Then I Understood

“When I thought how to understand this,
It was too painful for me –
Until I went into the sanctuary of God;
Then
I understood their end.”  Psalms 73:16-17

Life isn’t fair . . .at first glance.

Lord, let us pray and see with mercy and compassion those who look like they have it all – but they don’t have You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Consider                                                                        images

So hard to understand
how they can just
get away
with all of this

but then You
remind me to consider
this is not
all there is.

(image credit – m.wxxi.org )

41 Comments

  1. Amen – we should always consider that He isn’t finished. He sees all and knows all, and one day all will have to face His judgment. Much love to you for your simple poems that lead us to consider the One who rules over all.

    Love,
    Cheryl

  2. so true indeed ..it is so easy for me to question others success but it’s meaningless if I have no God at all…thanks Deb.

  3. So hard to understand
    how they can just
    get away
    with all of this

    It was in the sanctuary of the Lord that I discovered that the one who harms others does greater harm to him/herself. It was a grand lesson.

  4. “Life isn’t fair . . .at first glance.” I am so glad for the “at first glance”! Just like you say… Life is ALWAYS fair when we see the workings of God over time and into eternity. It is just hare to recognize it when we are in the midst of a sinful world.

    Lord bless you Deb! Thank you.

  5. At first glance it does appear unfair. “But Lord I am…” Then we have to realize that we have another world to look forward to. We need to keep our perspective right. not that I always do…

  6. “…Life isn’t fair…”

    If we only look at our lives from birth to death, then yes, life isn’t fair. But if we realize our lives here on earth are only warm-ups for eternity then hallelujah, praise God, life is GREAT and who cares about the unfairness now.

    Great poem. Don’t be planting your begonias just yet, okay?

  7. Good reminder message. God bless your day abundantly. love, sis Caddo

  8. Debbie…so honest to say how difficult it is to see injustice and unfairness going on, when people hurt each other on purpose and seemingly “get away with all this.” *Thank you* for seeing that “this” is not all there is. Another great post and picture.

  9. “Ill gotten gain” leads to sick places… You are so spot on with this one, Debbie!

    Blessings ~ Wendy xo

  10. Yes!

  11. Thank you for sharing, Dearest Deb

    This is quite beautiful and gives cause for reflection. I don’t get it now, but I will ‘Farther Along’

    “Lord, let us pray and see with mercy and compassion those who look like they have it all – but they don’t have You.”
    I so pray!

    Blessings
    ann

  12. I’ve come to the broken place where I thank God that life is unfair. Joining Paul as “chief among sinners”, God in His mercy and grace has been and will always be utterly unfair to me. 😀

  13. I’m so glad He isn’t finished yet. There is still more to come and more time! Love you and God bless you as you consider Him today!

  14. I’m with you, flora . ..easy to question until I remember all He has saved me from and is yet to do. God bless you and thank you for adding to the post with your comments! 🙂

  15. That really hushes me, Roger .. .thank you! It’s true and I want to remember that, so I can have mercy and compassion yet. God bless you and yours!

  16. Yes, Pastor Rob . ..it’s when we are in the midst of things, that I can lose sight of all there is yet. Thank you and God bless you!

  17. Thanks, Pastor Bill for reminding us to keep our perspective right! God is usually good at helping me with that. 🙂 God bless you and so glad you got a good interruption!

  18. I love that we can not care about the ‘unfairness’ now in light of all eternity with God. 🙂 Thank you, Mr. Larry and God bless you as you coach us through the warm-ups!
    p.s. okay, holding off on the begonias for now! 🙂

  19. Thank you for your blessings and prayers, Sis Caddo Delight! Love you and God bless you too, muchly!

  20. I could just relate to the Psalmist as he had to watch all the wrong being done. It’s hard to see it happening. Now, just for me to remember that God does see it all and knows and is always working. God bless you, dear Brook, and thank you for being here! You bless me!

  21. It’s not good , is it? Scares me for those who buy into it. God bless you, Wendy, as you pray and seek Him on others behalf!

  22. 🙂 God bless you, Judy!

  23. Thank you for the way your heart always leans into Him, dear Ann full of grace and song! And thank you for the song too! When we see Jesus . .. everything changes. God bless you as you continually look to Him!

  24. Oh sweet gracious friend . .this blessed me so so much. Thank you for the way you turned that around. God bless you and Heidi Ho, as you keep walking in grace and mercy . ..and making room for others to join you. love and prayers for you both!

  25. “Life isn’t fair . . .at first glance”
    That could be said in relation to so many people and things. I’m sure people in poverty-stricken, war-ravaged areas must think it. I am sure many in our own affluent society think it. I’m sure many here in Oz who have recently lost everything in our bushfires, or before that in our floods, think it, along with those worldwide affected by cyclones, tornadoes, tsunamis, earthquakes, volcano eruptions, mudslides etc.

    “but then You remind me to consider this is not all there is”

    We need to see the big picture. We need to see the goodness of God in His work in and for mankind. We need to see mankind’s response. We need to see the mess that mankind has made of God’s creation and of His plans for us.

    We need to see God’s plans. We need to see eternity. And when we do, we praise Him unreservedly.

  26. “this is not all there is”

    I am praying that prayer, Deb.

    Thank you for this thoughtful post.

    Love,
    Theresa

  27. And how often we need that reminder. Thank you.

  28. Ooh, boy … this is an especially tough topic for me. Life ISN’T fair – but the ending is already written, and one day all will be set right! This thought is what I cling to when the injustice of it all smothers my very soul. We are on the winning team, after all! 🙂

  29. “We need to see God’s plans. We need to see eternity. And when we do, we praise Him unreservedly.” Thank you so much for helping us to see what we always need to do . .praise Him. God bless you, mentor Angela, as you worship your faithful God!

  30. Praying that prayer with you, sweet Theresa! Thank you for your heart for Jesus and God bless you!
    love you!

  31. Thank you too, Jeff, for always helping us keep things in perspective. God bless you and your family!

  32. Melody, it’s tough for me too, at times. God bless you as He comforts you and covers you and shows you He knows all about everything that’s going on.

  33. I thank God for his understanding. In all of these, what’s most vital is the end. May God give us his eyes to see beyond the physical. God bless you dear friend.

  34. His comfort is truly a miracle, isn’t it?

  35. So true! When we God we can be content and not envy those who have more stuff. Peace, Linda

  36. Yes! It’s better than chocolate! 🙂

  37. Thinking of you, Emerald and thankful for you too! Praying that prayer for His eyes to see beyond the physical. God bless you too!

  38. He does keep us content and satisfied . .stuff can’t do that. God bless you, dear Linda! Hope you’re having a good weekend!

  39. Amen. Thank you Debbie.

  40. Oh that is so true! There is so much beyond this.

  41. So glad that there is, Pastor J! God bless you and yours!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

