Tender Cleansing Mercies

“Have mercy upon me, O God,
According to Your lovingkindness;
According to the multitude of Your
tender mercies . . .”  Psalms 51:1

“Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean
Wash me , and I shall
be whiter than snow.”  Psalms 51:7

I’ve tried to save stained clothing, soaking it in bleach too long and seeing it fall apart when lifted out.

Lord, thank You for Your mercy that desires to save us and cleanse us without destroying us.  And here is a simple poem . . .

His Mercy                                                                         images

Lord , I love Your mercies
that are new each day
and how You chose to cleanse us
instead of throwing us away.

(photo source – wisegeek.com)

 

27 Comments

  1. You chose to cleanse us
    instead of throwing us away.

    Glorious! Every time I think of or read Isaiah 3:18 I think similar, Debbie. God bless you and thank you.

  2. indeed, the lord could have chosen to destroy us but He chose to give us a way out thru jesus.

  3. The fact that He prefers to clean rather than throw away is a powerful thought. Thanks for the simple, but poignant lesson Deb. Blessings!

  4. O wow, how profound is the thought of thanksgiving that He saved and cleansed us without destroying us! Profound blessings and love to you Deb as You celebrate the birth of our Savior and our cleansing!

  5. “…and how You chose to cleanse us
    instead of throwing us away.”

    Psalm 51 was written by King David after Nathan the prophet had spoken to him about his sin with Bathsheba and the murdering of Bathsheba’s husband. Under the Law, murder and adultery were capital offenses.

    If anyone deserved to be thrown away, it would have been King David. Yet, God chose to cleanse him and have Jesus come through the lineage linked to his sin, Bathsheba.

    David’s testimony should give us all hope in our mistakes.

    Great simple poem today.

  6. Debbie, thanks for letting me know I’m not the only one who has bleached an item to death! 😉 Wow, how true that He is so gracious not to destroy us in the cleaning/sanctification process! Honestly, I don’t comprehend why He bothered with me – “Oh but I’m glad, so glad He did!”
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  7. I LOVE this one, Sis Deb!!! Yep, I know about the bleach thing–I’m usually wearing the blue shorts with white expanding “holes” from bleach spots. I’m more than thankful that His cleansing is far from harsh, more like “Ivory Snow”–and that He didn’t throw me away as “ruined”. I’m counting on Him adding a “brightener” today so I’ll be “all Sparkly” for His birthday party–He’ll do it, He is ABLE! Thanking and Praising His Name, JESUS! God bless you as you work to serve Him today–May His power flow through you, and may He replenish and refresh you for the Big Celebration too!! love, sis Caddo

  8. Amen!
    What can wash away my sin? Nothing but the blood of Jesus!
    What can make me whole again? Nothing but the blood of Jesus!
    Oh precious is the flow
    That makes me white as snow
    No other fount I know
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus!

  9. Thank you, Roger, and God bless you! You are no throw away! 🙂

  10. I’m so thankful for that, Z! God bless you and yours as you chose Him as your Way!

  11. He’s used a lot of detergents on me, Pastor Bill! 🙂 God bless you as He keeps making you new in Him!

  12. He’s much better at it than I am! 🙂 God bless you, Tom, as you celebrate Jesus too!

  13. I’m so thankful to have hope because of Jesus and His promises, His forgiveness and cleansing. Thank you, Mr. Larry, and God bless you and yours today, with much grace!

  14. Laughing here, Wendy! Remembering my oldest’s cute white soccer shirt that came out in pieces. argh! I’m so glad that He does what He does . . .God bless you and yours and wash you in love!

  15. You could do a commercial , for sparkly bright Jesus cleansed, sweet Sis Caddo Delight! Thank you for praying us through our day today! God bless you as you celebrate Jesus with joy and gladness! love you and am thinking of you!

  16. Here you come, with a song in your heart again! 🙂 Thank you for sharing Jesus here, Cheryl! Love and prayers and God bless you!

  17. “instead of throwing us away”
    Deb I am so thankful that is NOT His way! If anyone deserved to be ‘thrown away’ or just annihilated, it was me! But His love, mercy and grace persisted with me, giving me no rest until He broke through my stubborn resistance and changed me completely, from the inside.

    What an incredibly amazing God!

  18. That is such a great analogy! I am thinking of this hymn:

    What can wash away my sin?
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
    What can make me whole again?
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

    Refrain

    Oh! precious is the flow
    That makes me white as snow;
    No other fount I know,
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

    For my pardon, this I see,
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
    For my cleansing this my plea,
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

    Refrain

    Nothing can for sin atone,
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
    Naught of good that I have done,
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

    Refrain

    This is all my hope and peace,
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
    This is all my righteousness,
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

    Refrain

    Now by this I’ll overcome—
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus,
    Now by this I’ll reach my home—
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

    Refrain

    Glory! Glory! This I sing—
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus,
    All my praise for this I bring—
    Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

    Refrain

    Love,
    Theresa

  19. I love that phrase too. God bless you Debbie.

  20. He is an amazing incredible God, mentor Angela! When you share that if anyone deserved to be thrown away, it was you . ..it makes me cry, because it was me too. But He didn’t do that. He took the time to save me, redeem me, restore me and love me. God bless you, precious lady, and your time away!

  21. Thank you so so so much for bringing those lyrics here, wonderful woman of the Word! What a blessing. I just love that song and it often plays in my head. Love you so much, Theresa and praying you have a beautiful Christmas, filled with Jesus. God bless you!

  22. Just saying HI to my DELIGHTFUL Deb! Mwah! Mel

  23. Deb – you pack so much in 4 little lines – wonderful.

  24. Oh it’s my magnificent Mel! Thank you for stopping by, for the Hi and the mwah!! love and hugs and prayers for you lots of Christmas love!

  25. Thank you, Mr. Ben and God bless you, all bright and shiny!

  26. Love you SO much! If God took a tea-break … i think you could fill in sister! XO

  27. You bless me so much and make me smile tremendously! love you Mel!!!!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

