Comfort and Strength

“I also could speak as you do,
If
your soul were in my soul’s place.
I could heap up words against you,
and shake my head at you;
But I would strengthen you with my mouth
,
And the comfort of my lips would relieve your grief.”  Job 16:4-5

Mother Theresa said, “Words which do not give the light of Christ increase the darkness.”

Lord, we thank You for Your Word to us, which is Life.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Grief Relief

information-leak-by-richard-evans
source – hovercraftdoggy.com

Words get heaped upon us
more and more it seems
clouding our thoughts, stifling our hope
smothering our dreams.

But Your Word gives life
and that abundantly
comforting, correcting
You heal and set us free.

27 Comments

  1. Amazing Deb! That doesn’t surprise me, because I know your ‘simple poem’ comes to you directly from our amazing God!

    You have expressed so simply what happens to us too often. Sometimes we feel as though things are heaping up on us – but our God knows. His Word speaks to our hearts, giving comfort, solving problems and bringing healing and freedom. We must learn to turn to Him immediately and save ourselves heartache!

    What an amazing God!

  2. Deb – amazing again. I’m usually waaaaaay down the list and I’m first! Yaaaaaay!

  3. Thank you, Dearest Deb

    “But Your Word gives life
    and that abundantly
    comforting, correcting
    You heal and set us free.”

    I’m drinking and eating this today!

    Blessings
    ann

  4. I’m drinking it in too!

  5. Wow! Beautifully said, Deb! Our words do indeed have the power of life and death, light and dark. We need to be ever vigilant on what we say and hear. God bless!

  6. Deb,

    How true the Word of God certainly is the only source of life for each one of us! Lord bless you for so faithfully sharing His Word with us.

  7. “My soul melts away for sorrow; strengthen me according to your word! (Psalm 119:28 ESV)

    Great poem. One of your best.

  8. very good !!

  9. I have often felt buried by words till I could no longer discern the meaning, but when God speaks I always want more. Your poems reflect how well you hear from Him, Sis Deb–great work again! God bless your workday today, and lift you into the weekend–much love, sis Caddo

  10. I am smiling , Mentor Angela, at you getting to be first this time! Yaaaayyy! 🙂 Praying to turn to Him and His Word immediately, and away from all the words that just bring heartache! God bless you as you look to Him and His word for all you need today! 🙂

  11. The world is filled with a lot of jabber that’s for sure. The Word is often what I need to soothe my ears.

  12. I’m joining you, Ann full of grace and song, and feasting on His Word today! God bless you and cover you in all His ways.

  13. God bless you, Tammy! Here’s something we can drink and eat and not worry about where it comes from and what all it contains. 🙂

  14. Praying to be vigilant today, Ted, to give life and tear down! God bless you abundantly!

  15. Thank you and God bless you for the wonderful series you do from His word. You are giving life each time you post!

  16. So thankful that His Word can do sooo much for us. Now, just to use it accordingly! 🙂 God bless you and strengthen you muchly, Mr. Larry!

  17. God bless you, Terry, and speak life into your days!

  18. What a precious truth you have shared with us, Sis Caddo . .when God speaks, we’ll want more. It’s not the same as those other words that bury us. Thank you for our prayers, for powering us through the cleaning! 🙂 God bless you as you cowboy up tonight and hang on tight!

  19. Me too, sweet Patricia . .. I need His word to soothe me too. I’ve been known to add to the jabber. ! God bless you and the light and life you share with us!

  20. thank you Debbie

  21. “Grief Relief,” an excellent title for this poem, Encouraging Deb. Sometimes the words of the world “hurt.” Thank God for His Word that comes to us to “heal.” Love and prayers!

  22. You have me thinking about His healing Word tonight . . .thank you, Paulette! God bless you as He gives you His life and light! love and prayers for your weekend!

  23. Dearest Deb

    I thank you so much for your prayers and support. We are thankful for you. Very much so.

    Blessings,
    ann

  24. I always find comfort here. Thank you, Deb.

    Love,
    Theresa

  25. As I do with you, wonderful woman of the Word! God bless you! Sending love your way!

  26. All else is just noise

  27. What a great way to put it! 🙂 God bless you as you have ears just for Him!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

