A Banner

“You have given a banner to those who fear You,
That it may be displayed because of the truth,
That Your beloved may be delivered,
Save with Your right hand, and hear me.”  Psalms 60:4-5

God sets the truth in us and over us.

Lord, may Your truth be plainly displayed in us.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Flying Free

source - cockingasnook.wordpress.com

source – cockingasnook.wordpress.com

You make us
into banners

and fly us
for all to see

filled with
Your truth and love

proclaiming
“Jesus set us free!”

30 Comments

  1. I remember a song from my youth pastor days: His banner over me is love. I need to make sure that His banner over me is one I shed over others.

  2. You’ve done it again! Your poem put a song in my heart, and it’s resounding. I love your poems… Many blessings, my sister in the Lord! 😀

    Love,
    Cheryl

  3. Oh Yes he Did! He is proud of us! 🙂

  4. Thank you for sharing, Dearest Deb 🙂

    For some reason, the words ‘safe-place’ and ‘flag’ came to me when I read your lovely post. Your notes sent me to some research, and I found banner, safe place, flag, standard, ensign, sail, signal pole. ‘something lifted up’!

    I too grew up singing the song ‘His banner over me is love’, but I always thought of banner as something like a tent/covering. Thanks to you, I have found out so much more! Now when I sing about His banner over me, I will be thinking about all these words!

    Blessings to you and yours. May His banner continue to be over you, and all that concerns you too!

    ‘Bannered’,
    ann

    Sharing ‘Cover Me’ as we continue to pray for each other.

  5. thank the Lord we have our faith, as everything else is being stripped away

  6. I like the idea of God making us into banners of His truth, Sis Deb–God bless you abundantly today–love, sis Caddo

  7. “…You make us
    into banners…”

    What a great word-picture. It’s better than the one I use often where I think of myself as a sheet hanging on the clothesline in the back yard. I’m blown this way and that way in the winds whichever way the winds of circumstances blow. This continues until the Lord shows up and then I head in His direction toward safety.

    Great way to start out the New Year.

  8. what a great truth to enter the new year with! Thank you my friend!

  9. I liked this lots 🙂

  10. This is so true, Debbie! It’s about making disciples of all nations… and our banners can be used to draw others to him. May we be brave but gentle in this privilege ( and command). This is personal to me today as I hesitated to post a Bible verse in my blog, as a lot of my followers do not know Jesus . But I did anyway because I want to be true to who I am. I am His! And I want them to have the same hope in him as we do… “Perfect love casts out fear.”

    Blessings as your blog blesses us ~ Wendy

  11. Love it! May we all fly, shine, and proclaim Christ! Ever thankful!
    God Bless You!

  12. I love what we become the banner given to demonstrate freedom – so good Deb!

  13. What a beautiful poem!

    ” Are we beginning to commend ourselves again? Or do we need, as some do, letters of recommendation to you, or from you? 2 You yourselves are our letter of recommendation, written on our[a] hearts, to be known and read by all. 3 And you show that you are a letter from Christ delivered by us, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.[b]” 2 Corinthians 3:1-3 ESV

    Love,
    Theresa

  14. I had forgotten about that song, Pastor Bill, but now it’s coming back to me. 🙂 Yes . ..to shed that banner over others . .good thought to put to action. God bless you and thank you for your words of wisdom!

  15. Oh, you song-ed us again! Yay! Thank you so much Cheryl, for blessing me like you do! God bless you and yours today! love you!

  16. I loved that, Emerald .. .He is proud of us! You have me smiling tonight and excited to be His banner! God bless you!

  17. Me too!!! Thank you, Ann full of grace and song, for adding so much to this post, with your extra look at banner and this song! God bless you, as He keeps you as His banner, written with His love!

  18. Thankful with you for our faith, dear Terry! God bless you as you keep His truth and love written in your heart!

  19. You are a sparkly banner .. .pretty blue with some mauve edging! 🙂 Love you and God bless you with His truth always . .. and tons of love! love you bunches!

  20. I DO like to hang sheets outside . ..they smell extra nice that way. And the girls would play in them. I’m thinking you were / are a sheet with a purpose, a sweet smelling aroma to the Lord . .a place of shelter and kindness for all the children of God.
    God bless you as you start out the New Year as a banner!

  21. I love the banner of truth and love you are, dear faithfilled fisherlady! You bless us! God bless you and yours and fly you high this year!

  22. Dear sweet Wendy . ..you are so precious. And the way you handle your posts and blog just blesses me and clearly those who don’t believe too. So thankful that they can come and see gentleness and love waving there! God bless you bunches .. .wave on in Jesus!

  23. I kind of wanted a picture of a plane pulling one of those banner / signs behind it, Lady Dei . ..but didn’t pursue looking one up. 🙂 God bless you and yours as you proclaim His love and truth!

  24. That is a good thing to let people know about, for sure! God bless you, Mr. Ben, and all the ways He shows Himself through you!

  25. Thank you so much, Theresa!!! I love this verse from Corinthians and how well it goes with this! 🙂 There you go again, comforting us and pouring out His word for us! Love you and God bless you!

  26. God be praised 🙂

    What a wonderful thing to be covered by Him!

    Blessings
    ann

  27. Debbie, your ‘simple poem’ has painted for us a solemn picture of our responsibility.

    The first half states a fact. He does indeed fly us for all to see and we know that most people judge Christ by what they see in us.

    The second half states what people SHOULD see and that is our responsibility and an enormous challenge. DO they see in us His truth and love? Do they see the freedom we have in Him?

    May our lives constantly reflect the Light within and His love, mercy and grace to all we meet!

  28. Go on smiling Debbie. I’m sure he wants to see more of that from you.

  29. I really love what you saw in this, mentor Angela .. .a responsibility for us as His banners. Thank you! God bless you as you fly for Him and others see His truth and love in you! love and prayers too!

  30. Oooh, I love the sparklies, and the mauve edging! Almost looks like my new quilt…


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

