When Swallowed Up

“Let not the floodwater overflow me,
Nor let the deep swallow me up;
And let not the pit shut it’s mouth on me.”  Psalms 69:15

There must have been so many times when David thought he was going down for the last time.

Lord, when circumstances are getting the best of me, help me remember that today I am saved.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

The Truth

bigwaves.tumblr.com

bigwaves.tumblr.com

When the water has risen
up past my neck

and the pit doesn’t have
an opening left

may I remember
Your lovingkindness

and the truth
of Your salvation.

31 Comments

  1. Lately, you’ve just been a fountain of truth that reassures, Sis Deb!! When we are panicking, it’s great to have one or two short phrases to cling to, as our minds begin to run away from us. I’m focusing on, “I am saved”–and “I’m in the middle of a miracle”, for now. See? I may not be able to keep my Old Testament stories straight–but I remember the important, “current” stuff!! God bless you for teaching us in simple poems, sharing His loving grace and peace–love to you, sis Caddorino (And thank you for being His voice, His laughter, His arms to hold this sis!)

  2. Well said and timely Deb. My secretary is going through a really tough time right now and needs the reassurance this verse can give. Thanks.

  3. “…and the truth
    of Your salvation.”

    As a young Christian, I listened to Christian radio, with my favorite program being Rev. R. W. Schambach’s “The Voice of Victory.” He always stirred me up, especially when he said, “Sink or swim, live or die, I’m going to serve Jesus.”

    Schambach ended his programs by saying, “You don’t have any trouble… All you need is faith in God.”

    Thanks for allowing me to take a bunny trail down memory lane, also known as geezer’s way. God bless you.

  4. Been swallowed up before, could not see a way out and just when I thought I was going down for the last time, God pulled me out spiritually even though my trial continued for a while. Lovely verse, packed with encouragement. Thanks.

  5. How wonderful to be reminded that we are “saved” right now! Your posts always feed my soul with peace.

    Blessings Debbie ~ Wendy xo

  6. Deb, this was beautiful as always, and the picture you used spoke volumes as well! What a beautiful visual of being swallowed up by the crashing waves of life. It makes me so thankful for the salvation Christ gives.

    Love you,
    Cheryl

  7. Amen. This brought tears to my eyes. God bless you for posting.

  8. When life’ s waters rise up our Rock will rise up to keep us afloat.

  9. Again, you feed me soul food, just what I need…

  10. Strange, but I caught a glimpse of a show today about miners who would pray to God while above ground, then pray to the devil while underground! It made me sad! So I really like your scripture choice today and pray the miners would somehow see it and know there is only one true God who saves in all circumstances.
    God Bless You!

  11. Love you, Super Sis and so glad that the short and simple can be helpful! You are so gracious and wise and joyful .. .a blessing! God bless you as you hang onto Him and He to you!

  12. Everyday it seems I hear of someone in such deep need . ..surely we would all be sunk if not for Jesus! God bless you, Pastor Bill, and praying for your secretary tonight!

  13. I love it when you take the bunny trail down memory lane! 🙂 What great quotes to share with us, Mr. Larry .. .God bless you and yours with the truth and nothing but the truth!

  14. Thank you for sharing, dear Betty, about how we may me pulled out spiritually, but still keep going through the physical trial. That is really good to know! God bless you and encourage you as you encourage and help others!

  15. What a really encouraging comment, wonderful Wendy! 🙂 Thank you and God bless you as you rest in the peace of His salvation tonight!

  16. I’m so thankful for His salvation too, Cheryl! Than feeling of being swallowed up . ..and sinking out of sight .. .it’s something only He can help us with and out of! Love you and God bless you as He comforts you and gives you peace tonight!

  17. Love and hugs, Emerald. God bless you and hold you tight!

  18. So true that He is higher than any flood waters can reach. 🙂 God bless you, Pastor J, as you seek Him!

  19. Well, at least there are no calories! 🙂 God bless you, Melody and pull you out of the deep waters into His arms!

  20. Wow .. .that is pretty sad, Lady Dei! So glad you saw it and could pray . .I’m joining you right now! God bless you, rescued and redeemed one of His!

  21. 🙂 Amen

  22. The only “sure cure” for drowning in our trials is having Christ as our lifegiver and LIFE PRESERVER! Thanks for the great reminder Deb. I really appreciated your poem today as well, it was a real blessing ot my heart.

  23. Thanks Deb! Remembering to trust His will with you!

  24. I like the thought of Christ as our life preserver! 🙂 Thanks Pastor Rob, and God bless you!

  25. God bless you, Tom, as you trust and are rescued!

  26. Whether we are in the deepest valley or on the mountain top or anywhere in between, we are in the everlasting arms of our triune God who is our Refuge, our Shelter, our Rock, our Defence, our Sustainer, our Deliverer . . . everything we need.

    What an incredibly amazing God!

  27. God bless you, mentor Angela as you encourage us as to where we always are . .in His arms! love and prayers for you and yours!

  28. The water that rises up to my neck is often the countless thoughts of my own mind that are needing to be brought into captivity, rather than circumstances.

    “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;” 2 Corinthians 10:5

    I think I will pray about this. Thank you so much for this post.

    Love,
    Theresa

  29. It can be that for me too, Theresa! Thanks for that added insight! love you and God bless you and yours!

  30. Thank you for opening our hearts with your poems.

  31. God bless you and keep you! Thank you for your sweet comment!


Comments are closed.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

