Inside Israel – your sis from Jerusalem – Part 3

Hi and welcome to Part 3 of a letter from J of Jerusalem, sharing about life inside Israel. Thank you and God bless you for your prayers! Now, here’s J . . .

But that morning meeting is not at all typical of my daily battle on the newly changed public transportation system.  Tourists and occasional riders of the train continue to enjoy it, but for the very many of us who are forced to rely on public transportation for a way to work or study, it has been a source of much stress and even anger.  Almost daily I have been witnessing strong outbursts of frustrated anger and it makes me very sad.  There appear to be two or three main problems; the train line has replaced many bus routes, so, where in the past if one bus was delayed, it was more often then not possible to take another.  Now, if the train is delayed (regularly!) the wait can be very uncomfortable.  Since in the past the amount of people were squeezed into a number of differently routed buses, now EVERYONE is squeezed into one train…they are usually CROWDED…as in VERY!  Also the trains have a much automated feeling.  They are kept quite clean (this is nice)…so much so that there is no garbage can in the car, much to everyone’s curiosity.  But, you see, as a people, we are USED TO ‘people’; a bus driver; someone from whom you can ask directions or ask to wait a moment or ask for assistance.  The ‘sterile’ computerized system with one driver in an enclosed cabin and automated announcements of stations is very alien here…and (nope…I don’t think I am exaggerating) it has actually DEPRESSED the locals.  And so, we continue to work at adjusting to the new system that we can do nothing about.  The general response that we all encourage one another with (and one I repeat to myself constantly) is ‘Our job here is to keep our hearts quiet and uncomplaining and to be kind to each other.’  To this end our train system has been an excellent test of character. 
How I love the scriptures!  How ALIVE they are!  Right now I am reading in Numbers, Psalms and Revelation.  It is exciting to be living here and reading the Words that so obviously have not passed away.  I walk among modern expressions of the things that I read about morning by morning.  I watch men running to work with leather straps wrapped around their arm linking heart to head where a small leather box is strapped at the end and tied to the forehead.  In this box are the commandments.  This is called tfillin and is the symbolic keeping of the command to “bind them (these Words of Mine) in your heart and in your soul, and bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes…” Deut 11:18  I pass proud young parents and a happy family on their way to the ‘brit milah’ (circumcision ceremony on the 8th day, commanded from the time of Avraham – carried out in the life of Yeshua our Savior Himself) – on and on it goes… when the shabat horn is blown reminding us that God has said “You shall KEEP the Sabbath” – at every corner there appears to be another reminder of the eternal faithfulness of the Words given…and yet the eyes of most of the people are still closed…waiting.  As His Word has endured I have encouragement that His PROMISES have equally endured…and that so “ALL ISRAEL SHALL BE SAVED!” While we live these things, the world around us changes rapidly.  A law was just floated in Germany banning any form of circumcision, even for religious reasons.  It is being fought and likely won’t stand, but those of you in Europe know that circumcision, the covenant of the Jewish people with God, is challenged in, perhaps every country as barbaric and child abuse and mutilation. It is exciting to be able to participate with The Lord in prayer for His purposes…knowing well His faithfulness to His Word…what a season to live in!  What a privilege to be His!
I had so wanted to write to you concerning our family as well, but it is now time to leave for fellowship and I must run.  Our younger daughter and her new husband Yitzhak, who were married on 20 June, have just transferred the work that they are doing (selling Israeli products in malls) from Ypsilanti, Michigan to Orange City, Calif.  They seem to be much happier with this working situation, but again, I ask for continued prayer that The Holy Spirit will pursue them.  There appear (to me from searching the web) to be very few Churches in their area…if any besides Roman Catholic…  But I trust that God has His faithful children even there…and surely His Spirit knows no boundaries. Please pray that His witness will pursue them with TRUTH while they are there, and that they will find Him!
 Thank you for your prayers for our family and for our nation!  May God Himself strengthen and encourage each one of you…and me…His kid here.  ALL for His glory!  Love, your sis
ani b’derek
Published in: on August 5, 2012 at 7:42 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

7 Comments

  1. […] Deb of Deb’s Blog you my friend, have been a great blessing to me and I truly want to thank you. You always brighten […]

  2. Congratulations Deb of Deb’s Blog you my friend, have been a great blessing to me and I truly want to thank you. You always brighten my day and have a nice and encouraging word to say. What better description of Sunshine can there be God bless you! I have awarded you the You Are My Sunshine Award! You can pick it up at: http://loopyloo305.com/2012/08/05/you-are-my-sunshine-award/

  3. thank you Debbie, I need all of your postings….i read them because they help

  4. Thank you so much, loopyloo! You are so kind and generous! I love how you just keep pouring Him out to us! God bless you and keep you this day!

  5. Thinking of you, angel Terry, and praying too! God bless you and love on you today!

  6. Thanks for sharing, Bridging Deb

    J’s letters always put things in perspective. 🙂

    I keep thinking about those who are ‘physically’ keeping the commandments. So diligent in doing what they believe He requires….

    Blessings,
    ann

  7. I think about that too, Ann full of grace. . .There is something very beautiful about it, and heartbreaking, at the same time. God bless you as you love Him today!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

