowship back then, became a ‘stepping stone’ for me and I actually still sing it when I am particularly uncomfortable ‘weather wise’:
“It’s a happy day, and I thank God for the weather.  It’s a happy day, and I’m living it for my Lord, Halleluyah!  It’s a happy day, and things are going to get better, just living each day by the promises in God’s Word”
It’s just a little child’s song, but it moves my heart toward Him.  I was thinking these thoughts the other night after receiving some responses to my email and then the next morning (davka! Wouldn’t you know it!) in my regular morning reading I was in Psalms and read these wonderful words:
“He sends out His command to the earth; His Word runs very swiftly.  He gives snow like wool; He scatters the frost like ashes; He casts out His hail like morsels; Who can stand before His cold?  He sends out His Word and melts them; He causes His wind to blow, and the waters to flow; HE DECLARES HIS WORD TO JACOB, HIS STATUES AND HIS JUDGMENTS TO ISRAEL.”  Psalm 147:15-19
The following morning was my spiritual birthday!  Tuesday the 15th of January I celebrated 38 years in Yeshua… what a miracle! The day never ceases to ‘tingle’ me…to bring me to my knees… to humble me… to remind me that He found a literally barren waif on her way to kill herself with NOTHING worth redeeming and said ‘I will show MYSELF in this dark, filthy pit.  I will banish the enemy and display MY LIGHT where darkness thought it had the victory!’ And HE did!  As I sought to offer something to HIM as a token of thanksgiving…He instead filled me with such JOY this Tuesday… all I can say is that it was a ‘baptism of joy’! I hope that doesn’t sound pretentious, I just don’t recall such a feeling of every cell full of joy and thanksgiving!  ANYWAY…I began the day as usual in my time with Him by reading.  Currently I am reading in 4 places each morning: First covenant (OT), Second covenant (NT), Prophets, and a Psalm.  The night before I had shared from Ps. 147 with you (above) and here in Psalm 148, that wonderful Psalm of exhortation to praise, I read: (I am so tempted to write the whole Psalm here!)
…“Fire and hail, snow and clouds, stormy wind, FULFILLING HIS WORD…”
Oh my!  What a picture!  It seemed to me that He was showing me that whenever I am REALLY in the center of the will of God…doing His will…what I am created to do…I am FULLFILLING HIS WORD!  Is that crazy and perhaps carrying it too far?  It just suddenly all made so much sense…His ‘order’, His ‘harmony’, His ‘shalom’… it is even witnessed in the weather… (dramatic weather or calm) – all of nature proclaiming His glory.  As I read the Prophets and see how often He told Israel that they would be dispersed in their disobedience so that ‘the land could have her rest’, I began to picture the quiet and order taking over from the noise and disorder…the balance being restored.  It seems to me that when we ourselves as His children seeking to please Him, walk in His will, there is a certain ‘balance’ that quiets us and worship is a ‘natural’ outcome. 
Uh oh, I have let my joy spill a bit too far over into this letter perhaps.  Will you take this opportunity to forgive me for my occasional ‘over exuberance’ and let it be turned into joy and thanksgiving for your own salvation?  This great gift that we have received, totally unworthy, this mystery… it is what has made us brothers and sisters and has put such a love in me for each of you!  May you be greatly refreshed today and may we each be renewed in our first-love for The One Who has done far more then we will grasp in this life time. 
I miss you, dear brothers and sisters.  I send love from dramatic Jerusalem.  Your sis
 
 
 
 
17 Comments

  1. Hallelujah! I love reading these… I think I missed it last week. May you be blessed for sharing these updates with us in Jesus’ name!

    Love,
    Cheryl

  2. Reblogged this on Burning Fire Shut Up In My Bones and commented:
    Brothers and Sisters, here is another look at Israel from the eyes of our sister in Christ, who resides there. Many blessings to you as you read and pray for the peace of Jerusalem. Shalom!

  3. I’m so glad to be able to share them, Cheryl! They need sharing! 🙂 Love and prayers .. and God bless you!

  4. Thank you for sharing her letters even more!

  5. i will be praying with you… and take care

  6. Such enthusiasm is heart-warming, is it not?

  7. Debbie, it was nice to be reminded of an old song I used to sing in church years ago… It’s amazing how our faith can be encouraged so greatly by such a simple song.

    Blessings ~ Wendy xo

  8. Thank you for praying and God bless you! 🙂

  9. It is heart-warming and helps stir up my own enthusiasm when it is waning! Thanks Melody, for reading and praying . .God bless you!

  10. Sometimes the simpler things stick with us! Blessed that you knew that song too! Sending you off to Jerusalem . .buckle your seatbelt. 🙂 Thanks and God bless you, dear Wendy!

  11. 🙂

    Thank you, Bridging-Deb 🙂

    Why do I feel the need to break out in song and dance?

    Blessings and thanks for sharing,
    ann

  12. I love it when you feel the need to break out in a song and dance! 🙂 Thanks so much Ann, for spreading the joy! God bless you and yours and your week ahead!

  13. I thank God for your joy and love for the Word! He indeed is Life to our every fiber and His joy ‘is’ our strength. Praying for a Godly outcome to the election there.

  14. Also… I felt young again singing your song… one I sang with the children when they were young 🙂 singing it again!

  15. I’m so glad that these letters bless you like they do me! God bless you and sending your comments off to our Sis in Jerusalem, sweet faith filled fisherlady!

  16. I am so glad I stopped here, read, and had joy spilled on me….now that is a stain that I would proudly wear!

    Love,
    Theresa

  17. I love you and your heart for Him! I am going to be on the look out for Joy stains now! 🙂 God bless you, Theresa! Sending you off to Jerusalem!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

