Leaving “Me” Out Of It

“But as for me, I would seek God, and to God I would commit my cause . . .”  Job 5:8

Telling someone what WE would do isn’t always what they need to hear.

Lord, help me listen more than I speak. And here ‘s a simple poem . . .

Your Shoes

source – bethelkidsleaders.wordpress.com

I could not tell you
what I would do
if I
were in your shoes

they would not fit me
for they were made
especially by God
for you.

 

(Debbie at TwoMinutesofGrace wrote something about this, if you want to go check it out! )

Published in: on September 1, 2012 at 7:39 am  Comments (16)  
Tags: , , , , ,

16 Comments

  1. Excellent, excellent word for us, Sis Deb–I’m gonna try to keep that roll of duct tape handy!! God bless your weekend–whole bunches!! love, sis Caddo

  2. that was so nice, i loved it!

  3. This is a good complement to your post on judging others. Sometimes, even my “help” is offered in a judgmental manner!

  4. When I was a senior in high school, I had a knee operation for a football related injury. After leaving the recovering room and returning to my hospital room, my mom was determined that I needed to eat some chicken broth. Moms are always moms, right? I said “no,’ but she insisted by putting a spoonful to my lips. I swallowed the spoonful and then promptly spewed vomit all over her dress. Her reply: “Well, you don’t have to get mad about it, do you?”

    This little incident is sort of what can happen when we give free advice to people going through tough times.

    Nice shoes!

  5. I think I used up your roll of duct tape, Sis Caddo . .. will be sending you a new one! 🙂 God bless you and your boys this weekend! love you!

  6. God bless you, Angel Terry, as you walk with Jesus today! Love and hugs!

  7. I do this, sweet Heather . .I know I do. Going through Job is really eye opening for me! God bless you as you stay close to Jesus and help others to as well! love and prayers for your weekend!

  8. Those shoes have been some places, haven’t they! 🙂
    Oh Mr. Larry . . your story REALLY brings out the importance of how we respond to people during hard times! It’s not about us right then and what we think and what we would do or have done. It can just make a bad situation worse . .. like your poor momma found out. eeewww. Loved her comment to you though! haha!
    God bless you as you listen to others with compassion today!

  9. Can you get the pretty floral kind, not silver? I know, I’m SO picky!

  10. Gotcha . . I’m going to look for a sparkly kind! 🙂 love you!

  11. Debbie,

    What a great request to ask of the Lord…. “Lord, help me listen more than I speak.” How much do we all need to make this request! It seems to me as if we are all born with an attitude of wanting ot speak more than listen. How sad it is because in most cases, we really have very little to say and much to learn. Oh wahty a blessing it will be to sit at the Lord’s feet throughout eternity and silently listen to what He has for us. Lord bless you! Thanks for your faithfulness in serving our Lord!

  12. I’ve heard it said that God gave us 2 ears and only one mouth, so we could listen more than talk. haha! Maybe some truth to that! God bless you as you keep your ears and heart open to Him, Pastor Rob!

  13. Praise God! Great post, Deb. No judgement – just compassion with open ears and arms!
    God Bless you!

  14. Oh I like “open ears and arms”. 🙂 God bless you muchly, sweet listening Lady D!

  15. I love this

  16. Thank you for stopping by! So good to see you! God bless you as He blesses others through you today!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

