Made Ready

“A lamp is despised in the thought of one who is at ease;
It is made ready for those whose feet slip.”  Job 12:5

I suppose if I never walked, it would make it harder to slip.

Lord, I desire to step out in faith, depending on Your Word to be a lamp unto my feet and a light onto my path, to keep me from falling away.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Walking By Lamp Light

source – achristmasstoryhouse.co

Lord, I want to
walk with You

wherever You
want me to

and if the way
grows slippery

I trust Your lamp’s
made ready for me.

42 Comments

  1. Christmas story famous lamp (unto my feet?) Great!

  2. AMEN deep words to live by sis

  3. Amen

  4. i have to say it, i love the lamp. Christmas Story!!!!!

  5. Great visual – what a depth of lessons this lamp contains! 🙂

  6. Hallelujah for Jesus our Lamp to light the path He has set before us! Peace, Linda

  7. Amen. But when you carry the Word as your lamp, do not also carry the ‘Red Ryder carbine-action, two hundred shot Range Model air rifle with a compass in the stock’ at the same time. “You’ll shoot your eye out, you know?”

    I know. I know. But I could not help it.

    God bless you today and don’t forget the importance of a Snickers Bar in your daily diet.

  8. Always an encouragement…”I suppose if I never walked, it would make it harder to slip.” You have a blessed week, Lady Debbie.

  9. Hi,
    Simply beautiful.
    Thanks.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  10. Great poem Sis Deb, and what an image FIND!! God bless you with a Marvelous Monday–love, sis Caddo

  11. What a wonderful truth that the verse for today brings out for us… the Lord by grace has given us the light of His Word so that we can walk safely and in a way that is pleasing to Him! Great thought to start the week Debbie. Thank you!

  12. As usual, you’ve produced understated genius.

  13. I so appreciate your prayer and poem, Debbie. Far too often, I’ve spun myself in circles or frozen in place out of fear that I would not be moving in the right direction.

    Your reference brought to mind:

    For mine eyes have seen thy salvation,
    Which thou hast prepared before the face of all people;
    A light to lighten the Gentiles, and the glory of thy people Israel.
    Luke 2:30-32

    Jesus is my light and my salvation. There were some very religious people in His day who despised Him because they thought they knew what they were doing. I do not want to make the same mistake the Pharisees did by stubbornly holding to my own ideas of righteousness while blindly stumbling over Him.

  14. Sometimes the Lord asks us to ‘go’ where we would not choose and we are hesitant until His promise rings clearly and we trust in Him and how He goes before us, lighting our path, preparing our way and giving us a sure footing.

    Someone said:
    Out of the will of God, there is no success.
    In the will of God there is no failure.

    When I depend on His guidance and His light on the way I take, He undertakes and secures my feet.

    What an amazing God!

  15. Thank you Dearest Deb

    There are days when it feels like I am limping by Lamp-light…

    “Lord, I desire to step out in faith, depending on Your Word to be a lamp unto my feet and a light onto my path, to keep me from falling away.”
    Amen. I am thankful that He lights my path

    Blessings
    ann

  16. I hope not too weird! God bless you, sweet one, and a happy late grandparents day to you! 🙂

  17. It’s the living of His Word that I want to walk out! God bless you, dear Desiray, as He lights your way today!

  18. So blessed to have you here, adding your amen! God bless you , dear vessel of His Light! love and prayers!

  19. Yay! 🙂 I’m so glad! God bless you and your every step, angel Terry!

  20. God bless you, sweet Melody, and the light you shed for us and lessons you bring us!

  21. Hallelujah indeed, dear Linda! God bless you as you walk with Him, full of faith and trust! Love and prayers!

  22. Hahaha! I’m so glad you couldn’t help it, Mr. Larry!!! 😀 Oh, a snicker’s bar daily is it? Now we’re talking my kind of diet!
    God bless you and shine His light upon you as you follow the path He has called you to!

  23. God bless you, dear testifying Tahlitha and thank you for your prayers! You encourage me to keep walking!

  24. God bless you as you step out , led by the light of His Word, Patricia! You have a special gift and He is delighted with you! 🙂

  25. Hahaha! I tell ya, I didn’t go searching for that particular lamp, but there is was, in the images that came up! And before I knew it, it was the chosen one. 🙂 God bless you and light your way each and every day! You are such a blessing to me, Sis Caddo Delight! love and prayers!

  26. I love that we can walk safely and in a way that is pleasing to Him, Pastor Rob! He makes all things possible! God bless you and yours this week as you step out with Jesus!

  27. You make me smile , poet friend! God bless you and light your days with grace and mercy galore! 🙂

  28. Oh sweet Heather . . your comment is like a beautiful post! Thank you so much. I don’t want to stumble blindly over Him either, so sure that I know where I’m going. Thank you for helping me pray that today. God bless you and guide you always in the light of His great love!

  29. Your comment is so good and encouraging for us, Mentor Angela! Thank you!!!!! I am loving how He undertakes for us and secures our feet, as we depend on Him. God bless you as you stay in His light and ways! love and prayers!

  30. I know those limping days, sweet Ann full of grace and song. ( and just read a post about limping at brokenbelievers just a bit ago!) Thankful with you for His light as we go today! God bless you as He uses you to light the way for others! love and prayers for your Tuesday!

  31. Great reminder Debbie!

  32. 🙂 God bless you and light your way, dear Tammy!

  33. You’re a joy to my journey as well.

  34. Thank you for sharing this message through your poem , Encouraging Debbie! Surely, there are some trails that would never have been blazed, except the Lord lit the pathway! Thank you, Lord, for Your guidance, and for lighting our paths along the way! Nice image, Encouraging Deb! 🙂

    Paulette

  35. not at all

  36. Really good Deb! I love the way you grasp the deep meaning behind these veiled passages. I noticed you are getting into the Christmas spirit with the leg lamp. 🙂 Isn’t it a little early?

  37. 😀 I really like thinking about the trails that would never have been blazed except the Lord lit the pathway! God bless you, praising Him Paulette, as He lights the way for you on the trail you are blazing. love and prayers and hugs!

  38. haha! The temperatures dip below 90 and I’m thinking Christmas already. 🙂 God bless you and your walk with Him, Pastor J, filled with the Light of Heaven.

  39. It is such a wonderful privilege to have the light. Thank you for sharing it.

    Love,
    Theresa

  40. It is a precious privilege, wonderful woman of the word! May I not take it for granted! God bless you as He lights your way and your walk! love and prayers!

  41. The feet shod with the Gospel of the preparation of peace will keep the feet from slipping….so His word is a Light to our path and the treads on our feet… isn’t He good! Nicely posted Deb!

  42. You put this so poetically, faith filled fisher lady! 🙂 I am blessed thinking about our feet being shod with the Gospel and so slip resistant. And you have me thinking about those kid’s shoes that light up too, when they walk! He is definitely good. ..and you are a blessing of His! God bless you and yours!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

