Oh My Soul, Hope In God

“Why are you cast down, O my soul?
And why are you disquieted within me?
Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him
For the help of His countenance.”  Psalms 42:5

The outlook for America, and the world in general, sounds bleak.

Lord, forgive me for when I make reports bigger than You.  And here is a simple poem . . .

My Help And Praise                                              images

Oh my soul
why are you  cast down
at the reports
you read today?

Hope in God
and remember
He will always be
your help and praise.

(photo credit – todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com)

32 Comments

  1. Oh, good one, Sis Deb! I absolutely love that God is always my “help and praise”–yes, He is–Amen!! God bless you as you begin another week with Marvelous Monday–praying for all to go smoothly, with Jesus Joy. Love you lots, sis Caddo Delight

  2. Yes! It’s so easy to be discouraged by the doom and gloom of the media. But praise God He is unchangeable, and truly always available to help and deliver us from the darkness.
    God bless Debbie!

  3. I go through jags where I don’t even watch or listen to the news. I get tired of the negativity. But I know I can’t avoid the Good News and am so grateful for His Presence.

  4. Why are you cast down, O my soul? Sometimes we need to encourage ourselves, and sometimes, the encouragement comes through others… feeling sick, depressed and discouraged, and then I read these words…

    Hope in God
    and remember
    He will always be
    your help and praise.

    I will hope in God, for I will again praise Him for the help of His countenance! Thanks so much for your faithfulness to the Lord in posting this Deb. It hit home. 🙂

    Love,
    Cheryl

  5. “Lord, forgive me for when I make reports bigger than You.” Thank you Debbie for a much needed reminder. I have a tendency to do this from time to time. It is a very easy to fall into this way of sinful thinking. Lord bless you.

  6. I love the Psalms

  7. Our spirits do at times become cast down and we feel as though we are all alone, we think we are the only ones going through it. But when I read Isaiah 53 I see that Jesus was sorrow He was bruised and He felt everything we feel. And He made it which gives us hope knowing that no matter how bad things may look Jesus is much bigger than our circumstances. AMEN

  8. Debbie, both your words before the poem and in the poem are just what we need today! Thank you! “He owns the cattle on a thousand hills…”
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  9. Once you know that the ship will eventually go down, is in fact going down, it’s easier to be calm. For we know that we will be rescued. The tension comes in showing others the way to the lifeboat.

  10. “…Oh my soul
    why are you cast down
    at the reports
    you read today?…”

    Probably, the best thing to happen to me was that my salvation happened while reading “Power in Praise” by Merlin Carothers. Because of the influence of this book, my whole life has been built upon praise. Praise God!

    Good job. Take the rest of the day off and order pizza for supper…but tofu for Aub.

  11. It is a wonder that we become so discouraged, even frightened, by news reports. We tend to forget who is in control.

  12. I love how you count on Him and what He says Sis Caddo Delight! God bless you and your week, praising Him and His constant way of helping you! love and prayers!

  13. I don’t watch or listen to much news . . .but when I do, I need to take it to Him, for what He says about it! 🙂 God bless you , sweet Ali, and your trust in Him!

  14. When my oldest daughter still lived at home, or comes for a visit, she helps me know what is going on and explains things to me too! 🙂 So grateful with you for the Good News, that we can always go to and trust to be true! God bless you as He keeps you in His Presence!

  15. God bless you, dear Cheryl, and your hope and praise of God! love and prayers!

  16. I have a tendency to do it too, when I hear something or read something. I may need to know what’s being reported, but need that Jesus balance with it too! God bless you, Pastor Rob!

  17. Me too, Terry! So much in there! God bless you and your visits with Al!

  18. You are right, dear Desiray, Jesus is much bigger than our circumstances! God bless you as you look to Him and what He says today!

  19. I loved, ‘He owns the cattle on a thousand hills’! Thank you, Wendy . .you always bless us. God bless you!

  20. What a powerful and prophetic comment GP! Thank you and God bless you as you point to the Lifeboat!

  21. I just love how God works, that your salvation happened while reading “Power in Praise” and how your life was then built upon praise. 🙂
    oops, already made dinner. Darn. Giggling at tofu for Aub! Poor kid is still sick, got worse again with a fever, so not even able to eat. Which is a good thing, since tofu was on the Mr. Larry menu.
    God bless you as you read His report today!

  22. I know, Patricia . .and I can get that way too, so make sure I’m reading about Him more than anything else! God bless you as you trust in His control!

  23. “Absolutely Wonderful”!! God is our refuge a constant helper who will never leave us “Hallelujah”!!
    Love you Debbie 😀

  24. It’s all about perspective, isn’t it? Like you say, it is easy to make the news bigger than God in our limited minds… but He is BIG!

  25. Did I give you an ear worm? I just sang that song to myself and it felt good. Since I was upstairs no one heard me as they tend to tell me to stop… 😉

  26. Sing it out! 🙂

  27. Debbie, thanks for the reminder that there is NOTHING that should cause us to be ‘cast down’. Even in the middle of troubles, we can know His peace and His joy, because we KNOW that He is in charge and that He will use every situation we face to teach us and to ‘grow’ us.

    What an amazing God!

  28. So thankful for His constant help and presence! Thanking him for beautiful you too, precious Pat! God bless you! love and prayers!

  29. Yes .. .He is BIG with a capital B. 🙂 I think the bad news is all lowercased. God bless you dear Melody and how you keep looking to Him for your help!

  30. So true, mentor Angela . . may our cast down moments grow few and far between and we lean into Jesus more and more .. .until He is all we see and hear. God bless you and Myles . ..and all of your dear family!

  31. i love it Debbie ..indeed my hope is in God alone…thanks for the poem…God bless you ,,have a great day!

  32. Thank you for the blessings, flora! I love how He is your hope and your everything! God bless you and fill you with hope and joy!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

