A Good Theme

“My heart is overflowing with a good theme;
I recite my composition concerning the King;
My tongue is the pen of a ready writer.”  Psalms 45:1

“I will make Your name to be remembered in
all generations;
Therefore the people shall praise
You forever and ever.”  Psalms 45:17

I often write things in my head that never make it onto paper.

Thank You, Lord, for overflowing our hearts with a good theme, that just has to be passed on. And here’s a simple poem . . .

An Overflow                                                                          images

As You overflow
my heart and life

please pour onto others
and the pages as I write

making Your name known
to all that know me

that You may be praised
now and eternally.

(photo credit – elizabethpolfus.com)

28 Comments

  1. Oh I’m seriously jumping up and down over this one, Sis Deb–right up the writers’ alleys! Yes, yes, yes–I want Him to overflow me, and pour out love and joy and encouragement about Who He is, and His wonderful works. Glory to GOD! May He bless your Thursday in special ways–much love, sis Caddo Delight

  2. Love that ‘my heart is overflowing with a good theme’ – have been teaching the girls Philippians 4:8 – to think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Life is certainly much more pleasant when we fill our minds with His goodness and allow that to be the overflow of our hearts.

    I love how we get to read the overflow of your heart Deb – you sure do pour His goodness out on to all of us with your poetry and encouragement. Love and blessings xx

  3. My life’s goal: making Your name known to all that know me. Don’t always succeed but sure want that.

  4. AMEN Deb. I thank the Lord for the example you are setting, as you rely on Him to enable you to do His work. Sadly many of us who minister in His name forget how badly we need Him to understand the truth, proclaim the truth and bear Godly fruit for His glory. Lord bless you. You are a blessing to many, including myself.

  5. This one is dear to my heart… I get this one completely! Debbie, now I am very curious about the ones that don’t make it to paper. “The poet prose that only He knows – an offering – a secret rose!” Yesterday I wrote one in my head while raking leaves and it is gone… only He knows.
    Blessings dear poet friend ~ Wendy

  6. Very good Debbie as one of my pastor would say “I want to be under the flow where the water runs..AMEN

  7. “…My tongue is the pen of a ready writer…”

    The New Living Translation translates the above scripture into – “for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.”

    That translation seems to fit here best. God bless you.

  8. A very good theme!

  9. please pour onto others
    and the pages as I write

    Out of your heart flows “rivers of living water” Debbie, John7:38. You’re a big time blessing to us. Thank you.

  10. It amazes me how quickly the stuff that flows through my head disintegrates if I don’t write it down! 🙂 You’re truly a Blessing, Deb!
    Merry Christmas & God Bless You!

  11. I think that He is already doing just what you want Him to . .overflowing you and pouring out of you! 🙂 Love you and God bless you and your heart and prayers and writing!

  12. As you share about teaching the girls Phil. 4:8, I see Him having me blog and do devotions each day .. reading all the wonderful Jesus filled writings of others . ..as His way to keep me filled and thinking of His goodness. The blogging and writing doesn’t leave much time for thinking about anything else. 🙂
    God bless you, sweet Aimee . ..love you and your life all themed by Jesus!

  13. I think you are succeeding more than you know! 🙂 God bless you, Pastor Bill, as He overflows you today!

  14. I need to remember that too, Pastor Rob . . .just how much I need Him. I got nothing to write and nothing good to say, without my Jesus. God bless you and yours and your ever ready pen for Him!

  15. Oh Wendy! You bless me! 🙂 Now I won’t feel so bad about all those ones that I forget after composing them in my head. They must be meant just for His eyes and ears. God bless you sweet friend, and all the ways He overflows you!

  16. I love that saying from your Pastor! 🙂 Thank you and God bless you, Desiray. May He keep that good theme running in your life!

  17. Wow, Mr. Larry, thank you! I love that translation too! God bless you as He supplies your tongue and pen as well!

  18. 🙂 God bless you and overflow you in wonderful ways, Judy! Thanks for being here!

  19. Thank you, Roger . . that was so encouraging to me! It’s easy to get overwhelmed, but His overflow is the answer to that each time. God bless you and how He pours out His truth through you.

  20. That happens to me too, Lady Dei! My age is telling. haha! So glad He is faithful to keep us filled and overflowing as our brains leak. God bless you! Wishing you a really beautiful Christmas too!

  21. Your hands anointed, with Living Water.

  22. Oh . .that was really a lovely prayer / comment! Thank you, Brook! As I looked up ‘overflowing’ images, this picture came up and I just couldn’t move away from it. 🙂 May His hands overflow with grace and mercy for you today!

  23. I loved this Deb! May we each write with a heart set on revealing Him!

  24. God bless you, Pastor J! We have such a huge resource to draw from, when we write for and with Jesus! 🙂

  25. The prayer in this poem comforts me, especially when I remember that it is a prayer according to His will. I am going to prayerfully read it again now!

    Love,
    Theresa

  26. I love how you’ve taught me and remind me about prayers according to His will, dear woman of the Word. 🙂 God bless you as He pours out of you today! lots of love!

  27. >> “As You overflow my heart and life”

    Jesus said He came to give us an ABUNDANT life. Now, why do we need an ABUNDANT life? Surely a filled life is sufficient?

    No. In God’s plan we need an abundant life – a life overflowing with His goodness, His light and love, His mercy and grace – overflowing to others: flowing to all we meet.

    What an amazing God whose desire is to reach out to others through the abunmdance of the life He gives us.

  28. Thank you for such a beautiful look at why He overflows us, mentor Angela! 🙂 No, a ‘filled life’ just wouldn’t do! He is so good to us! God bless you as He splashes out of your abundance onto others today! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

