How Long?

“Then Bildad the Shuhite answered and said;

‘How long till you put an end to words?
Gain understanding, and afterward we will speak.'”   Job 18:1-2

Bildad forgot he had gone to Job at Job’s place . . .and he could leave.

Lord, today I desire to sit with You and just listen without feeling compelled to speak. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Finally

Job rebuked by his friends / William Blake
source – wikipedia.com

I come to You
throughout the day
fractured times
prayers splinter away.

You stay the same
You never leave
till I can finally
listen and lean.

31 Comments

  1. And here’s a simple poem (not by me, wish it was)
    Lord, help me to listen twice before I speak once.

  2. Hi,
    And He is always there. So often, I ask, LORD, where are you? And the still small voice within me, says, I am here. I have been waiting on you.
    Love your poetry. It is growing on my heart.
    Ciao,

    Patricia

  3. beautiful words to live by

  4. More on the listening theme, huh? I wrote about my ‘corn ears’ on my gardening blog – there is so much to process in the whole area of truly hearing, isn’t there? Simple, effective words, deep thoughts to set the tone for the day.

  5. “…Bildad forgot he had gone to Job at Job’s place . . .and he could leave…”

    Bildad had a ministry of criticism and thought it was discernment. Sadly, there are still remnants of Bildad’s ministry working in the Body of Christ today.

  6. Another “simply” great poem, Sis Deb! My frequent prayer is that God will grow me up, from that immature kid who always has her hand in the air wanting to talk–and sometimes just rushes on ahead, interrupting, like she was never taught manners. And, Lord? I need to grow up faster!! God bless you, Sweetest Sis–love, sis Caddo

  7. Debbie… “You stay the same, You never leave, till I can finally listen and lean.” What a wonderful encouragement for me after a long morning filled with trials. Thank you Debbie. The Lord used you greatly today.

  8. I often feel the ‘best’ times spent with the Lord are those when no words are spoken – times we just LEAN on Him, letting our thoughts run wild, knowing that He understands and cares, feeling His arms about us and His love flowing to us – and finding that our cares and concerns were not so great after all, because He is there in the middle of them, and He will undertake as we give it all into His hands.

    What an amazing God!

    (Forgive me Deb, but a little humour from my days surrounded by teenagers – You mention Bildad the Shuhite – the second of the three shortest men in the Bible. Third prize goes to Nehemiah (knee-high-miah) Second to Bildad (the shoe-height). Do you know who the shortest is?)

  9. Amen! We all need to sit and listen more to the Almighty! I pray we both hear the Lord readily.
    God Bless You!

  10. Well said, sweet friend!
    I’ve learned to become quieter but that doesn’t always mean I’m listening.
    Being still (physically and verbally) is a great start for someone who got paid to talk for 25 years! 😉
    Yet, I’m becoming increasingly aware of how I lose time by failing to stay in the moment (visiting the past or anticipating the future). Even if the thoughts are happy ones, they distract me from the meaning the Father has spread out for me in this moment.
    Thank you for this gentle reminder.

  11. I like that one A LOT, Gwen! 🙂 God bless your listening and speaking!

  12. You are such an amazing woman, Patricia! I love how He is always with you, just waiting. That’s our God! God bless you bunches!

  13. It’s easier to write them, eh? Praying though, to live it too! God bless you, Terry, as you lean on Him each day!

  14. Yep . . .more listening! Sorry about that! haha! This book of Job has been ear opening for me! God bless you and your lovely work, Melody!

  15. Oooohhhh, a ministry of criticism. I don’t want to sign up for that, Mr. Larry, so going to keep listening and leaning into Him. ( I looked up leaning, but just found images for that famous leaning tower. )
    God bless you and the ministry that you do within the Body of Christ!

  16. You are growing just beautifully Sis! I can tell from here! 🙂 I always joke that my walk with Him is more like a crawl . . .or that duck waddling along shore. haha!
    God bless you as you raise your hands in the air, just to praise Him! love you!

  17. Praying for His voice to comfort you and give you peace, Pastor Rob, as you listen and lean into Him. You don’t need too many of those kind of mornings!!! 🙂 God bless you!

  18. I love those times when I just lean and don’t speak too . . .and feel His presence! That ‘s the best, Mentor Angela, you’re right!
    Oh, I loved the shortest men in the bible humor . .. and don’t know who the shortest is!!! You are going to have to help me out. haha!
    God bless you as you stay with Him and He speaks to your heart today!

  19. Love that prayer, Lady Dei! And so glad you are back and safe and sound! God bless you mightily and speak wonderful things to you today!

  20. Oh, I like your wise comment, dear gracious one! Quieter doesn’t always mean that I’m listening either. I am cheering all of your being still after all those years of having to talk!! (I walked for a living for 19 years , so it’s hard for me to hold still for long too!)
    God bless you and all that He has to tell you in this present moment! love and prayers and so thankful your back!

  21. Well Deb, the shortest man in the Bible is Peter.
    Now, can you tell me why he is the shortest?

  22. I so love what the book of Job has to offer us – may you be blessed as you dig in deeper!

  23. Deb this is so where I am right now… last night as I walked quietly at the midnight hour outside with my Lord and saw His glory that is unchanging, and was filled again with that infinite peace that comes when we rest in Him, I was just so grateful that He is the unchanging One. That assurance gives such comfort and strength. The joy of the Lord is my strength. It was indeed a listen and lean time… being still and just knowing that He is God!

  24. Oh , you are really stretching me! haha! I’m going to take a guess and say because his name meant “rock”? ???

  25. I love your faith and walk with Him, faith-filled fisherlady. And how that is lived out. So precious and such a testimony! God bless you and heading over to read you now! love and prayers!

  26. Good thought there Deb, but Peter must gave been extremely short, because he slept on his watch.

    Do I hear a groan?

  27. I love this poem. I take the Lord’s patience for granted. Your words remind me to be thankful.

    Love,
    Theresa

  28. OOOOHHHHH! hahaha! Love it, Angela! 🙂 Thank you for my laughs today!

  29. How wonderful that we can be still in silence and know His Spirit communes with our spirits in the silence!

  30. I just realized how much I do that too . ..taking His patience for granted. Renewing my thanksgiving with you! love you and God bless you, wonderful woman of the word!

  31. It’s really special that no words are needed! 🙂 God bless you, Tom, as you commune with Him today!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

