Wanting More (For Others)

“So Haman came in, and the king asked him, ‘What shall be done for the man whom the king delights to honor?’  Now Haman thought in his heart, ‘Whom would the king delight to honor more than me?’ ”  Esther 6:6

When I was a new born believer, struggling with “self” confidence and low “self” esteem, God told me three little words . . .”Think of others.”

Lord, help us to want for others more than we want for ourselves.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Found Wanting

source – oneyearbibleblog.com

“Who could the king want
to honor more than me?”

set Haman up
for a catastrophe

but, “who could I want
great things for today?”

delights the King
and so I pray.

19 Comments

  1. Oh Sis Deb, this is beyond beautiful–and such an accurate reflection of your heart for Him, and others. I see it everyday–don’t tell me I don’t! I love the example you set for us in this simple poem–so filled with grace, that I willing pray, “help me do that, too, Lord!!” God bless you, sweet Sis–love, sis Caddo

  2. Sweet poem Deb and something that we don’t learn any longer. So much emphasis on self-confidence and resume writing and asking for what we want.

  3. excellent post if we could do just that and get away from what we need we would be so much better but we got a long way to go because we need to truly have a heart like God. I always said if we did what the apostles did in no one would ever go without food, job or anything because they went around breaking bread everyday seeing the needs of people but we don’t do that and when I have mentioned it on numerous times on the radio people give me to stare as if I have a third eye…If we use the same principles they used than no one would be in need.. AMEN

  4. God bless you, Sis Caddo Delight whose heart desires to give and give and see others full and overflowing with His goodness and love! I think He already answered that prayer of yours . . .a long time ago! 🙂 love you and praying for your day to abound in His grace!

  5. Oh Tammy . ..I didn’t really think about that, how we aren’t taught to want things for others, but to do all we can to secure ourselves and our future. Thank you for helping me see that! God bless you and all that you want for others!

  6. Thank you , dear Desiray, for showing us what living like this does . ..it covers the deep needs around us! Oh that helps me pray and want for others even more! God bless you as you minister in His love today!

  7. Hello dear Debbie,this is just good!! And I did enjoy it so much. How like God,to put others before ourselves,being humble and honoring God as we do.
    Love you 😀

  8. Great poem. Our world teaches us that self is important above all. Jesus teaches us the exact opposite.

  9. You are welcome my dear God is amazing the more one gets closer to Him the more you want to do more for others.

  10. Deb, this ‘simple poem’ is indeed simple and yet so incredibly profound. There can be no doubt that the Lord gave you His message. Thank you for being His instrument.

    Do we want a catastrophe or do we want to delight our King?
    Simple choice!

    May we delight our King many times today and I’ll start by praying that our amazing God does great things for YOU, His faithful servant, today.

  11. Love you, Precious Pat, and all that He wants for you, I want for you too!!! God bless you and yours and give you rest!

  12. God bless you, Jeff, and your walk with Him! That is a great way to tell what we should do . .. the opposite of what the world would say to do . .that would be Jesus!

  13. Mentor Angela, you bless me in so many ways and I just keep learning from you. 🙂 Thank you so much for the encouragement and the prayer! It does seem like a simple choice . ..praying that I don’t make these things harder than they have to be!
    God bless you as He brings you what you need and so much more . .just because He loves you.

  14. Thanks for this, Debbie.

    The Lord is in the process of showing me how abandoning “myself” to His care is the ONLY way I can have true peace in all circumstances.

    Yours is yet another confirmation of the truth that JOY is an appropriate acronym for relaying the order of placing Jesus first, then Others, then You (“me”) in last place.

  15. I love that JOY acronym, sweet Heather . .thank you for sharing it here! I know when I start to think of myself too much, regardless of what others may tell me about it (that it is okay, I need to do this, etc. etc.) I lose that joy that comes from trusting Jesus to take care of me while I put Him and others first.
    God bless you as you abandon yourself to His care. You are in good hands!

  16. Think of others — Our Lord has powerful words and awesome wisdom! If only we would think of others consistently. Thanks for sharing!
    God Bless you, Deb!

  17. He sure knew what I needed to do! 🙂 God bless you, Lady D, as you keep seeking Him and the good of others each day!

  18. “Think of others” – absolutely wonderful cure for doubting oneself! thank you.

  19. God is so wise and wonderful .. .and always knows just what we need! God bless you, Pastor Rob, as you go through your extra busy month of August!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

