Understanding Hearts

“For You have hidden their heart from understanding
Therefore You will not exalt them.” 
Job 17:4

Understanding friends are such a blessing and a gift.

Lord, You know us and understand us like on one else can . . .and we exalt You and lift You high.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Setting Aside

source – blogs.constantcontact.com

When we love someone
we want to understand

what is going on
how we can encourage them

so we set aside
preconceived ideas

giving Him our hearts
so we can listen for real.

34 Comments

  1. Oh Sis Deb! You got the perfect picture award tonight–aren’t they the cutest!! I’d like to know those little guys!! Thank you, my sweet little Sis, for always loving me and wanting to understand–for always affirming me and lifting me up to Him. I hope I’m doing as good a job for you. God bless you Big tonight–sleep well, and have a slow Saturday if you can. much love, sis Caddo

  2. i believe the one who listens is the most important one in a friendship

  3. Listening is an art sadly learned by only a few. But for those who have such a friend, they are blessed.

    Great poem.

  4. ‘Listening for real’ – I was thinking this over only this morning as I was picking corn. You know – ‘ears’. 🙂 There is so much we don’t take the time to truly hear, isn’t there?

  5. I love your poem you picked today sis. You know the heart is so hard to understand no wonder the bible says that blessing and curses can flow from it. No one understand that heart better than Jesus.

  6. Here I thought you had the perfect picture! 🙂 You are an extremely understanding friend . . .who else would listen to my animal tales even though it made them gag???? God bless you and your understanding heart! love and prayers for a super Saturday!

  7. Praying for those kind of listening ears all my friends need! God bless you, Terry!!

  8. God bless you, Mr. Larry, as you listen today! You are a one of those friends we are blessed by!!

  9. Smiling at you picking ears!! Maybe that’s what we need to do . .pick out our ears first! 🙂 If I listen with an attitude that thinks I already know what someone is going to say . .. or know what they are thinking, then I don’t always hear what they are really saying. 😦 I need Jesus to help me listen! God bless you, Melody, as you hear what He wants you to today!

  10. I love your comment, Dear Desiray! Our hearts are hard to understand, let alone someone else’s heart. So glad that Jesus understands us all! God bless you and yours this weekend!

  11. “Gagging for God’s Glory”, eh?

  12. Thanks, Debbie! I must admit I have placed a higher value on my ability to finish a thought than hearing the human behind them – Lord willing, I will learn to hear with my heart and not just my head! I would rather be known for a hearing heart than a handy (or ‘know-it-all’ )brain!

  13. Oh my hand flew to my mouth! haha! You are too much, and I love it all!

  14. I love that Melody . .. a hearing heart! It’s that poet coming out of you! 🙂

  15. I needed this today. I have a friend I am trying to encourage but I realize now that I need to let go of my preconceived ideas and listen to what she is saying. Thank you.

  16. Lovely. Your poems are always a double read for me. The eyes and then the heart. Blessings to you.

  17. I agree that you captured the perfect photo to go with this Debbie.

  18. Interesting post, Deb! When I was at the retreat, my pastor, Darrla, and I bonded. It was a lovely experience.
    God Bless you & yours!

  19. Praying with you, Patricia, as you listen and encourage. I always feel so bad when I just don’t “get it” . . .or think I do but am way off! God bless you as you care enough to listen and understand! You are a good friend!

  20. Oh Tahlitha . ..that was really a blessing, what you said. Thank you for encouraging me. Asking Him to keep helping me with this and giving me an understanding heart too. God bless you and yours!

  21. Google is so helpful with this photo thing. Now I really don’t like to post without one and just can’t keep up trying to take my own and have them match up with the post somehow. God bless you and give you the understanding you need for each person you meet!

  22. Oh, I love hearing about that , Lady D! Yay! We need people who understand us in that special heart way! God bless you and Darrla too!

  23. The post and pic are beautiful! 🙂 The best listeners, listen with their “hearts!” I am so thankful to the Lord, for having that kind of friend in you! (See note :-)) Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  24. This just really touched my spirit Deb… Have been in a FOREST of preconceived ideas about someone I love, but you’ve reminded me to simply listen to what He has to say and trust Him for guidance. Thanks so much for your wisdom 🙂

  25. Deb… your poem for this morning, like always, carries with it a tremendous thought for the day. “so we set aside preconceived ideas giving Him our hearts so we can listen for real.”

    Boy we all need to do this… setr aside what we “think” about our Lrod and His workings and will and simply allow Him to show us the truth in all of these areas! Thanks for the great encouragment this morning Debbie. Lord bless you.

  26. There is so much wisdom in this poem. Preconceived ideas so often hinder our understanding.

    Love,
    Theresa

  27. Love you dear Paulette . . and love to listen to whatever my friends need to share! 🙂 God bless you and your heart of worship for Him, that keeps you listening and compassionate for others.

  28. I do the same thing , Ali, and it gets complicated. Praying with you to simply listen and trust HIM, more than what I think I should do and say. God bless you and your loved one . .who is blessed to have you listening and caring!

  29. So thankful that God lets us come to Him like He does . . .is so willing to show us the truth when we get muddled. 🙂 God bless you, Pastor Rob, as you keep us thinking of Him and of His truth and promises, keeping our relationships real.

  30. Love you, woman of the Word and am thinking of you! 🙂 I don’t always know that I have preconceived ideas and finding out is humbling, but good. I like His ideas best! God bless you and your family!!!

  31. Have to say Deb I think this is a very challenging poem – to listen for real. So easy to be listening, but not listening if you know what I mean 🙂 Sometimes I’m so busy multi-tasking I realise I didn’t really hear what someone said to me – I’m working on it because I think it’s an issue of value.
    Pray you have a wonderful week and that He gifts you with people who can see and understand your heart in each season xx

  32. I DO know what you mean to listen but not really listen! My youngest with special needs talks all the time she’s awake . . .and really needs me to be tuned in and respond in the right way. The way you put it . .that it’s an issue of value . ..is so true. Thank you! And thank you for the beautiful prayer for my week!!!! God bless you too , sweet Aimee, as He listens to your heart beating for Him. love and prayers!

  33. Another good post, Deb!

  34. God bless you and yours, Joe, and the work of your hands and heart for Him!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

