God Is. . . Angry

“God is a just judge,
And God is angry with the wicked every day.”  Psalm 7:11

God is love, merciful, just . . . and angry every day.

Lord, thank You for reminding me that You see all that is going on, and not all of it makes you very happy. And here’s a simple poem . . .

So I Intercede

rob-mcalpine-intercession
source – salvationarmyconcordca.org

Lord, I don’t know how
You can look upon the earth

but that You are forgiving
and full of mercy

that You see with love
and eyes of grace each day

still much of this
must anger You

so I intercede
and pray.

37 Comments

  1. I often wonder myself how God looks at us with love instead of anger and disgust

  2. He’s a really really good God. And slow to anger! But, I don’t want to push it. 🙂 love you, Terry, and God bless you and give you strength and peace tonight!

  3. Sometimes angry and I think sometimes brokenhearted?

  4. Deb… I also intercede… and pray
    great simple poem… great reminder that even though God’s grace is sufficient… we truly should be doers and not just hearers of the word…
    To honour and bring joy to our Saviour such a worthy aim!

  5. Hi Sis Deb! It’s hard for me to imagine God angry–I know the Old Testament is full of His anger, and I’ve been reading Jeremiah (a LONG book), in which He declares all the destruction He’s doing because of the hardness of heart. But then, frequently He says that He will restore the very peoples/lands/fortunes that He has decimated. So, it seems He’s not only slow to anger, but forgives quickly. And with me personally, I can’t recall a time He was actually angry–for which I can be relieved, and eternally grateful! God bless you as you lean into Him for comfort and wisdom–sending up extra prayers, and love for you and my angel niece. your Caddo sis forever

  6. Thank you, sweet gracious friend, for adding that ‘brokenhearted’. I just knew you could help me with this! God bless you as you bless others and make His heart glad! love you!

  7. Yes, to loving His sufficient grace and His life giving forgiveness! I think I keep needing reminded that there are many many layers and characteristics of God, even though I just want to think of Him as Love. God bless you , faith filled fisher lady, as you do indeed bring Him joy and honor! love you and am praying for you and yours tonight!

  8. Oh boy, thanks for the heads up about Jeremiah, sis! I love this, that He is slow to anger and quick to forgive! I want to be that way too. I can’t imagine a time He was angry at you either. Maybe because you are so quick to ask for forgiveness and run to Him about everything. How can He be angry about that? 🙂 Love you and thank you soooo much for your prayers today and tonight. He is answering them and delights in you! God bless you as you head into another round this Saturday!

  9. “God is a just judge, And God is angry with the wicked every day.”
    – Psalm 7:11

    BUT

    “For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”
    – Hebrews 8:12

    “Then my wrath against you will subside and my jealous anger will turn away from you; I will be calm and no longer angry”
    – Ezekiel 16:42

    therefore

    God is no longer angry with the wicked every day, for God has forgiven their wickedness through the ETERNAL blood of Jesus.

    God is just and righteous precisely to Punish all wickedness in man through the One Man Jesus.

    the good news or the gospel is “God is no longer angry with you”
    in the new covenant God has forgiven and punish all man’s sin.

    so God is no longer angry, else God is not just when He judges our sins twice. no way! He punish them all, once and for all.

    “For Christ died for sins ONCE FOR ALL, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God. He was put to death in the body but made alive by the Spirit,”
    – 1 Peter 3:18

    “so Christ was sacrificed ONCE to take away the sins of many people; and he will appear a second time, not to bear sin, but to bring salvation to those who are waiting for him.”
    – Hebrews 9:28

    “The death he died, he died to sin ONCE FOR ALL; but the life he lives, he lives to God.”
    – Romans 6:10

    amen.

  10. i think Gos can nevr be angry with anyone.if he gets angry, He can not be God.

  11. “Much more then, being now justified by his blood, we shall be saved from wrath through him.” Romans 5:26. Thank God for Jesus!

  12. Oops! It’s Romans 5:9, sorry!

  13. Praise God for your insight and for the beautiful poem. God is indeed angered by man’s rebellion against Him, which gives me another reason to be thankful to Him… thankful that He has washed me with the blood of Jesus and forgiven my sins… thankful that He is not only just, but merciful and full of grace… thankful for all of my brothers and sisters in the Lord that He has saved by grace… thankful for His love… thankful, thankful, thankful!

    Blessings!
    Cheryl

  14. If we had someone who spit in our face, on purpose chose to rebel against our teachings and desires, did all they could to harm and mistreat us, and then kill our son that we sent to deliver them…. wouldn’t we be angry, too?

    we do not have to feel as if we have to “explain away” God’s anger. He is angry with sin everyday and has eternal punsihment awaiting all who have sinned. We all deserve His hottest anger placed upon us as sinful mankind.

    I am so thankful He has given us a way to escape that anger…. through the work of His Son Jesus on the cross. That is what true grace is…. giving us his best while we are yet in a state of rebellion, enmity and under His anger.

    Lord bless Deb. Thanks for a great reminder of the effects of our sin and need of salvation.

  15. Angry God or not, it still falls on me to pray and intercede for the lost every day. Well said Deb.

  16. I love that you added intercession and prayer to this. I can’t remember what author said it (maybe Phillip Yancey) that God needs our prayers.

  17. Powerful and sobering words Deb! We must intercede for in our intercession we release the mercy of God on a world standing in the path of his anger. What a picture!

