“Crush Me”

“Oh, that I might have my request,
that God would grant me the thing that I long for!
That it would please God to crush me . . .”  Job 6:8

I have been in crushing times when relief didn’t come like I wanted.

Lord, I can’t always understand what is going on in my life or the lives of loved ones, and so I cry out for Your mercy.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

The Crushing Place

source – asterick.apod.com

We may not know
what it was like
to be Job

in a place
so desperately thin
he’d ask God
to crush him

but for those that
do know
that are there

we cry out
for mercy
and hold them
in prayer.

28 Comments

  1. Hi Deb,
    This is so beautiful and I needed it today. Please hold me up in prayer because I am going through some trying times.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  2. for me today, this was a poem meant for my own desires

  3. Thank you for sharing, Deb

    I have a tiny pestle and mortar set that is great for crushing herbs. I am told that I get better flavours if I use this as opposed to using the leaves whole. Olives are crushed for oil, grapes are crushed for wine… all good. Even though I know there is a purpose for crushing, I don’t like being crushed, and I don’t like seeing those around me being crushed either, but I have to believe that He is still in charge.

    “Lord, I can’t always understand what is going on in my life or the lives of loved ones, and so I cry out for Your mercy.”
    Amen.

    Blessings,
    ann

    Sharing Russ Taff with you. The video is a photo of the album cover, so I thought I woul leave the lyrics as well.

    Russ Taff – I Cry

    When peace cannot be found
    And sleep won’t visit me tonight
    A restless mind that I can’t tame
    I walk the floor I call your name
    Finally silence and the tears begin to fall

    I Cry
    And You’re the one who hears me calling
    I fall
    So easily but You’re there to catch me
    Say the words that heal me
    I’m safe when I’m with You
    You touch my eyes I can see

    Oh the comfort that You bring
    When nothing else can reach inside
    Sympathetic friends are all around
    Their soothing words fall to the ground
    In the silence I feel You here with me

    I Cry
    And You’re the one who hears me calling
    I fall
    So easily but You’re there to catch me
    Say the words that heal me
    I’m safe when I’m with You
    You touch my eyes I can see

  4. You know Debbie often times I feel just like that car being crushed by a truck but instead of a truck it’s life. Love this post sis

  5. I don’t pretend to understand Job’s prayer… but I know sometimes there has been moments of despair and being crushed seemed the better option. As always, you bless my heart!

  6. Excellent, excellent word, Sis Deb! And since His mercies are new every morning, that is something to stand in/on as we hold onto folks in prayer. God bless you abundantly this Labor Day–love, sis Caddo

  7. “…we cry out
    for mercy
    and hold them
    in prayer.”

    It’s certainly okay to ask for prayer in our trials, but like Debbie wrote, my experience is that it is important to pray for others during our trials. Somehow, God really honors this type of faith which prefers the problems of others to our own.

    God bless you Debbie…and enjoy the holiday with a bowl of tapioca.

  8. I remember an early morning in May 1992 when I felt like that car in the pic – but I can remember it with thankfulness, because as I cried to the Lord, He undertook. I literally felt His loving arms around me and later that morning, things happened and the problem started to become past tense.

    We serve a truly amazing God, and I pray that all who are feeling ‘crushed’ will know relief as they trust the only One who can make a difference.

  9. It can be confusing when we, or others close to us, suffer crushing blows. But as your prayer so beautifully says, all we can do is cry out for mercy and hold them in prayer to the One who knows the beginning from the end.

  10. I read this earlier today, dear Patricia, and have been praying for you, lifting you up to Jesus, asking for His mercy and love to intervene in your situations. Thank you for letting me pray with you and God bless you always!!!

  11. Angel Terry, you are in a “crushing place” and i know that God knows and sees you. Praying for His mercy to fall all over you and Al. love and prayers!

  12. Oh my goodness, Ann full of grace and song . .this was so beautiful and perfect for this post. And I’m crying. Thank you so very much, for everything . .the song, the analogy of your mortar and pestle, the faith and trust of knowing that God is still in control. You are such a special blessing to us! God bless YOU and show you His wonderful mercy today!

  13. Being crushed can hurt. Watching others hurt can be painful, too. I’m so glad we can pray.

    Your thoughts and reference brought to mind:

    Surely He hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem Him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.
    But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon Him; and with His stripes we are healed. ….
    Yet it pleased the LORD to bruise Him; He hath put Him to grief: when Thou shalt make His soul an offering for sin, He shall see His seed, He shall prolong His days, and the pleasure of the LORD shall prosper in His hand. ~Isaiah 53:4-5, 10

  14. Life can certainly be a crusher! God bless you, dear Desiray, as you push back with mercy prayers. I know He listens and answers you!

  15. Oh Gladwell, that was my exact thought. It was so hard where I was, that I really wanted Him to end it. . .however that may be. God bless you as He delivers you out from the crushing times!

  16. So thankful for you Sis Caddo as you teach me each day and help me to pray! I LOVE that you added that His mercies are new every morning and how that is something to stand in and on! Yes Ma’am! God bless you bigger and bigger still! love and hugs and happy labor day wishes!

  17. God bless you too, Mr. Larry, as you share from experience to pray for others in the midst of our own trials. Those are real power prayers.
    I didn’t have any tapioca . . .so went for a yogurt instead. 🙂

  18. I love what you shared, Mentor Angela! Thank you so much for bringing that testimony here, to encourage as that God doesn’t leave us there. In His mercy , He does undertake.
    God bless you as you serve our amazing God who makes all the difference to us! love and prayers!

  19. Confusing is a good description, Ali! That is how we feel. So thankful with you for the One who knows the beginning from the end! God bless you and hold you today!

  20. I love the verses from Isaiah that you shared, sweet Heather . . .how beautiful and perfect for us! Thank you!!! And thankful with you for prayer! God bless you and yours and keep you always!

  21. thank you always for your prayers, they are most powerful………

  22. I spent some time with an elderly friend this afternoon who is crushed just now by so many changes happening–all very challenging. I must remember, as I lift her up, that His mercy is already washing over her to calm her soul and give her peace.

  23. Amen! Many are crushed in spirit and need our urgent prayers! Great post, Deb.
    God Bless You!

  24. What a beautiful prayer, Patricia, and also what a beautiful friend you are, to be beside her now, at this time. God bless you too, as you pray!

  25. Yes, the crushed in spirit . . .that is it what is happening, Lady D! Oh, thank you for being here and helping us pray. God bless you and your ever willing heart to cry out for others!

  26. […] “Crush Me” “Oh, that I might have my request, that God would grant me the thing that I long for! That it would please God to crush me . . .”  Job 6:8 […]

  27. Deb,

    as we all face these times of distress and pressures it is such a comfort to know that there are those like yourself who are willing to serve the Lord and present His Word to meet the needs of those around you. Thnk you for your faithfulness to Him. Lord bless.

  28. God bless you, Pastor Rob, as you help others through the tough times! Your studies of His Word strengthen us!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

