Flee As A Bird?

“In the LORD I put my trust;
How can you say to my soul,
‘Flee as a bird to your mountain’
?”  Psalm 11:1

Where else can I go, but to Jesus?

Lord, each time I’m tempted to flee, let me run straight to You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Say What?

source – bioclaire13.blogspot.com

How can you say to my soul
‘flee as a bird to your mountain’
when you know I can only
run to God?

How can you tell me to give up
as though I’ve been defeated
when my victory has been wrought
upon His cross?

(Aubrey picked out the bird image for us . ..
a Secretary bird from Africa. 🙂  )

45 Comments

  1. Love the bird image, Sis Deb–Aubie’s a good Personal Assistant!! So, it’s the enemy speaking these wrong suggestions, correct? God bless you and meet you with His full provision for your Thursday–love, sis Caddo

  2. Hallelujah! Where can I go but to the Lord? Beautiful!

  3. Aub has a good eye!
    Nowhere but there, that’s for sure!

  4. If I run anywhere else, I am lost.

  5. awesome, where else can i go? sooner or later everyone has to follow this. 🙂

  6. If I decide to flee as a bird when the Spirit is not flying with me, Debbie, it won’t be long before my wings will fall off … crash! Bless you.

  7. Wonderful, Deb! Where shall I run to in times of trouble except to my Lord? 🙂

  8. “…How can you tell me to give up
    as though I’ve been defeated
    when my victory has been wrought
    upon His cross?…”

    Actually, I’ve had many people, especially well meaning family members, that would be able to answer this question. They usually begin by saying, “Larry, you have to be practical, you know?”

    I myself always tell them I am being practical, but they are the ones who are impractical. This type of answer shortens the discussion.

    GREAT post! Kudos to Aub.

  9. Where else can I go, but to Jesus? Great question Deb…. Peter gives us the answer….

    John 6:68-69 (KJV)
    68) Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life.
    69) And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.

    Thanks for a wonderful reminder of our need of the Lord! God bless you Debbie.

  10. Who the Son sets free is free indeed…

  11. Hey deb, thanks for stopping by. Love your blog.
    Glenn

  12. This is definitely a soul soothing poem! Thank you…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  13. Isn’t she though? 🙂 Of course then we had to look up about that bird . ..and watch a video clip . .. and I almost forgot I was doing a blog post. haha! Sis, I was looking at it that way, as the enemy speaking those wrong suggestions. Hope that’s not wrong and that someone will correct me as I go along here, like I do.
    God bless you and thank you for praying for us! love and prayers for your thankful Thursday!

  14. You know where to go! 🙂 And, you help others get there too! God bless you, Cheryl!

  15. It is such a comfort and relief, to know we really only have one option, Jesus! 🙂 Oh that Aub! She had us watching this video of this amazing bird , as the guy filming was trying to show us how it kills and eats snakes. Someone had a fake snake on a string, yanking it to make it move, and that bird was not falling for it. So funny. Finally, it went over and gave the fake snake some good stomps. God bless you, gracious friend, as you have no problem running to Him. love you and prayers!

  16. You have that Holy Spirit GPS thing going on, Pastor Bill . .. just set on Him. 🙂 God bless you and yours!

  17. I love that Nirmal! What an encouragement that sooner or later, everyone will come running. 🙂 God bless you today!

  18. That just scares me, to even think of it, Roger! Don’t want to flee without Him or flee away from Him. God bless you as you run to your Rock and strong Tower!

  19. I think it’s just instinctual, when you are His and He is yours . ..as is your case , Ted! God bless you and yours as you move . .. not the same as fleeing!

  20. God bless you, Mr. Larry . ..and I know exactly what you are saying here. I’ve gotten some of that too. I’d go to God and ask Him, if it was time for me to give up on whatever it was I was getting told to. He always tells me, “Just keep trying”. 🙂 I love God!

  21. I was thinking of Peter’s answer when I wrote this, Pastor Rob! Thank you for sharing that here! 🙂 God bless you as you help us see each day, our need of Jesus.

  22. Amen, dear Desiray! God bless you!

  23. I’m so thankful it came off soothing to you, Wendy! Thank you for encouraging me and keeping me going at this. God bless you!

  24. You are so welcome! God bless you and yours!

  25. Victory! And tell Aubrey the bird is quite interesting — I don’t believe I’ve ever seen one! 🙂
    God Bless You!

  26. I about fell out of my seat when I saw your marvelous hawk for today! 🙂 I think that is why Aub picked this picture . .. it was really different looking!
    God bless you, Lady Dei , and the victory you have in Jesus!

  27. Oh I’m so relieved–this was one where I debated whether to comment and look stupid, or just skate on by till tomorrow. I remember Joyce Meyer saying that the enemy speaks through anyone–including family, or Christian brethren. He can whisper to us, but he really enjoys having a voice! Whack-Whack, take that!!

  28. I will remember that, Sis, that the enemy really enjoys having a voice. . .so I will be prepared. Thank you! love ya!

  29. Love the message in your simply poem . . . run to Jesus . . . where all is safe . . all is calm. Amen and Amen

  30. God bless you, Deborah, as you always know where to go! 🙂

  31. I have known, loved and served my loving Father God, though the Lord Jesus, for 54 of my 76 years. In that time He has ALWAYS been there for me and undertaken for me. He has NEVER abandoned me or left me to my own devices.

    How could I POSSIBLY doubt Him now? It is inconceivable! And yet it sometimes happens – only fleetingly – before HE lovingly reminds me that IN HIM I have victory. In Him is perfect peace, perfect safety and security.

    What an amazing triune God!

  32. Oh I love this Deb!

  33. I love when you share with us, Angela, because of that . .. that you have those 54 years of walking with Him. And never once has He abandoned you. Thank you for showing us how faithful and trustworthy is the One we count on. God bless you and keep you and yours.

  34. Thanks , Ben, for always encouraging and pointing us to Jesus . ..higher than any mountain we could think of to flee to! God bless you!

  35. beautiful Debbie! have a great day!

  36. You too, flora!! love and prayers!

  37. I like Aubrey’s picture, too. The wings are so fascinating. I was thinking about an old gospel song we used to hear and sing in certain churches. Here it Is:

    “Living below in this old sinful world
    Hardly a comfort can afford
    Striving alone to face temptations call
    Where could I go to the Lord

    Where could I go where could I go
    Seeking a refuge for my soul
    Needing a friend to help me in the end
    Where could I go to the Lord

    Love,
    Theresa

  38. Oh wonderful woman of the Word, this is beautiful! Thank you for bringing it here and blessing us! God bless YOU as you go to Him today. love you!

  39. No need to run anywhere else when we can run into the arms of Jesus! Blessings to you!
    http://www.glendamills.com

  40. You are so right, Glenda! 🙂 God bless you as He holds you close today!

  41. You too, Debbie!

  42. Jesus…yes….the only completely reliable One. *Thank you* for the encouragement, and for stopping by and “liking” my blog:)

  43. We need reliable! 🙂 God bless you, dear Brook , as you count on Him for everything today!

  44. Beautiful poem sister. Thanks for stopping by and liking my blog. God bless you and have a blessed weekend.

  45. Thank you so much, Isabel, for being here and being you! 🙂 God bless you too!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

