When Our Heart Carries Us Away

Are the consolations of God too small for you,
And the word spoken gently with you?
Why does your heart carry you away
And what do your eyes wink at . . .”  Job 15:11-12

I get carried away at times too.

Lord, we thank You that when our emotions jerk us around, You are always there to bring us back to the truth.   And here’s a simple poem . . .

Carried Always

source – imcarriedtothetable.blogspot.com

My heart runs
pulled by emotions
wanting to drag me
every which-a-ways

but You are steadfast
my Rock and Anchor
sustaining and carrying me
all of my days.

32 Comments

  1. “I get carried away at times too.”

    Me too! It happens when granting myself “consolations.” Thank God for facts and faith – and for you, Debbie.

  2. Deb, I have found that, for me, when I find my emotions being rattled and I am ready to do something rash. I attempt to go to a quiet place, I have prayer and read the Word. This helps to settle and center me and helps me to see the need to delay any actions until I am more certain what the Lord’s will might be concerning the situation I face.

    I truly do not know what I would do in times like that if I didn;t have His Word and prayer to help to comfort and calm me.

    Thanks for a great teachign from His Word. Lord bless you.

  3. Encouraging Debbie,

    My emotions can most definitely get the best of me, at times! I’m so grateful for that still small voice, the comfort I find in that voice, God’s voice, speaking peace unto my soul! May the Lord bless you! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  4. One of the things I enjoy the most when me and the Lord have worship and prayer is that when I am in His presence He shows me my sins and I begin to weep I know it might sound weird that I would enjoy it but I do because I know He is doing so real work on the inside of my heart. Making me a better person…

  5. i loved it!!!

  6. “…Lord, we thank You that when our emotions jerk us around…”

    The first time I heard Joyce Meyer on the radio she told the story of having a bad day as a mother. The kids were all screaming and one of them spilled a glass of orange juice while sitting at the table. She mumbled, grumbled, and complained as she knelt on the floor to clean up the juice. As she wiped the mess up, the Lord said to her, “All your complaining is not going to make the orange juice run back up that table leg. So get a hold of your emotions, clean up the mess, and keep quiet.”

    Now, even though I have a great memory for stories like this, I, too, have run away emotions at times, usually with Honey Who.

  7. Ah. This is good Debbie.

    My own heart can deceive me, and my tendency toward purely emotional reaction is something to guard against. Thankfully, Jesus is my Rock Solid Foundation!

  8. Oh Sis Deb, this is wonderful–especially meaningful for me right now (or anytime, or always). Such a comforting word from Him–and the picture works SO Well!! Jesus is not only near us–He’s happy to pick us up and carry us, as love is No Burden to Him. God bless you and my angel-niece today–Rest as He carries you. love, your sis Caddo

  9. Thank you, Deb, and how I love the picture you shared with your poem, as well! Yes, He is the anchor I need to turn to every single time! I desire to remember that first more than I currently do.

  10. “I am carried” I am so thankful for that fact!
    I am so weak but He is so strong, and when I allow Him to be in control, I am strong in His strength. He cannot be moved. He cannot fail and He holds me and carries me and never lets go.

    What an amazing God!

  11. What a privilege to have Him as our rock of steadfastness and faithfulness to be there for us as we get carried away by so many things…Thank you!

  12. Ah, the Love that stoops and carries us… lovely thoughts.

  13. This one really speaks to me. It depicts what I experience every day. Some days a little, and most days a lot. Your poem reminds me of the words to one of my favorite hymns. Here it is I hope it blesses you.

    Love,
    Theresa

  14. We all get carried away at times Debbie.

  15. Oh I really like that insight, Roger . .. when I’m granting myself consolations is when I get carried away. 🙂 Thank Him with you for facts and faith! God bless you and carry you when the going gets rough!

  16. Thank you for sharing, Pastor Rob . .. and what great advice that is. His Word is so multifaceted to help us in any and all situations . . .and especially this one! God bless you as you carry His Word in your heart today!

  17. That peace is so precious, Paulette! It calms those emotions like nothing else. God bless you as He speaks unto your soul today! love you too!

  18. I know what you mean, dear Desiray. When it’s the Lord showing us, we may weep but He is there working in that moment and it becomes one of those turning points in our lives that we thank Him for forever! God bless you as you run to Him!

  19. God bless you, Terry! I’m so excited about the professional help that is on the way for you and Al!

  20. I love that story . .. well, stories in general! 🙂 Thank you, Mr. Larry! And YES, it is with the ones that we are closest to, that we seem to lose control of those emotions. argh. God bless you as you let Him carry it all!

  21. Loved your comment , Heather! It reminds me that He knows this about us and so is constantly working on us so that we respond with His love and word instead of our emotions. God bless you and your precious family!

  22. Oh Sis Caddo Delight . .. I loved that “love is no burden to Him”. 🙂 Poem? Thank you for your prayers as He has indeed carried us and helped us not get carried away all at the same time. God is really good! love you and am thinking of you!

  23. Angel A . .. I’m so blessed to have you here . . thank you! Praying that you are doing well . .well, doing great! The remembering first thing . .oh boy, that is me too. It’s always easier for me to see what I did after I did it. God bless you as He keeps and covers and carries you today! love and prayers!

  24. “He holds me and carries me and never lets go”. That sounds like a song, mentor Angela! 🙂 And I’m so grateful for it all! God bless you as you willingly count on His strength today!

  25. Your comment has me picturing a tether . . .or maybe a bungey cord, that we run out on , but then we are drawn back to Him, our center, our everything. God bless you, Tom, as He affirms His faithfulness to you over and over again!

  26. Do you think He’s wondering when I’ll drop those extra pounds, as He carries me, stooped? 🙂 Just kidding! God bless you, Melody, as He carries you in His arms of love today .. .no problem!

  27. Thank you sooooooo much , wonderful woman of the Word. That song is amazing and I love it . . .am totally blessed by it. I could hug you! And to know that this is something that you experience too . .. that helps me also. God bless you as you come to Him with uplifted arms today. He’s got you!
    love and prayers!

  28. Thank you for comforting me and encouraging me all at the same time , Tammy! God bless you and yours and all the places that His love carries you to!

  29. thank you Debbie

  30. *giggle* Good thing His arms are so big and strong!

  31. Amazing! I finally read 3 posts today and they were about the heart. The Lord works in marvelous ways! Great post, Deb.
    God Bless You!

  32. I love it when He does that , Lady D! God bless you and your heart for Him!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

