Delighted In

“He also brought me out into a broad place;
He delivered me because He delighted in me.”Β  Psalm 18:19

God doesn’t deliver us because He feels He has to, or should, but because He wants to.

Lord, thank You for taking delight in us. May we delight in You as well! And here’s a simple poem . . .

Always

source – marciahinds.com

I delight in you
in the dead of night
during your darkest day
I’m loving you, always.

I delight in you
when everything’s alright
in the midst of praise
I’m loving you, always.

50 Comments

  1. Such delicious, good news that He delights in us during the darkness and the light… always. How wonderful (I needed this, thanks Debbie) πŸ™‚

  2. i like the opening line. God saves us because He wants to.

  3. thank u Debbie

  4. Deb,
    your heart is such a blessing!

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. So good Deb. He delights in us. I don’t think of that often enough!
    Made me think of this song…

  6. Hi,
    This morning I was meditating in Psalm 18. The entire Psalm is a testimony of God’s love and pleasure in the human beings that he created. I was thinking about the verse before verse 19 where David says he sent from above and drew me out of many waters. He saved me from my strong enemy for they were too strong for me. Then he goes on to your verse 19 and it occured to me that all that our LORD ever wants is to have fellowship with us. That is why we were created. He wants to have companionship and he delights in knowing that his creation trusts him in all things, he delights in being gracious to us and he delights in bringing us into large places where we are overwhelmed from his goodness to us.
    What a mighty God we serve.
    I enjoyed the poem tremendously.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  7. Oh, Debbie, this poem is so comforting! That verse is very special to me as I quote it in my eating disorder recovery blog. He rescued me 29 years ago from something I could not stop on my own. I am so grateful!!
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  8. Oh, thanks for this. It is one of my favorite quotes and the poem is lovely!

  9. When I stop to think that I do not deserve any of His blessings, it causes my heart to jump for joy out of amazement of His goodness. Thanks for a wonderful reminder to start my weekend. Praise Him for all He has done for each one of us. Lord bless you this weekend.

  10. Nothing like being the apple of God’s eyes…

  11. Oh Sis Deb! This one is SO Wonderful, definitely echoes deep in my joyful heart today–I think it needs a reblog, if I can just get over to CV!! love you so much! God bless you big–it’s Friday!!!

  12. It is inconceivable that we do NOT delight in Him.
    How could we do else? He has done SO MUCH for us and continues to do so. If we don’t delight in Him, we would be the most miserable of people.

    It is incredible that HE delights in US!
    There is NOTHING about us that could cause Him delight, but praise God, once we have become His blood-bought, adopted children, and we are clothed with the righteousness of Christ, He can delight in us because of who and what we are in Him. He delights in His new creation. He delights in me! How incredulous . . . but REAL!

    What a truly incredibly amazing God!

  13. Reblogged this on Caddo Veil and commented:
    Deb has a wonderful (as always!) poem for us today–I know her words will warm, and lift your heart!! And the verse from Psalm 18 is very meaningful, as well. May you be blessed by the assurance that God indeed delights in us–love, your Caddo

  14. I love that we have chosen the word delight here. It is such an uplifting and enjoyable word. The picture that you’ve selected is beautiful too.

  15. “…He delivered me because He delighted in me.” Psalm 18:19…”

    This is one of my favorite scriptures because when King David wrote this psalm he was struggling with many issues, some of which were sins. And yet, he knew that God would deliver him because He delighted in David. Absolutely amazing!

  16. Our heart hunger is to be delighted in, isn’t it? And our real life experience is so often destined to fall short of that mark…

  17. God bless you, dear Ali! You are definitely a delight! πŸ™‚

  18. It helps me keep a better perspective myself, over thinking about what I have to do .. .or do I just want to do things, because of Jesus. God bless you, Z!

  19. God bless you, Terry. Thinking about you and Al tonight and praying too, knowing He delights in you!

  20. Yours is too, Theresa! πŸ™‚ God bless you as He delights in you and yours today! love and prayers!

  21. I know . .I kind of forget this too! Thank you for the song!!! God bless you, delightful Pastor J! πŸ™‚

  22. What a beautiful comment, Patricia! Thank you for sharing about how all He wants is to have a relationship with us. God bless you and overwhelm you with His goodness and delight in you today!

