Have Mercy On Me

“Lord, do not rebuke me in Your anger
Nor chasten me in Your hot displeasure.
Have mercy on me, O LORD, for I am weak . . .”  Psalm 6:1-2

Sometimes when I’m weak, I can sin.

Lord, we praise You for the strength of Your mercy and forgiveness.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

His Strong Forgiveness

source – soundsoftoday.blogspot.com

Oh Father, You have mercy
You have mercy on me

though I am weak and deserve judgement
You withhold judgement from me

though Your anger is mighty
and can annihilate so easily

there is strengthen in Your forgiveness
to transform and grow me.

29 Comments

  1. Hi Debbie, I love this illustration of the restraint God shows when it comes to our sin. So much power in that word ‘withhold’. And not only that, He offers us His forgiveness to strengthen, transform and grow, as you say. Wonderful.

  2. Psalm 6 is a difficult one for me. I appreciate the humble, meek spirit expressed in this poem, and the way you describe His forgiveness.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. When it comes to mercy Jesus showed us what mercy really looks like and what it is..I wish and pray that we would learn to show mercy to others the way Jesus shows it to us…

    Great poem my sister, God bless you and have a bless day today

  4. Your last line is so soothing! Being in Christ – I’d rather fall under His judgment than anyone else’s. I am so glad He is the one who declares the final judgment… He has a Father heart and not a dictator one.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  5. “…there is strength in Your forgiveness
    to transform and grow me…”

    I believe the fastest way to grow in Christ is to forgive others, which is the whole foundation of our relationship with God. If we can learn to do this as easy as God does it for us, we will do mighty things in His name.

    Have a great day…maybe even eat a yogurt or two, okay?

  6. Oh this is a good one, Sis Deb–I love that there is strength in His forgiveness, that is very empowering for me today! God bless you with a Fab Friday–love, sis Caddo Delight

  7. very nice Debbie

  8. Thank you, Ali, for talking about that word ‘withhold’. I wondered about using it. God bless you as He shows you mercy and you in turn , show mercy to others!

  9. Oh Theresa . .thank you for saying that Ps, 6 is a difficult one for you. I’m finding these Psalms harder than I thought they would be! God must have known I’d need this, eh? God bless you as He covers you today, in mercy and in love. love you!

  10. Thank you for sharing with us about mercy, Desiray! And for praying for it. It’s so much stronger than we realize. God bless you too, and yours, as you show His mercy to all around you!

  11. I love that, Wendy . .to rather fall under His judgment than anyone else’s. And that He has a Father heart. Thank you! You really ministered to me today! God bless you as He loves having mercy on you today!

  12. I love and am impacted by your insight , Mr. Larry, that the fastest way to grow in Christ is to forgive others .. .the faster the better. 🙂 Thank you!! And God bless you as you do just that today!!
    p.s. yay . .I even have one yogurt left!

  13. Love you, Sis Caddo Delight, and how He shows Himself strong for you each day, in so many ways. God bless you and keep you this fab Friday!

  14. God bless you and love on you and Al today, Terry!

  15. Amen! Love His grace which He so generously bestows upon all who asks! Great post, Deb.
    God Bless You!

  16. I love His grace too, Lady Dei, and can’t live without it! God bless you and yours this weekend! Is snake season about ended??

  17. Beautiful, Dearest Deb.
    “Lord, we praise You for the strength of Your mercy and forgiveness”
    Amen.
    Thank you for sharing.
    blessings
    ann

  18. God bless you, Ann full of grace and song, as He pours mercy upon you today! Asking for that merciful love to strengthen you in all the days ahead! love and prayers!

  19. So true–there is strength in His forgiveness. Without it I would be a mucky puddle of goo.

  20. You made me smile so big tonight, Patricia! And I needed to smile! God bless you as He keeps the goo away!

  21. We all experience times of weakness and sin…. thankyou for a great reminder of our need for vigilance and His great grace.

  22. Thank you, Pastor Rob, for your comments and encouragement here! God bless you as you stay always thankful before Him!

  23. so true His mercy is abounding , we are really blessed to have God like our God!,,thanks for sharing Debbie:)

  24. Thank you for being here and blessing us with your praise of Him! love and prayers and blessings, sweet one!

  25. […] Have Mercy On Me (iftodaywehear.wordpress.com) […]

  26. Oh how He loves us! How He showers us with His love, mercy, grace and forgiveness . . . and uses our weaknesses to teach us to depend on Him as He ‘grows’ us.

    What an amazing God!

  27. Thank you, Pastor B! 🙂 God bless you!

  28. I love that part, Angela, where He uses our weaknesses to teach us to depend on Him. 🙂 What a good God! God bless you as He continues to grow and love on you today. You and hubby are in my prayers.

  29. […] Have Mercy On Me (iftodaywehear.wordpress.com) […]


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

