Real Strength

“O You his Strength, I will wait for You.”  Psalms 59:9

I tend to think I’m stronger than I really am.

Lord, please teach me how to rely on Your strength and not my own.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Wait and See

source - lookingfortigger.com

source – lookingfortigger.com

Our strength isn’t in the number
of pounds we can lift

nor in the amount of miles
we jog to stay fit

but in the power
of His Holy Spirit

and our joy as we trust
in all He’s doing yet.

 

(Happy New Year to you and yours! )

34 Comments

  1. Hallelujah! I’m so glad I don’t have to rely on my strength! His strength is made perfect in our weakness… Happy New Year and many blessings to you, my beloved sis in the Lord!

  2. Oh I love everything about this, Sis Deb! The Psalms verse is perfect for me too, since I think I’m Wonder Woman–and I just love that little guy in the picture!! He’s so cute!! Wonder if that’s what we look like to the Lord?! And I love verses which include the word “Wait”–I’m getting better at that, so I have great hope for continued growth in this new year. God bless you Big in 2013–love you so much, Sis Caddo

  3. Deb you are so clever the way you do your poems.. I was thinking about how God always gave strength to His people in the Bible.. Like Moses, David, Daniel, Joseph and heaps more… Our God is sovereign and He gives us strength even at our weakest point.. A great post..

  4. “Happy New Year”!! Dear friend,and thank God for the strength he will give us as we learn to wait,oh waiting is so hard.But the results are great! Wonderful poem as usual my friend.
    Love you much and I hope this year is all you hoped for 😀

  5. When I was much younger I had a lovely sister in Christ who would always tell me that I was stronger than I thought I was. I never could see it but now I see it. What is it with us that others can see what we don’t see in ourselves?

  6. “…Lord, please teach me how to rely on Your strength and not my own…”

    Now, this is an exciting, but yet, a dangerous prayer which God loves. He sees you going from victory to victory. You will have a different point of view, in that you will feel like you’re tied to railroad tracks with a train chugging down on you or hanging from a cliff by one hand with a lake full of alligators under you. You, of course, will survive each harrowing experience which will also prepare you for the next one. Until finally, you no longer see circumstances, but only victory.

    Happy New Year. Give Aub a double New Years noogie and a little duckie.

  7. Hi and Happy New Year!
    Thank you so much for your poems and your words of encouragement throughout the year of 2012. Thank you for your obedience to spread the word, your concern for Israel and your graciouness that I have experienced by reading your blog. May you continue to walk the journey the LORD has for you and may you prosperous and be in health even as your soul prospers.
    Love you.
    Shalom,
    Patricia

  8. That little critter is so sweet! I guess we must look at least that small compared to our Father… We are silly to think we can do anything of eternal value on our own. Thank you, Debbie, for the reminder that there is joy in trusting in the power of the Holy Spirit. I need this reminder as I put up a new calendar… may we trust throughout every moment of 2013.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  9. Strength found in our joy and His power… What a thought .Thank you Deb

  10. “and our joy as we trust
    in all He’s doing yet”.
    Working on this…not there yet.

  11. Thank you, Dearest Deb!!

    “Lord, please teach me how to rely on Your strength and not my own.”
    Amen

    So thankful that our strength is
    ” …in the power
    of His Holy Spirit
    and our joy as we trust
    in all He’s doing yet.”

    So grateful, so very grateful that He is my strength and shield. I often think I am making great strides in my own, but I always end up right back where I started. Would be good if I could remember to check in with Him first!

    Blessings
    ann

  12. One of my favorite verses is — I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me! And then pray and plead for help! 🙂 Great post, Deb!
    God Bless You!

  13. Happy New Year! What a great poem to start the year, reminding us who is the source of our strength. Peace, Linda

  14. I’m so glad too, Cheryl! I think I’m getting weaker everyday, in some way or another. God bless you and your New Year depending on Him! love you!

  15. I love you and how you keep getting better at the “Wait” word! Yay Jesus! You get me excited and hopeful for growth in the New Year too . ..more than just in the tummy section, that is! 🙂 Blessed that you liked the little guy . ..Aub had something to do with this picture pick. haha!
    God bless you now and forever, sweet Sis Caddo Delight, SG , PG, and Preacher too!

  16. God bless you, Darleen, and give you all the strength you need for each day and more! Praying for your new year to be full of God surprises!

  17. Oh, there’s my precious Pat! Learning to lean on Him and wait sounds like a great plan to me! God bless you and all the answers He brings your way in the days ahead! love and hugs and a happy dance! “)

  18. I’m so glad that she saw that Jesus strength in you, dear Desiray! And how you live it out now, glorifying Him and what He does. God bless you as He shows you how to walk through the days ahead.

  19. Smiling with you , Mr. Larry, as you describe what it will be like, from my perspective. I have to smile, right? At least I have a heads up about not looking at those circumstances, but just the victory He brings!
    Aub sighed but smiled at the double noogie. We think Uncle Larry needs to keep the duckie at his house. 🙂
    God bless you and Happy New Noogie Year!

  20. Thank YOU, Patricia , for such a wonderful comment and prayer for me! Wow . ..I am so blessed. God bless you too, dear friend, in the new year and all the years after that!

  21. God bless you, sweet Wendy, and all the ways He strengthens you in 2013! I love that ‘there is joy in trusting in the power of the Holy Spirit.” Yes there is! love and prayers!

  22. God bless you, Pastor J, as you trust in His strength this year!

  23. I don’t think any of us are there yet, Patricia! But .. .something to look forward to, knowing He is faithful and true! God bless you and keep you in the year ahead!

  24. I often think I’m doing pretty good too, dear Ann full of grace! Going to try to remember to check in with Him first right along with you! God bless you, sweet friend, as you head into a New Year, riding on His strength!

  25. I love that verse too!!! And I love His strength! God bless you, sweet Lady Dei, as you fly into the new year, on Holy Spirit power!

  26. All those resolutions can kind of throw me for a loop, thinking about what I need to do. 🙂 I so needed reminded it’s about Him and what He can do! God bless you, dear Linda, and yours this new year! love and prayers . .. happy to see you here . .. thanks for blessing!

  27. So true. God is our strength! Happy new year Debbie.

  28. Thank you Debbie thanks for the connection and fellowship. God brings people from all around the four corners of the world. AMEN

  29. I need to remember this every day, because every day I forget. Thank you so much for sharing this!

    Love,
    Theresa

  30. God bless you and be your strength, dear Emerald! Happy New Year to you too!

  31. It is so instinctual to rely on what we can do, wonderful woman of the word . .. at least to me it is! This picture from years ago keeps coming to mind for me. Our oldest wanted an eliptical (exercise machine) for Christmas. I found a relatively inexpensive one at Kmart and spotted the only one left in a box. It was a bit heavier than I expected! haha! But oh how I tried and tried to heft that baby on top of my shopping cart. Finally had to ask for help. haha! Love you lots! God bless you each and everyday with the strength you need!

  32. Heavy heart weight…so hard to lift! *Thank you* for hope.

  33. Amen! 🙂

  34. I think that is the heaviest kind of weight, dear Brook. Love you and seeking Him to lift it for you and yours. God bless you and bring you hope today!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

