“Oh That God Would Speak”

“For you have said,
‘My doctrine is pure,
And I am clean in your eyes.’
But oh, that God would speak
and open His lips against you.”ย  Job 11:4-5

Whenever I want God to put someone in their place, it’s me that needs a talking to.

Lord, may I grow to love mercy as much as You do. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Why Does It Bother Me

source – catholicmom.com

They’re bragging, they’re boasting
self-promoting endlessly.

God, do you hear them?
Lord, can’t you see?

My child, why does it bother you?
God’s answer humbles me

enough to keep me listening
thinking now of His mercy.

27 Comments

  1. Oh wow, oh wow–you caught me, Sis Deb. Wonderful word, and poem!! This will help me visualize my actions when I’m guilty–And repent quick! God bless you BIG–have a Spectacular Saturday–love, sis Caddo

  2. Amen Debbie and so very true it’s me who needs the talking too no the other person. God will get to them when He is finished with me..AMEN

  3. God bless you, my Sis Caddo Delight as you have a spectacular Saturday too! This one was a definite lesson for me. God always asks good questions! love and prayers and hugs!

  4. Oh I love that . .God will get to them when He is finished with me! ๐Ÿ™‚ And that might take awhile! haha! God bless you, dear Desiray!

  5. I’ve always enjoyed what Jerry Savelle related many years ago about an incident: “Lord, don’t talk to me right now. I’m mad at the guy and I’m going right over to his house and punch him in the nose. Then, I’m going to quickly repent!”

    But of course, the Holy Spirit melted his heart and he ended up giving the man money.

    Aren’t we all like this? If only in our minds.

  6. I love the Jerry Savelle story, Mr. Larry! Thank you for sharing it with us! I’m laughing so much at the “then I’m going to quickly repent!” So thankful that He keeps working on me, so that I can listen and not let all the talk bother me . . .or make me want to punch somebody . .. or call on Him to strike them with lightning. ๐Ÿ™‚
    God bless you and all the Who’s!

  7. i have been in this position many times, wishing i could say something to someone for hurting me, but i try to look at it as god will deal with them, so let it go

  8. When I am in this position, I pray for the other that they may receive all of the blessings that I wish for myself. It isn’t easy.

  9. Great lesson and poem… how very true… ugh! Lord bless.

  10. Wise thinking, Angel Terry! God bless you and move on your behalf today! love and hugs!

  11. Oh Tammy . . I’ll need some work at being able to do this! Thank you for sharing it, for challenging me. I tend to start zoning out or shutting down, when I hear too much self promoting. Remembering to start praying for God to bless them will be a great tool to use! God bless you and your awesome family! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I know, Pastor Rob . .ugh! haha! God bless you as you teach us from His Word!

  13. Thanks for sharing, Dearest Deb

    This one took the wind right out of my sails. What a pointed and needed piece. Oh wow. Always so much easier to go speck hunting even though our own beans are blocking our vision. …

    Praying alongside you.

    Blessings
    ann

  14. Oh dear Ann full of grace and song . . .so sorry about that!!! I’m suppose to encourage us here . . .don’t know what happened this time! haha! God bless you as you listen to Him and show mercy today! love and prayers!

  15. Can’t add anything to that, Deb. You put it so well – a lesson for all of us.

  16. No, Dear Deb

    Please do not apologize. Sometimes it’s best to be aware of what’s around the corner than to walk into it unaware. You have showed us how to check our motives… I consider that to be great preparation and kind encouragement. ๐Ÿ™‚ As Angela said, “A lesson for all of us.” [ I place emphasis on ALL. ๐Ÿ™‚ ]

    Blessings,
    ann

  17. Such humbling verses aren’t they. I love how his mercy to all reminds us how we all fall short. He’s a wonderfully just God isn’t he (glad we don’t have to make the decisions about how to deal with people). Thanks again for a beautiful poem reflecting Him Debbie.

  18. I sometimes get a little sideways when I start thinking of something I need to tell someone to ‘straighten them out’. I wrestle with it. I’m convinced they need to hear it. I imagine how I will say it – how I will approach them.

    It’s cool when I pray about it, how God works it out. He orchestrates, in the course of normal conversation, a phrase or sentence that makes the point I felt needed to be made.

    I wish from the start, I could think as graciously as He does.

  19. There is such a thing as righteous indignation, but it is rare. So much of our indignation is really rooted in pride. Thank you so much for this wise post.

    Love,
    Theresa

  20. God bless you, Mentor Angela, and the lessons He continues to pour forth for us through you! love and prayers for your week!

  21. Thank YOU, sweet Ali, for your love of Him and how You see Him and share Him. “I love how His mercy to all reminds us how we all fall short.” . . .that has me thinking and thankful!
    God bless you as you listen with mercy full ears today!

  22. I love how you explained the process you go through and how God works it out! ๐Ÿ™‚ He is so faithful and knows what others need to hear through us and how we need to say it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think you are more gracious than you know! God bless you , Mike , as you minister to others and bring messages we need to hear!
    p.s. I am loving your latest book!

  23. Great point, wonderful woman of the Word! I thought about that, that there could be times when we really did need God to do something against someone. But like you said, it is rare and for me, more a case of pride than anything.
    So good to see you today! God bless you and cover you this week!

  24. Amen, and amen! Love and prayers, Encouraging Debbie! A much needed word for ME!

    Paulette

  25. You are so precious, Paulette . . .and always willing to bend before Him and bow down, to praise and worship Him. God bless you today as you show His mercy to others and love them unconditionally.

  26. He’s been doing this with me a lot lately. So much to learn. So much to learn. I am loving the lessons as HE prepares me for Himself!

  27. God bless you, Pastor J, as you continuously stay teachable before Him. You bless me as I think about Him preparing us for Himself. There is something special in that . .. and exciting.


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

