The Mere Edges

“Indeed these are the mere edges of His ways,
And how small a whisper we hear of Him!”  Job 26:14

The infinite immenseness of God, as  Job describes, makes even a whisper of Him often more than we can bear.

Lord, please ready us to receive deeper and deeper revelations of You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Your Slightest Touch

Source – brilliancemastery.com

Your whisper fills the valleys
overflows the mountains
and pours out on the plains.

At Your glorious glance
high places crumble, seas dry
and clouds roll back their rain.

Your slightest touch levels me
breaks open my heart and leaves my soul
alive to all You proclaim.

28 Comments

  1. brilliant and so is the photograph in your post. 🙂 Enjoyed it a lot. God bless you.

  2. >> “The infinite immenseness of God . . . makes even a whisper of Him often more than we can bear”

    If we lived ten lifetimes as His beloved child, we still wouldn’t know or understand more than a ‘whisper’ of Him. I so look forward to being “like Him” as 1 John 3:2 says but even then we will not be able to fully comprehend His greatness.

    At times, when He reveals Himself to us in a new way, the REALITY of His presence and His touch is almost more than we can bear.

    Deb, you’ve really captured the essence of those words, as God revealed His truth to you. Thank you for sharing and allowing us to worship our amazing God.

  3. Oh sweet friend, this is truly beautiful!
    I was so afraid of breaking for so very long, thinking I needed to protect myself by staying all in one piece.
    And sometimes still, I suppose, but mostly I long to be so free in His presence that I’m ‘open to all He proclaims’.
    much love and many prayers,
    Debbie

  4. Oh Deb. this was so beautiful, so so beautiful!

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. God bless you, Dearest Deb!!!

    The thought that high places crumble at His glance just takes my breath away!

    “Your slightest touch levels me
    breaks open my heart and leaves my soul
    alive to all You proclaim”
    When I ask for more of Him, I have no idea just how much of a difference one touch from Him can make, but I am willing to take my chances 🙂

    This is such a beautiful piece. You make me want to break out in song!

    It feels so good to snuggle up under His wings … my heart is open to Him. I will proclaim His goodness today!

    Blessings
    ann

  6. i have to ask,,,,,,have always wanted to but have the guts to do so today, do you write these from your own mind? just curious, they are always so good!!!

  7. I just had to comment again. I am experiencing “Fullness of joy” this morning and the words the Lord gave you were a large part of that. I was thinking about this passage:

    11 And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord. And, behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake:

    12 And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.

    13 And it was so, when Elijah heard it, that he wrapped his face in his mantle, and went out, and stood in the entering in of the cave. And, behold, there came a voice unto him, and said, What doest thou here, Elijah?” 1Kings 19:11-13.

    When did Elijah cover his face? When the wind rent the mountains? No. During the earthquake? No. During the fire? No. When? When he heard the still small voice… at the Lord’s “slightest touch”. 🙂

    “Your whisper fills the valleys
    overflows the mountains
    and pours out on the plains.”

    God Bless you, Deb!

    Love,
    Theresa

  8. Your poem needs the New York Symphony conducted by Leonard Bernstein at Carnegie Hall, playing background music as you stand on the stage wearing a beautiful white gown, reading it to us over and over again. It is awesome!

  9. WOW, Sis Deb!! I’m speechless (and you know that only happens every few years)–this is such a beautiful and anointed poem. I could feel it all the way down to my “heart’s toes”. Amazing, how His Spirit sweeps through us! God bless you abundantly on this Wow-Worshipful Wednesday–much love, your forever sis Caddo Delight

  10. Lord, please ready us to receive deeper and deeper revelations of You. And here’s a simple poem . . .Amen Deb! We so need to prepare our hearts to know our God better in our days!

  11. God bless you too, John! I love photography and am so thankful for people that have that calling and gift!

  12. It is good to worship Him! Always! Thank you, Mentor Angela, for how you share with us those times He reveals Himself to you. You have such a wonderful way of seeing Him and helping us relate to His whispers . . .to not miss out on the slightest touch from Him! God bless you and your heart for Jesus!

  13. You are truly beautiful, gracious one. . .and I loved what you shared about being afraid to break, thinking we need to stay all in one piece. I think I do that too, but am longing with you to be open more and more to all of Him.
    God bless you! love and prayers!

  14. Love you, wonderful woman of the Word! God bless you and thank you for understanding like you do!

  15. Shouting to the Lord with you, dear Ann full of grace and song, as He touches and changes your life each day, in wonderful ways! 🙂
    God bless you and thank you for the perfect song to go with this! love and prayers!

  16. God bless you, dear Terry . . you just ask anything you want to here! I believe that God helps me write these little poems. I read a chapter and sit with Him and wait until He shows me something from the scriptures. Some come out better than others, but I couldn’t do any of it without Him! 🙂 love and prayers!

  17. Wow , Theresa! This sure made me sit up . . .and cry some too. I love you having fullness of joy!!! Thank you, Jesus, for pouring out your anointing and love on our Theresa today! 🙂
    love you and am thinking of you!

  18. Your comment blessed me and humbled me too, Mr. Larry. God bless you and pour out upon you today!

  19. I am laughing at you being speechless! haha! Not that it couldn’t happen, just how you joke about it! 🙂 Love you, Sis Caddo, and God bless you all the way down to your heart’s toes and back again! Happy, happy birthday to you too!!!

  20. I feel that so much, Pastor J . ..that these are readying days . ..training days. God bless you and your heart that is always ready for Him!

  21. you do a wonderful job my friend…………..

  22. His greatness is beyond our comprehension and His Words are beyond our understanding…. apart from His gracious intervention. What a blessing it is to know that He is opening our eyes and minds to that which we cannot naturally understand! Great posting Deb.

  23. What power Deb! Wonderful poem and yes thanks for being His touch as I lay: “Your slightest touch levels me
    breaks open my heart and leaves my soul
    alive to all You proclaim.” That is such an awe inspiring and inspiring statement. Simply beautiful!! Thank you!

  24. Hi,
    This is really a beautiful poem because it speaks of an intimate relationship with God. It is only those who dare to spend time with him, to seek him first in all things, and those who have completely surrendered to him who will experience the immenseness of God. I am thinking about Moses at this moment. He said, Show me your glory! And God didn’t refuse him. In fact, God protected him by hiding him in between the rocks.
    I enjoyed this very much Debbie.
    Thank you.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  25. I love those glimpses we get of Him, Pastor Rob! God bless you as you stay open to more of Him!

  26. God bless you, Tom, and how moved you are by Him always! Thank you for taking the time to read and comment . ..I know that just isn’t possible all the time, so no pressure to, okay?

  27. That’s a beautiful example of God showing His immenseness to Moses, and yet hiding Him too. Thank you, Patricia!!! God bless you and all that He shows you today!

  28. […] The Mere Edges “Indeed these are the mere edges of His ways, And how small a whisper we hear of Him!”  […]


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

