Refuge

“Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me!
For my soul trusts in You;
And in the shadow of Your wings I will make my refuge,
Until these calamities have passed by.”  Psalms 57:1

David doesn’t ask God to make it all go away.

Lord, may every calamity we go through deepen our relationship with You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Held

source - godsplan-today.com

source – godsplan-today.com

In the depths
of my darkness

when it hurts
to even breathe

oh Lord
be merciful

and hold me close
please.

42 Comments

  1. “David doesn’t ask God to make it all go away.” How insightful! How many times do we ask God to make it go away, when He wants us to simply draw closer… That is so profound, and my prayer to is “When it hurts to even breathe, O Lord, be merciful and hold me close please.”

    Thanks for posting this. You have no idea how desperately I needed this word.

    Love,
    Cheryl

  2. Amen. God holding us close is the glue that keeps us in our Christian faith. I wonder where I’d have been, if he hadn’t held me close and pardoned me. God bless you for this.x

  3. This one’s got my name on it, Sis Deb–so beautiful and heartfelt. God bless you abundantly–much love, sis Caddo

  4. Our hearts’ cry…
    David doesn’t ask God to make it all go away….this is a lovely thing to learn. In it is great peace and quiet rest 🙂

  5. May every calamity we go through deepen our relationship with you. Nothing more needs to be said. Well done Deb.

  6. very nice Debbie

  7. “…In the depths
    of my darkness

    when it hurts
    to even breathe…”

    I’ve been in that place where my faith was so shaken that all I could do was cry out for His mercy. But even then, like David, I knew He loved me and had a covenant with me, one I couldn’t keep, but He could. I’m so thankful for His mercy and grace.

  8. Debbie, what a comforting and calming poem for us today. We will need to remember his wings of shelter as we pass into 2013. Every new year brings both blessings and storms…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  9. Deb, again you’ve given us your gift of lovely, grace-filled simplicity. But, in return, there must be prayer for you from us!
    In His joy,
    Maria

  10. Just wanted to make sure you knew I nominated you for “Blog of the Year 2012” Pop over to my blog for all the details!http://inlovewiththelord.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/blog-of-the-year-2012/

  11. Hey Deb, just letting you know that walklikeenoch.com has moved from wordpress.com to wordpress.org. Prob is that I lost all my subscribers and if you would like to keep subscribing you will have to visit and re-subscribe. Sorry about that. Bless you heaps! Glenn

  12. He doesn’t make it all go away…but He doesn’t go away either. We have a great God.

  13. When I don’t feel as close as I once did, it’s always clear which one of us stepped away.

  14. Ah, this is the way to bring in this new year – leaning. Hard. Remembering that we are held, no matter how rough the passage gets…

  15. Love you, Cheryl and God bless you as you pray and stay close to Him!

  16. God bless you too, Emerald! I love thinking about His holding us as being the glue that keeps us in our faith. 🙂 Wonderful insight . ..thank you!

  17. Love you, sweet Sis Caddo Delight and praying while you just stay close to Him, in the refuge of His love. God bless you muchly and hug you tight!

  18. Oh thank you, faithfilled fisherlady . ..there is peace and rest in just being close to Him during the storms. Love you and God bless you and yours!

  19. God bless you, Pastor Bill, as your relationship with Jesus just gets better and better!

  20. God bless you and Al, dear Terry! Praying for more smiles from Al for you!

  21. So thankful with you, Mr. Larry, for His mercy and grace . ..for His taking us in under His wing, always. God bless you and yours!

  22. So glad to see you again, Wendy . ..and praying with you to remember that shelter He offers in the year ahead. God bless you and yours , keeping you and covering you.
    p.s. we both had feathers in our posts today! 🙂

  23. Thank you for your prayers, Maria! God bless you as you look at the prophets and share what you find!

  24. Thank you , dear Martha, and God bless you in this coming year!

  25. Thanks so much for letting us know, Glenn! I’ll be over to re-subscribe soon! God bless you!

  26. Debbie, you’re welcome! Thank you and God bless you, too – hugely!

  27. Oh Patricia . .I really loved this, that “He doesn’t go away either.” Thank you and God bless you greatly!

  28. So true, dear Tammy . ..I always want to be closer to Him. A great new year’s prayer for us, like your post shared! God bless you and yours as He stays your perfect refuge.

  29. I loved your comment . .leaning hard .. amen! That is a great way to go into the new year! God bless you and hold you through it all.

  30. thanks Debbie, I sure do love having you for a friend

  31. Oh Deb, I should have read this post yesterday! So beautiful and so true and He is the only one who makes any sense when life doesn’t.
    Tried to find an email to write you privately, but just wanted to say a big thank you for all your encouragement this year. It has meant so much to me and even though I haven’t been that great at blogging or reading blogs in the latter half of the year, you are often in my thoughts and prayers. I pray that 2013 is blessed as you keep pressing into Him. I LOVE your blog and the way that you minister to and encourage us all – muchly blessings for the year ahead xx

  32. Sweet Aimee, you have been a big big blessing to me. So thankful that I found you among all the wonderful bloggers. Surely a God thing! You have such a special heart for people . ..so open and able to relate to what we are all going through. Thank you for the way YOU minister . .. Jesus really pours out of you. God bless you and your precious family. Praying this year is one of being stunned by His great love for you! love and prayers!

  33. Glenn . .I tried to comment and subscribe, but it kept saying my email address was incorrect. sorry . ..I’ll try again later!

  34. Thank you for sharing, Dearest Deb

    “Lord, may every calamity we go through deepen our relationship with You.”
    Praying alongside you…
    Calamities will come whether or not I want them to… I may as well ask Him to make them count for His glory.
    Blessings to you and yours. All the best for 2013!
    Thankful,
    ann

  35. I may as well too, dear Ann full of grace and song! So good to see you . .had been thinking of you! Wishing you and yours a blessed New Year! love and prayers!

  36. God promises us to help us through our troubles, not escape them.

    Thanks so much for your inspirations.

  37. So well put, Ted . ..thank you! God bless you and yours now and always!

  38. That is my prayer, too! Thank you for this beautiful post.

    Love,
    Theresa

  39. Thank you for being here, beautiful lady of His! God bless you and hold you close always! Love you!

  40. Debbie…you post such beautiful pictures. This close-up of the wing is luminous. *Thank you.*

  41. I’m so glad this wing one worked for you! 🙂 I would love to take my own photos and tried for a short bit, to find things that would work with the devotion . .but I’m no photographer and found it took less time to just find some images this way! God bless you, dear Brook, as He shelters you today!

  42. you’re welcome. chat soon


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

