You Still The Noise

“You who still the noise of the seas,
The noise of their waves,
and the tumult of the peoples.”  Psalms 65:7

The definition of tumult is : 1.) noisy commotion; uproar 2.) confusion; agitation.

Lord, thank You for always knowing how to quiet me.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Quieted

trekearth.com

trekearth.com

When the sound of my own thoughts
which aren’t about You

drown out what I really
want to hear and do

You calm those rogue waves
that crash against my soul

and in the way only You can
You quiet me so.

40 Comments

  1. I love this, Sis Deb!! And now I’m going to hit the hay– God bless you with a Terrific Tuesday–love, sis Caddorino

  2. Lovely post…

  3. There is a peace that only He can give.

  4. yes calm the rogue waves that crash against my soul…beautiful Debbie….hope u have a beautiful year 2013!

  5. Amen!He alone is our peace in the storms.

  6. Be still my soul

  7. I needed this one today – thanks, Debbie!

  8. You’ve really hit your stride in the Psalms. Could it be that you’re really a psalmist waiting for harp and lute to put it to music?

    Bravo Debbopsalmist.

  9. I love “rogue waves,” as it so suits how I feel and act sometimes! It made me laugh as I have already had to do a course correction when I grumbled at the cat for wanting me to give her breakfast the second she saw me up and about… My sweet dog is the one who needs me to remind him to get up! He’s still asleep. 🙂 Your poem reminds us that our thoughts are vital to victory – may we all think on the things He desires us to.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  10. It is such a blessing to know the Lord can quiet each one of us and also quite the storms of life around us. Great reminder, as always. Thanks. Lord bless you Deb.

  11. You’re like a homing pigeon, always seeking to return to Him in thought and word.

  12. Love the poem sis it’s that still small voice in us that we can hear Him. AMEN

  13. Had never read about “the tumult of the peoples.” So timely! Thank you Debbie:)

  14. This is just too beautiful . . . I love it and you . . .

  15. Love you, Sis Caddorino and God bless you too, and all the ways He quiets and keeps you!

  16. Thank you for stopping in, lovely one! God bless you and calm you right when you need it most!

  17. Absolutely Mike! So good to see you! God bless you and yours!

  18. Praying you have a beautiful year too, flora! 🙂 God bless you and quiet all the noise except His voice!

  19. I am so thankful for that peace! Thank you, Pastor J and God bless you and yours!

  20. God bless you Gwen . ..and this was in no way a response to your last post. haha!

  21. Thank you, dear Melody, for encouraging me. God bless you and bring those quiet times you need!

  22. Thanks for blessing me, Mr. Larry, and supporting me .. .seeing more in me than I see in myself. 🙂 God bless you as you pray and seek Him this month.
    Debbopsalmist sounds a bit like a dinosaur to me. teehee! You’re funny!

  23. I love how you put that . . course correction! 🙂 And we have a cat like that too! But he’s just too cute, so I can’t get grumpy at him. Plus he’s huge . ..could probably take me out. haha!
    Yes, I know for me, those thoughts have to be surrendered to Him constantly. God bless you and your sweet family! You are a blessing!

  24. Your comment reminds me of that song .. .”sometimes He calms the waves, other times He calms His child.” God bless you, Pastor Rob, as you seek Him today!

  25. I’m giggling and also really blessed by that analogy of being like a homing pigeon! Lord, let it be so! 🙂 God bless you, dear Maria, and your poet’s heart for Him!

  26. Amen for hearing His voice! God bless you, Desiray, and your servants heart for Jesus!

  27. Thought it was interesting that it was there right after the waves of the sea. Kind of describes me at times! God bless you, Brook, as you deal with people’s tumult and trust Him to quiet and help you!

  28. Thank you so much, Deborah . .. that was so so kind. Love you and God bless you too, as you just keep the poem ministry flowing!

  29. I’m totally familiar with the ‘rogue waves’ that crash into my thoughts. I love the imagery here of Him stepping in to quiet us – the One who calms the seas can put to rest the tumult in our hearts. Wonderful!

  30. The peace He gives passes understanding but it is REAL. He calms the fiercest raging and gives peace.
    What an incredibly amazing God!

  31. I love how well you put it Ali! 🙂 God bless you as He calms you and your storms! Thank you!

  32. I’m so glad that we can know that peace He gives and that it is REAL. God bless you, mentor Angela, as He quiets all that you need Him to today!

  33. Coo

  34. The serenity of loving God

  35. Amen! Thank you and God bless you, dear Emerald!

  36. By the way, thanks for the card. We had a great time through the holidays. Took off work Friday before Christmas and didn’t go back until after the new year. We were either preparing for get togethers or going to them the whole time. Had a good snow Christmas night. All was good.

    Hope Aubrey is doing well . . . and the rest of your family. 🙂

  37. Oh Deb, this is a masterpiece. It is like strong medicine!

    Love,
    Theresa

  38. Isn’t He something, to always know how to keep us calm and steady, for Him? Love you, wonderful woman of the Word and God bless you heaps!

  39. […] You will not go under Burning Fire Shut Up in My Bones – Where Life and Death Collide Deb’s Blog – You Still the Noise Sherribennetblog – Finding Rest Heismore – Sit […]

  40. Thank you and God bless you!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

