Withholding Times

“If one attempts a word with you, will you become weary?  But who can withhold himself from speaking?”  Job 4:2

I have less regret over the times I have not spoken, then over some of the times I have.

Lord, please check me and let me see my true motivation before I speak into someone’s situation.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Soft Spoken

source – en.wikipedia.org

Lord, let me hear
with someone else’s ears
the words I’m about
to say

and if they are
too harsh and untimely
please seal my lips
I pray.

18 Comments

  1. “If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body.” I certainly haven’t reached perfection! As youngsters we were taught by some, that words cannot hurt, but the truth of the matter is, words do hurt! They can actually hurt a lot, leaving one scarred for life! I love this poem and the accompanying image! Lord, help me to think twice, but to speak only once! Please, season my words with grace! Thank you, Encouraging Debbie! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  2. What a profound thought of hearing with someone else’s ears the words we’re about to say. May we all find the skill and spirit to pause, ponder and reflect on the impact our words can have. In Jesus’ name.
    God bless and thanks again for your wisdom!

  3. Hey sis that is one of scriptures I wrote this week on paper. I see God had you do the same thing, Imagine that..How great our Lord is, for there is allot of truth in that. Had me thinking about myself.

  4. “…I have less regret over the times I have not spoken, then over some of the times I have…”

    A very wise statement which allows for those times when one needs to speak with force and authority. But often, my tongue has not been a tree of life to others.

  5. We can truly be humbled when we let God lead our conversations and our motives. This poem is so timely for me, as a blessing to rest in His promptings and not my own. Thanks for sharing Lady Debbie.

  6. Excellent word in a beautiful simple poem, Sis Deb–and you got a smile out of me with the big fat roll of duct tape!! Did you swipe that out of my tool box, or is it your own? God bless you on “Hallelujah–it’s Friday!!!” Much love from your sis, Caddo

  7. How can I write? I’m laughing too much over your choice of a pic!

    Deb, I think we all need a roll of duct tape. All too often our mouth is in gear before our brain, or more importantly, our inner man.

    If we “heard with someone else’s ears” before we spoke, we would often change the words or delete them. Thanks Deb for the challenge!

    We serve an amazing God who DELIGHTS to lead us in His way and give us HIS words to speak! Let’s listen to Him before we start.

  8. Love you, Paulette, and am keeping a hold of “think twice but speak only once”! What a great insight and help! Asking Him to season my words right along with you! God bless you and your words and worship that shares Life!

  9. God bless you, sweet Ali, as you choose your words carefully and speak gently today! Thinking of your recent post along with this, I realized that is one of the reasons that I like to write more than talk . . writing allows us to read and readjust what we have said. I need that time and chance to look at my words before throwing them out there! Love and prayers for a great weekend!

  10. Oh I love it when He has us in the same places! 🙂 Really blesses me and encourages me. God bless you as you go forth with His word today, Minister Desiray!

  11. I am thankful for you, Mr. Larry, and for the times that you do speak with force and authority over His people’s lives. You do much more good than you know. 🙂 I continue to need His help with this. If I just wait a bit , just consider a few moments . .I can get the check from Him I need ( the duct tape ) or the nudge to go ahead. God bless you and all the ways that He encourages others through you!

  12. You are so welcome, Tahlitha and I’m blessed that you are here. It can be eye opening to me when He shows me what is really behind what I think I HAVE to say. And yes, humbling. Which is better to go through than hurting someone! God bless you and yours with His peace and joy and Word!

  13. Uh oh . .you caught me with my hand in the tool box! haha! It’s because He already used my roll up on me . . we had to go for yours! teehee! God bless you this fabulous Friday and fill you with His abundant love. love and prayers and thanks for letting me borrow the duct tape. Putting it back now . . . 🙂

  14. I’m so glad you could laugh with me!! And how you put that, that our mouths get in gear before our inner man . . .that is wonderful, mentor Angela, and just exactly what happens to me. I need to shift gears and slow down a bit, idle with Him and hear what He wants me to say. God bless you as He delights in you today!! love and prayers! 🙂

  15. Thanks for a great post! Here’s a verse God hears from me when I’m feeling challenged. I plead: “Set a watch, O LORD, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.” Psalm 141:3
    He is so faithful when we desire to align our will with His. 🙂

  16. Oh I love that verse! Probably a better choice than duct tape. . .:) God bless you and your desire to stay within His will always! Thank you for such a great comment!

  17. Oh this is so hard for me. God is constantly working on me in this area of bringing a soft word! Thanks Deb for bringing the voice of the Holy Spirit to me today as a reminder to watch my words!

  18. Pastor J . .. you are in a different place and probably have to bring a harder word and truth to people! So praying with you that He will give you the words that will say what the listener really needs to hear and that their ears are ready for them. God bless you as you continue to minister in His name!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

