Will You Trust Him?

source – ruralheritage.com
Highland Oxen

 

“Will the wild ox be willing to serve you?
Will you trust him because his strength is great?
Or will you leave your labor to him?
Will you trust him to bring home your grain,
And gather it to your threshing floor?”  Job 39:9,11-12

Even tame oxen are a force to be reckoned with.

Lord, please forgive us for trusting in any other form of power or strength than You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Trusting True

We admire strength and power
and desire it too
whatever form it comes in
seems will do

but only You ascribe true power
only when we’re weak are we strong
so may all our trust be
in the Lord of the Song.

24 Comments

  1. So true Debbie. It is time that leaders all over the world learn this. Shalom, Patricia

  2. Oh, I am SO Lovin’ this one, Sis Deb! Beautifully written prayer-poem–“Lord of the Song”, mmm–wonderful! God bless you with a Fab-Faith Friday–party on with Jesus! love, sis Caddo Delight

  3. exact words and so true, thank you for writing this

  4. Thank you, Patricia, for making that connection to today’s leaders and governments! God bless you as you trust Him more and more!

  5. I wasn’t sure about that line . . .:) I think Steven Curtis Chapman has a song called Lord of the Dance. Love you and God bless your fabulous Faith Friday! you are on a roll!

  6. God bless you, Terry, as you trust Him today. love and prayers!

  7. it is so awesome to realize that all forms of authority and power originate with the Lord and He is in control of them all! How marvelous is our Lord! Thanks for a great reminder… and good way to start the weekend! Lord bless you.

  8. Lord, please forgive us for trusting in any other form of power or strength than You.

    Amen.

    It is so tempting to look to some earthly power to save us when things look bad.

    I like the picture. It reminds me of Jesus’ words about taking His yoke upon us. I recently learned that an ox in training was usually paired with a well-trained, obedient animal which moved alongside the ignorant one, taking up the slack until the inexperienced one could respond appropriately to the driver’s commands and learn to pull as a team member.
    The way the owner could tell when the younger was properly trained is when he could only see one set of legs moving when he viewed the laboring animals from the side.-

    I thought it was a lovely picture of Christ and His yoke.

  9. “…the Lord of the Song…”

    Very clever. I love the song, “Lord of the Dance,” especially the closing lines:

    “They buried my body and thought I’d gone
    But I am the dance and I still go on.”

    Great thoughts in a few words as usual.

  10. God bless you as you look to Him, Pastor Rob, and help us to as well!

  11. Oh Heather . ..that was really beautiful! Thank you for sharing about the oxen training. It added another dimension as I think about His power and strength, coming in line with His will and moving as one with Him. 🙂
    God bless you and yours as you trust Him always! Love for your weekend!

  12. It is so easy to trust in someone or something other than the One we should, when our very first response should be to the One who has proven to be vitally interested in everything that happens to us; who has shown us His love and His desire to help; who has always been faithful to His promise. How foolish we are!

    Our help is in the Lord who made the heavens and the earth – no one else – nothing else. ONLY the Lord! ‘Lord, keep me looking only to You’

    What an amazing God!

  13. God bless you, Mr. Larry, and the Power you trust and believe in. 🙂 Thought I’d post that song for you . . I love it too!

  14. You inspire me and make my heart pound for Him, with your comments, mentor Angela! Thank you so much, for your faith and trust that makes ours stronger. God bless you as you just keep looking to Jesus!

  15. Well, I had never heard that song by Stephen Curtis Chapman, but I know this totally different version:

  16. Oh, this version was really beautiful! Thank you for sharing because I had never heard of it! 🙂

  17. Debbie, you are really opening my eyes to the book of Job. Thinking I knew it, I remembered it as a short lament but it is so much more. Thank you.

  18. Well, I forgot all that was in there too, Tammy! haha! Guess it was time to read it again! God bless you and yours!

  19. God bless you, Dearest Deb

    “Lord, please forgive us for trusting in any other form of power or strength than You.”
    Amen and amen!

    “Be Magnified, O Lord!”

  20. Not only relying on God’s strength but rejoicing in God’s strength! Enjoyed the post, Deb!
    God Bless You!

  21. I was thinking about you and praying that your week was covered with His fingerprints and faithfulness! Thank you for such a great song to go with this post! God bless you, dear Ann full of grace and song, and show you favor!

  22. Oh, you just kicked it up a notch, Lady Dei! Love that, rejoicing in God’s strength! God bless you and yours , upheld and greatly beloved!

  23. This is a great post. It reminds me of these words from the hymn “Only Trust Him”:

    “My hope is built on nothing less
    Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
    I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
    But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.”

    Love,
    Theresa

  24. I love that hymn . ..so beautiful and good to go with this! You have so much of Him in you, it just pours out in scripture and psalms and and songs. God bless you Theresa! love and hugs!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

