A Soft Heart Condition

“God is wise in heart and mighty in strength

Who has hardened himself against Him and prospered?”  Job 9:4

Things that are hard and brittle can shatter and break.

Lord, please keep me sensitive to my heart’s hardness that I might repent and be healed.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Soft To The Touch

source – gardenmama.typepad.com

Hearts are soft organs
placed deep in the chest

keeping the blood flowing
beating without rest

and as they stay sensitive
to His touch

our lives are blessed
so very much.

 

41 Comments

  1. Oh Wow, I LOVE this, Sis Deb! Such a good visual–praying God keeps my heart soft, heals and makes it softer still! God bless you as you “tackle task-Thursday”–go, Sis, go–in Holy Spirit Power! Love you, Sis Caddo

  2. Amen, Debbie … such an important message; makes me think of Hebrews 3 & 4 “Today if you will hear His voice, do not harden your hearts….” Not tomorrow or next week, but today. God bless your gift.

    Roger

  3. Lovely poem and I agree with you sis our hearts must be sensitive.

  4. that is just precious!!

  5. “…Lord, please keep me sensitive to my heart’s hardness that I might repent and be healed…”

    If only we all prayed this prayer often because we all live in a world where hurting words are said and questioning looks happen to us all the time. And only the Holy Spirit is able to soften our hearts.

    Good reminder post for me.

  6. Lovely, Deb! Your words bless so much! 🙂

  7. So true Deb! That hardness of hard can sneak in if we are not ever vigilant!

  8. Deb, yet again I am amazed at the quality of the words in your ‘simple poem’ but I shouldn’t be because I know they come from an amazing God.

    Thank you for being the channel through which He blesses. Thank you for YOUR soft heart which hears His words and relays them to us. May He fill your heart to overflowing today!

  9. I love thinking about healing making my heart even softer, Sis Caddo! Thank you for power praying us through our day! Yay Jesus! God bless you as you just keep yourself humbly before Him, leaning into His arms and heart! love you!

  10. Oh Roger, thank you for bringing that Hebrews verse to this. 🙂 I don’t want to wait either . . .let’s let ourselves be soft for His use today! God bless you and all the ways you stay sensitive to Him!

  11. God bless you, dear Minister Desiray. You always are showing us how He moves on your soft heart and what it means to obey.

  12. God bless your tender heart , Angel Terry, as you listen to Him and take care of Al!

  13. thank you Debbie. hope your day has been bright….

  14. Thank you, Mr. Larry, for showing us how we will be softened . . .by the Holy Spirit. One clear indication of my own heart hardness, is when I hear myself internally telling God what I will not do. !
    God bless you as He keeps you listening and responding to Him today!

  15. Thanks for the encouragement Ted! God bless you!

  16. It is sneaky. There is not much encouragement to stay soft out there! God bless you, Pastor J, and your soft heart for Jesus!

  17. Thank you for always cheering me on to keep close to Him and writing down these simple devotions and poems that He gives me. I often wish they were better, but thinking about your recent post, I will do the best I can for Him today. 🙂 God bless you, Mentor Angela and how close and softly you walk with your amazing Jesus!

  18. Thank you, Dearest Deb

    “Lord, please keep me sensitive to my heart’s hardness that I might repent and be healed. ”
    Amen.

    This is really deep Deb … God hardened the Pharoah’s heart, and it didn’t end well for the poor guy. I don’t want to place myself in a position for God to harden my heart, and I do not want to harden it on my own either. I will tuck this prayer and poem away so that I can draw on it when the temptation to be hard arises.

    Blessings
    ann

  19. Ann full of grace and song . ..I think you are just way too submitted to Him to be hard hearted. 🙂 God bless you and your gentle and tender heart! love and prayers!

  20. Hello! 🙂 Good post! Mark 3:5 mentions that Jesus was “grieved for the hardness of their hearts”. And Mark 16:14 regarding the disciples, Jesus “upbraided them with their unbelief and hardness of heart”. Ouch! Thanks for reminding us to guard our hearts. God bless you.

  21. Awesome! We need a good heart massage from God daily!
    God Bless You!

  22. Dear blogging disciple . .Thank you for the verses you brought here!!! That just makes me pray all the more, knowing hard hearts grieve Him. Guarding my heart from hardness with you!!! God bless you as you keep pressing into Him!

  23. I like the visual of that, Lady D! Picturing that massage technique where they chop with the edges of their hands . . .think I need that done regularly. 🙂 God bless you and your family and little Brooke.

  24. My grandparents gave me a card with Proverbs 4:23 written in it when I turned 13 – such a good verse for going into the teenage years!

    Above all else, guard your heart for everything you do flows from it.

    Praying we can all guard our hearts from what would harden them. Bless you Deb – you’re doing a great job inspiring us from Job xx

  25. “Sensitive to His touch” – I love this expression! May we remain open to Him and his words for us. God bless Debbie!

  26. How easy to allow our hearts to slowly, gradually harden toward the Lord. Many times, we hardly even notice it. It is only by His grace that we can perceive when our heart is hardening and turn back to submissive to Him.

    Jer 17:9 (KJV)
    9) The heart [is] deceitful above all [things], and desperately wicked: who can know it?

    Lord bless.

  27. A hard heart is easily shattered. A soft heart can be molded again

  28. What a precious verse for your grandparents to give you, at that tender age too! Blessings! It makes me think about if our hearts get hard, not much is going to be flowing from them, so praying with you! Thanks for the Job encouragement. I just peeked last night .. .to see just how many chapters the book contained . .. haha! I’m going to be camped out here awhile!
    God bless you and yours and your tender heart!

  29. Sensitive can be a good thing, with God. 🙂 God bless you, dear Ali, as you yearn for His touch and words in your life!

  30. I’m so glad that you made that point, Pastor Rob. Thank you! It’s kind of like the people who have a heart attack, never even knowing they had a heart problem. Praying to listen to what He says about my heart! God bless you!

  31. I love that and it really helps me see how staying soft hearted is a good thing! God bless you as you stay mold-able for Him! (not to be confused with moldy! 🙂 )

  32. Once I heard the quote…Blessed are the hearts that are pliable for they will bend but never break. Love the poem. Thank you for sharing. Blessings on your day and weekend.

  33. What a great quote, thank you bunches for sharing it here! 🙂 It reminds me of hearing the term “tensile strength”, which means being strong enough to be stretched quite a bit. I need that kind of strength! 🙂 God bless you and yours today and always!

  34. Absolutely beautiful poem, Encouraging Debbie! May my heart always be pliable, and ever sensitive to the touch of the Master’s hand! May I always be easily persuaded and influenced by Him, in matters of the heart! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  35. I love your heart for Him, praising Paulette, and how much you desire what He desires! God bless you and love and prayers for your day!

  36. Really really like this poem!!

  37. Thanks so much for stopping by and encouraging me! God bless you as you stay pliable for Him!

  38. This reads like another one of those prayers “according to “His will”. 🙂

    I think the Lord might have answered this one in advance for you.

    Love,
    Theresa

  39. I love you showing us about those according to His will prayers! 🙂 Thank you for your generous soft heart, that always reaches out to encourage me! God bless you and keep you today!

  40. That poem is priceless! Thank you for sharing it!

  41. God bless you, Karen, and your heart for Him! Thank you for being here!


Comments are closed.

MISPLACED PEACES

POETRY ~ In and Outside the Box

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

Walter Bright

Refining theological understanding. Sharpening ethical rigor. Heightening devotional intensity.

joyfullyandperfectlyhis

My life as a daughter of the King

