When The Opposite Occurs

“On the day that the enemies of the Jews had hoped to overpower them, the opposite occurred, in that the Jews themselves overpowered those who hated them.”  Esther 9:1

When the villain is taken away in the G-rated movies she watches, our youngest often says, “That’s what happens when you do bad things.”

Lord, forgive me and change my heart each day so that I do not despise or hold anyone in contempt.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Over Powered

source – news.bbc.co.uk

Over and over
we see God’s hand
what was meant to harm
is turned to good again
for in God’s Kingdom
evil can’t exist
and we rejoice
having rest from it.

24 Comments

  1. Hatred is a very strong emotion that many times will lead us apart from God’s will. The only hatred God desires for His people to carry is hatred against sin. This will work as an encouragement for us all to live holy lives for HIm.

  2. Oh Sis Deb, this is such a wonderful wonderful message–and I also love what your little one said! Praying today that I can forgive a specific someone, repent of holding onto hurt. And praying God’s abundant blessing on your day–a Terrific Tuesday!! love, sis Caddo

  3. “Lord, forgive me and change my heart each day so that I do not despise or hold anyone in contempt.”
    Amen

    Thank you for the simple truths, Deb.

    I appreciate your ministry.

    Blessings
    ann

  4. God bless you, Pastor Rob, as He protects you from those who would hate or harm you. Thank you for living for Jesus!

  5. Oh .. .I love it being Terrific Tuesday! 🙂 And am always praying that I forgive quickly as well, so that resentment , bitterness and hatred doesn’t set in. God bless you and keep His hand upon you for good! love and prayers and hugs!

  6. Thank you Ann full of grace and song, for your support and prayers. God bless you as you let Him undertake for you today!

  7. This is such a great post. Pray that the Lord would give me eyes to see all of the good He is working in each new situation that I face.

    Love,
    Theresa

  8. You are so sweet, woman of the Word. Thank you for seeing through those special eyes He gives you, and into each situation. God bless you and hold you as He turns things around, keeping you from evil and harm. love you and am praying for you as school starts up again!
    p.s. I didn’t think this post came together right . . .so thank you for encouraging me to keep trying! 🙂

  9. What, are you kidding? It’s Perfect, Sis Deb!! (Holy Spirit ink!!)

  10. teehee! You are the sweetest, Sis. Holy Spirit Ink! 🙂 Thank you for blessing me and helping me! You know how we writers are . ..sometimes we just don’t feel we get it quite right. That’s what I love about the comments. Readers add to and straighten out when I need them to the most! Love you!

  11. Reminds me – and many other readers I’m sure – of Joseph. People might intend to harm or show bitterness towards us, but God has other plans and He turns their efforts to bless us and cause us to “grow” in Him.

    What an amazing God!

    (and what an amazing scribe He has chosen to bless us. Thanks Deb for being His instrument)

  12. Deb, I’ve just replied but it isn’t showing. Would you check your spam? This happened a couple of times yesterday.

  13. Thankful for God’s mighty hand and conquering ways! Good post, Deb!
    God Bless You!

  14. Be right back with you! 🙂

  15. Oh me too, Lady D! He is the Best at turning things around! God bless you and your turtle rescuers!

  16. YES! I love that Joseph reference , Mentor Angela, and pray to remember this whenever it looks like evil is going to win out. It’s not over until He says it’s over, and I will choose to believe that He is working good in it! God bless you and thank you for encouraging me and helping me here on this simple blog! love and prayers! p.s. and you are SO NOT spam! haha!

  17. Deb, I don’t know if it is the same in America, but here in Australia, Spam is some sort of tinned meat. I can’t tell you anything about it, since I’ve never tried it. I prefer REAL meat.

  18. Love you Angela. . .and your comment! Yes, you are all about the real deal . . .JESUS! 🙂 Not that fake stuff!

  19. Such a challenging request – to examine our own hearts and keep them free of spite and contempt. Can be so many things that can happen in a day or week that we could choose to hold on to and brew over – but I love how your poem reminds us that God can take and turn those things for good if we will release them to Him and walk in the ways of His Kingdom. Bless you Deb and I agree with Caddo this post has Holy Spirit ink but completely empathize with writer’s doubt 🙂 xx

  20. …for in God’s Kingdom evil can’t exist… Those words have struck home like a bombshell. What a God we have!!!

    Love your words of courage Deb!!

    Gladwell

  21. Love you, sweet Aimee and thank you for your comments . .which always bless me. This time the “release them to Him and walk in the ways of His Kingdom” stood out to me. I know that feeling of thinking I have to turn this around myself. And also the part about examining our own hearts . .. so true. it is natural for me to immediately think that I don’t hate anyone, but things happen and I need to keep it ALL before Him because little attitudes and opinions can slip in that aren’t of Him and then they grow into something bigger, like hate.
    God bless you as you just keep blessing us!!! Love and prayers for you to see Him at work in your life this week!

  22. I’m so glad that God used that part especially for you, Gladwell! 🙂 I paused over wording it that way for a bit. God bless you for letting me know that He was in it. And something about “words of courage” really blesses me . .. thank you! love and prayers for you and yours and the wells that are springing forth, for His glory.

  23. This morning I read this verse: Col. 1:13 “For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves.”

  24. So good to see you, Mike! I am reading your book and it is ministering to me hugely. Like all your writing does.Thank you!
    What a beautiful and powerful verse in Col. you shared. So thankful to be rescued and brought into the kingdom of the Son! God bless you as He keeps and covers you today!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

