In Our Prosperity

“Now in my prosperity I said,
‘I shall never be moved.’
LORD, by Your favor You have
made my mountain stand strong;
You hid Your face, and I was humbled.”  Psalms 30:6-7

I’m thinking of America as I read this.

My prayer, Lord, is “Hear, O LORD, and have mercy on me (us);
Lord be my (our) helper.”  Psalm 30:10   And here’s a simple poem . . .

Our Helper

source – gratitudeplanet.com

Prosperity is
a funny thing

causing us
to quickly forget

it is God’s hand
that prospers us

and helps us not
to make a god of it.

32 Comments

  1. Yay, I got first pew! This is another excellent word, Sis Deb. It is purely by His Hand, His favor, that we have anything at all–surely so, when we prosper–it is His Hand which prospers us. I wonder if there’s something in the DNA of some folks which makes them more materialistic than others, more prone to make money and things, a god–just curious Caddo here. God bless you big–much love from your sis Caddo Delight

  2. I’m thinking of me.

  3. One of my favorite verses from David. He recognized that even our frame of mind is in God’s hand.

  4. How quickly thankfulness for His blessings is replaced by a feeling of self-sufficiency. May the Lord help us. Lord bless Deb

  5. AMEN sister Debbie we need God to have mercy on America…in every way…God bless you on this blessed Monday

  6. So very true for all countries… My heart hurts when I realize I am not being faithful to his call on my life. I cannot bear it when I am unable to see his face. It is love that motivates him to give us the cold shoulder so that we turn back with an undivided heart… Bless Him!
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  7. “…Prosperity is
    a funny thing…”

    Throughout history, man has believed his prosperity reflected his level of godliness. Somehow, we overlook the truth of Ecclesiastes 2:26 which states that the sinner has been given the task of collecting and storing up wealth for the one who pleases God.

  8. you always write so well!

  9. Beautiful as always, and so very, very true. It is God alone who prospers us – not because He owes us, only because He loves us. Lord, help me never forget the One who prospers me. 🙂

  10. I love our Curious Sis Caddo Delight and the things you wonder! 🙂 God bless you as you thank Him for everything each day! love and prayers!

  11. 😀 Well . . .now I don’t know what to say. haha! God bless you, Pastor Bill, as wait upon Him today, for whatever comes!

  12. Oh I like that , Mr. Mike, that our frame of mind is in His hands too. 🙂 May He have His way with us! God bless you and yours!

  13. I think of this and can see why being in a more humble position can be a blessing too. God bless you as He helps you in all things today, Pastor Rob!

  14. God bless you too, dear Desiray! Praying for His mercy along with you!

  15. What a precious comment, Wendy . .. thank you! I love how you shared what it is like when He needs to humble us, so we can turn to Him again, undivided! God bless you as you keep your heart set on Him!

  16. Thank you so much for sharing that, Mr. Larry! The two have somehow been thrown together. There were some interesting images and sites, but I just didn’t want to go there. God bless you as He prospers you in just the way He has planned.

  17. God bless you, Terry, as He helps you each day!

  18. 🙂 Thankful for you and with you, for His loving care of us! God bless you and yours!

  19. Good stuff as usual! Yes I think we are on the brink of bad things in this country, and the world for that matter.

  20. Yes, people often forget that the full proverb is not “Money is the root of all evil,” but “THE LOVE OF money is the root of all evil.” When the World becomes more important that the Word, guess who made the choice, right? Very well said, Debbie.

    Sorry I’ve been out of touch… catching up on comments, not posting right now… love, Amy

  21. Prosperity looks so different to us than it does to our Maker, doesn’t it? How wise we need to be in managing our resources, and the desires behind what we do to gain those resources!

  22. Thanks for sharing how you feel that too. Not a good feeling, but so thankful that we have a good God to go to for help! God bless you as you trust in Him!

  23. Thanks for the insight and wisdom, Amy! No apologies needed . .it’s just impossible to keep all caught up with the blog stuff. New posts pop up every few seconds! Like the ‘whack a mole’ game. 🙂 God bless you as you stay close to Him! love and prayers!

  24. You teacher you, Melody! Thank you for your comments . .so much. Now I am thinking about the desires behind what we do to gain those resources. God bless you as you look to Him to provide for you and yours today!

  25. Amen! Greed is rampant in America — we need Jesus to return now!
    God Bless You, Deb!

  26. This post reminded me of God’s words to the Israelites in Deuteronomy 8 – that when they had eaten and were satisfied to praise God, to be careful not to forget that it is God who has provided “You may say to yourself, “My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.” But remember the Lord your God, for it is He who gives you the ability to produce wealth… ”
    Very wise words from our Father I think – giving thanks and praising Him keeps us focused on the giver and not the gift.
    Love and blessings dear Deb – like you praying for my own nation whose heart has become so hard.

  27. God bless you too, Lady Dei, as you trust in His help and Hand upon you!

  28. Love you, sweet Aimee, and how He speaks through you. To stay focused on the giver and not the gift . .. so important .. thank you!! God bless you as you pray always and He touches hearts!

  29. When we look at the financial state of many countries of the world, (not only America) it is clear that there has been too much reliance on man’s abilities and thoughts of God are being excluded by governments. Is it any wonder countries are going downhill?

    2 Chronicles 7:14 comes to mind once again. Our governments need to realise “it is God’s hand that prospers us” and turn back to God and lead our countries in His ways.

  30. “Thoughts of God are being excluded by governments” . ..yes, I can sure see that , mentor Angela. It breaks my heart too.
    God bless you as you turn to Him and trust Him each day, for everything!

  31. Thank you so much for this wise post.

    Love,
    Theresa

  32. God bless you and prosper you, wonderful woman of the Word, in all the ways He desires to! love you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

