Be Astonished

“Look at me and be astonished;
Put your hand over your mouth.
Even when I remember I am terrified,
And trembling takes hold of my flesh.”  Job 21:6

Just reading about Job’s condition is so shocking, I couldn’t imagine seeing him in person.

Lord, help me not forget the state I would be in if not for You.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Still Trembling

source – ryancouch.wordpress.com

Job was one day in favor
loved and revered

the next day in ashes
boils and tears

so, Lord, let me yet tremble
at all You have done

and what Your sacrifice
has saved me from.

20 Comments

  1. Job endured more than we complain about at times. That is what we need to do is put our hands over our mouth the moment we are about to complain and thank God for His Mercy because their is always someone else hurting more than we are. AMEN

  2. Reading your word tonight brought this Scripture to mind, Debbie.

    “Therefore I say unto you, Her sins, which are many, are forgiven; for she loved much: but to whom little is forgiven, the same loves little.” Luke 7:47.

    I’m glad I haven’t been forgiven little! Thank you & bless you.

  3. So true – although there are trouble behind us, and more ahead, very few of us will have a Job moment! Lots to be thankful for, even in our trials!

  4. When you are reading in the middle sections of the book of Job, it’s easy to forget the first verse of the whole book:

    “There once was a man named Job who lived in the land of Uz. He was blameless—a man of complete integrity. He feared God and stayed away from evil.” (Job 1:1 NLT)

    All of Job’s horrendous trials came about because God wanted to reveal Himself in a greater way to a man who had a heart for God. Pretty sobering thought, right?

  5. Good words, Sweet Sis Deb! Thinking I need to find that duct tape…Praying for you to receive reinforcements throughout your Thursday–the ones with pretty wings!! God bless you abundantly–love, sis Caddo

  6. Those Job moments often bring us TO God in the first place. My mental illness has brought me closer to God – but my first Holy Spirit experience was after losing my mom, four months after losing my dad. God lifted me up, and since then, every day is lived singing the Creator’s praise and trying to follow in the footsteps of Jesus, which surely isn’t for the weak of heart… Great, Debbie. Love, Amy
    Want to know your thoughts on this one, since it’s another side of the Middle East conundrum:
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/09/20/justice-for-women-in-oppressed-regimes/

  7. I am reminded of the opening line of an old hymn “I stand amazed in the presence of Jesus the Nazarene, and wonder how He could love me, a sinner, condemned, unclean”

    I hate to think of where I would be – what I would be – if He had not stepped in and CHANGED me. “How marvellous! How wonderful! And my song shall ever be. How marvellous! How wonderful! Is my Saviour’s love for me”

    What an amazing God!

  8. Wonderful! I’m so glad GOD saves us and keeps us from harms way! Pleading the blood of Christ over us and our families in safety and well-being!
    God Bless you, Deb!

  9. What a great thought, dear Desiray . . .to put a hand over our mouths before we complain! 🙂 God bless you as you consider all He’s done today!

  10. Roger, that is a great verse with this . . .providing a line of thinking that brings us right to Him, and how much we’ve been forgiven. God bless you as you love much!

  11. I like this Melody . . .trouble behind and more ahead, but not a Job moment. 🙂 You have me giving thanks, for sure! God bless you!

  12. Thank you, Mr. Larry , for bringing us back to the beginning . .. and to the heart of Job’s trials. Astonishing and sobering! God bless you as He reveals Himself to you today!

  13. Thank you for sending me reinforcements. Sis Caddo! They arrived and carried me through our day! 🙂 God bless you as you thank Him for all He’s brought you through too! love you and am thinking of you!

  14. That is so true, dear Amy . . .how those Job moments bring us TO God! I met a man today who began to share with me about how he had a tree fall on him, breaking his shoulder and collarbone. Then he was in a bad car wreck, the car rolling 3 times. After recovering from that, he was in a motorcycle accident. While in the hospital for that, they found out he had lung cancer. Part of his lung was removed, but it came back and he had to undergo more surgery to remove all of his right lung. He ended up telling me he was going to speak to a group of people at his church, sharing all this and telling them how much he believes in God and that He has a purpose for us and is trying to get our attention. How’s that for a Job moment? 🙂
    Will be over to read your poem! God bless you as you keep praising Him through it all! love and prayers!

  15. You have us singing with your comment, Mentor Angela! God bless you as you stay thankful and excited about where you are in Jesus now!

  16. I’m so glad He does all of that for us too, Lady Dei! Thank you for your powerful prayers .. .He loves them and so do I! God bless you!

  17. Your poem (and Job’s story) reminds me to be incredibly grateful… So glad that Jesus’ life saves us from what might have been. May we remain in awe of Him.
    God bless Deb, and keep shining His light,
    Ali

  18. He is an astonishing God, amazing and worthy of our awe! God bless you, sweet Ali, as you thank Him today for all that is and what isn’t!

  19. My prayer is that the Lord would remind us all of our condtion before He intervened in our lives….. There is no better motivation for the Christian than remembering where we came from and where we are going! Lord bless

  20. I love that, Pastor Rob . .remembering where we came from and where we are going! 🙂 God bless you as He reminds you how much He loves you today!


Comments are closed.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