  18. “…God is love, merciful, just . . . and angry every day…”

    On the one hand, God is 100% love and on the other hand, He is 100% angry at sin. Both His love and anger should create in us an awesome fear of the Lord and a desire for holiness.

    And as for me? God has been angry at me and caused me to think He might kill me and take me home to heaven early. I still remember the moment and how my lips moved at warp speed asking His forgiveness. I would just as soon not have another experience like that ever again.

  19. Thank you, saved by grace, for all the scripture and explaining of why God is not angry. God bless you and your witness for Him!

  20. God bless you, Nirmal, and your heart and work for Him! I appreciate you and thank you for taking the time to comment here!

  21. So thankful with you, Jack, for Jesus! God bless you!

  22. No worries! 🙂 God bless you and thank you for your input!

  23. Oh Cheryl . ..thank you!!! I loved your comment and all the things you are thankful for, because of Jesus , because of what He has done. God bless you and your humble heart that exalts Him! 🙂

  24. You’ve expressed so well what many of his children wonder every time they listen to the news… I often wonder how He can bear the heartache?

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  25. Pastor Rob, thank you, for how you showed that we don’t need to feel like we have to explain away His anger. We can all be thankful for His mercy and grace instead. God bless you as you teach us from His Word!

  26. Just loved this, Pastor Bill . ..that it still falls on us to pray and intercede every day. I want to count that a privilege. God bless you and yours and your message tomorrow!

  27. Beautiful, Tammy, about God needing our prayers. I think I’ve heard that too! God bless you as you pray and love today!

  28. You have grabbed me with your comment, Pastor J . ..that as we intercede we release the mercy of God. May that move us all to pray more and more. God bless you and thank you so much for being here and helping!

  29. Mr. Larry, thank you always for your insight and comments, and the way you share from your own experiences. I was feeling kind of bad about bringing up the whole “God is angry” thing. As I prayed, I thought He shared with me about how His anger is not like ours, so when we don’t want to think about Him being angry, we are thinking about our own anger and what that looks like. His is different. That 100% love, mercy, grace and 100% angry at sin kind. Something only He can do.
    God bless you as you intercede each day! Thank you for always helping me!

  30. Wendy . . you are always such a breathe of grace and beauty here! Thank you and God bless you as you pray and feel His heart ache too! love you!

  31. He was angry because I wanted Him to do something for me and I said, “If You’re such a big God, why don’t You do this now?” I learned really quick that acting like a spoiled child is not a good way to act around God. The holiness of God came in the room and I thought I was going to die. I survived and have learned not to do that again.

    And like you said, God’s anger is different than ours. It is holy.

  32. These types of passages that mention God’s anger with the wicked make me so uneasy, because I sin and fall short of the glory of God every day in my thoughts, my words, and my deeds. Then I remember some things that comfort me. I know this isn’t my blog, but i would like to share them.

    1.) I’m not alone. This is something that everyone does, both Christians and non Christians alike:

    ” Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.” Psalm 39:5

    2.)The Lord hears, forgives, and answers all who call on Him:

    “Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the Lord, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.”
    Isaiah 55: 7

    “3 If thou, Lord, shouldest mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand?4 But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou mayest be feared.” Psalm 130:3-4

    ” For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.” Romans10:13

    3.) I know that Isaiah 55:7 mentions a wicked man or person, and also makes a distinction of some kind between merely being unrighteous, and wicked, but He still offers wicked people abundant pardon. I think a lot of verses in the Bible that mention the wicked are really referring to the idea expressed in this verse:

    “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” Ephesians 6:12

    I now I said an awful lot here,but gives me hope.

    I like your poem. I am so thankful for you and so many others who faithfully intercede, just like Abraham did.

    Love,
    Theresa

  33. Wonderful woman of the Word, I love you being here and you can say as much as you want. 🙂 I love your honesty too, because I know that I also , am uncomfortable with God’s anger. The verses you included and the way they fell together, really comforted me and encouraged me. Thank you soooo much! You are a blessing. love you and God bless you!

  34. His anger is so different from ours. His is always righteous ours is often hideous. His is always in love ours too often in hate…

  35. Oh Patricia . .thank you for helping with this! I was thinking that too, that my anger is hideous. His could never be that. God bless you and your honest heart!

  36. If I was God, I would be angry. If I was God and saw how people ignore, dishonour, disobey, ridicule and reject me, despite the fact that I poured out my love, mercy and grace on them, giving my beloved Son to the horror of becoming sin for them and paying the penalty of sin by experiencing my wrath – I would be angry!
    Yes, God has every right to be angry, but He still loves them with a pure love.

    If I was God, I would be angry as I saw my blood-bought, adopted children ignoring Me and going their own way, not spending time with Me or reading and meditating on My Word, or trying to reach others with My love.
    Yes,God has every right to be angry, but more so, to be grieved, and yet He still pours out His love on them and draws them back to Himself where they will find His peace and all they need.

    Thank you Deb, for the reminder that my sin grieves my God; that He has every right to be angry, and yet He still loves me.

    What a truly, incredibly, amazing God!

  37. Love you, Mentor Angela, and how you show us that even though there is so much for Him to be angry about, yet still He loves us. God bless you as you praise your amazing God today, and live to serve Him.


Comments are closed.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