  23. This just gets me crying, Wendy! Thank you for sharing how true this verse is and how He has shown His delight in you to you! You are such a blessing . .God bless you even more!

  24. Thank you, Martha, for being here and adding to the delight! God bless you as He loves on you today!

  25. Praising Him with you for all He does and is doing! God bless you and yours with an extra delightful weekend!

  26. I remember reading someone who said we are all God’s favorites! πŸ™‚ God bless you, delighted in and much loved daughter of her King!

  27. Joy echoing joy . ..sounds delightful to me! πŸ™‚ Love and hugs as God continuously shows you how delighted He is in you! God bless you muchly!

  28. Oh Yay Jesus and amen, mentor Angela! God bless you, who He has saved and delivered, because He loves you so and delights in you from head to toe! love and prayers for your weekend!

  29. Thank you, Sis Caddo, for the delightful reblog! πŸ™‚ love you and am thinking of you!

  30. God bless you, Tammy, and your family too! The word delight does send a smile and joy when we read it. I am imagining that is how He is feeling right now, thinking about you!

  31. I love that sureness of David, in the midst of his struggles. He was always sure of God. It reminds me of that revelation of God being head over heals in love with us. God bless you and reveal how deeply He delights in you, to you, today!

  32. I don’t think that you ever fall short of His delight, sweet Melody! God bless you and love on you lots tonight . . .and hug you for me!

  33. Excellent! I’m so glad God wants to deliver us! Praise God!
    God Bless You, Deb!

  34. But of course, ma cherie!!

  35. πŸ˜€

  36. God bless you too, Lady Dei, as He delivers and delights in you today!

  37. lovely poem Debbie! keep on writing!

  38. Thank you for the encouragement, flora! God bless you as He delights in you and you in Him!

  39. This is a lovely blog- thank you for sharing your meditations and your thoughtful poems. God bless, Danielle

  40. Thank you for coming by, Danielle! You and your blog are lovely too! God bless you!

  41. Before my ‘starting over’ 8 years ago, my relationship with God was more about me disciplining myself to not do the things I shouldn’t and to do the things I should. The pressure was on me to measure up to God’s requirements.

    I’ve discovered they weren’t His requirements at all; they were my enemy’s demands. It took a little while, but I eventually had the exact same thought. I felt as if I had been set in a wide open field. SO cool.

  42. OH that enemy and his demands! So thankful that we are delivered by a loving God who delights in us and sets us in broad places . .just because! πŸ™‚ God bless you and yours, Mike!

  43. Delight…An experience that is surprising and satisfying but can’t be explained nor predicted.
    Therefore, in God alone can we have this πŸ™‚
    Him in us and us in Him

  44. I love how you explained delight, wwb! ( that was short for worshipwarriorbride!) God bless you as He delights in you and you in Him! Thank you for being here and encouraging us in Christ!

  45. Our Great Defender…*thank you* for that reminder.

  46. Beautiful, delight always (sorry I am late, just trying to catch up on your blessings to us from God’s word) Blessings as you delight, always.

  47. You are so welcome, Brook, and it’s so nice to get to know you, Be over to your blog soon!!! God bless you as He defends you today!

  48. God bless you, Tom! Sometimes I want to put up a disclaimer about commenting. πŸ™‚ Please know that I never expect you to comment here and my feelings won’t be hurt! I promise! Some people don’t have as much time to spend reading and commenting .. .it’s just the way it is. I love getting to know people and learn from them in the comments section . .. but mostly I care about you and what is best for you in how you use the little time you have each day! So just know that , okay! πŸ™‚

  49. I do understand and thank you. You do bless me with your heartfelt messages but my time is limited. You are on my short list:) I do appreciate your encouragement and your presence and I come to your site because you feed my soul and not out of guilt. Blessings as you bless so many:)

  50. […] DelightedΒ In […]


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

