Longsuffering

“However for that reason I obtained mercy, that in me first Jesus Christ might show all longsuffering, as a pattern to those who are going to believe on Him for everlasting life.” 1 Timothy 1:16

Here are a few definitions of long suffering:

*quality of self-restraint in the face of provocation
*does not hastily retaliate or promptly punish
*opposite of anger
*does not surrender to circumstances or succomb under pressure
*endures lasting offense or hardship.

Lord, thank You for what You are doing in us despite of ourselves. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Enduring

source – christcenteredmall.com

Ever patient, loving kind
You aren’t quick to punish
full of mercy, You always work
on what is within us
for our good and the good
of others all around us
You use everything to show
just how much You’re for us.

22 Comments

  1. Whew ! You picked an excellent word for this blog sis. When it comes to longsuffering that is something that we the Body of Christ don’t want to endure..And the sad thing is this we gotta, Jesus never said we would be exempt from life…if we don’t endure longsuffering how can you understand your relationship with Chris? You can’t because to know Him is to know His suffering…AMEN

    I love this word and thanks for sharing it…

  2. Thank you for explaining about longsuffering and how it applies to our relationship with Jesus, dear Desiray! πŸ™‚ You encourage and help me and bless the body of Christ. I knew it’s not the most popular thing to share about. haha! God bless you and all that you go through and suffer for His greater good.

  3. i was hurt very badly by one of my children’s mouths last night, so although my emotional pain is high, your posting brought some comfort

  4. Oh angel Terry, I’m so sorry and am praying for you healing and peace in knowing Him and His love and keeping of you . .. even when you suffer at the hands (and mouths) of others. God bless you and hug you today.

  5. thank u so much my friend. i need a friend right now

  6. Oh YES, Sis Deb–I love that He doesn’t waste a thing, but uses Everything for our good and His glory. It’s always a good reminder–that He is FOR us, even in the bad times. Thank you, blessed sister, for always shining His Light. God bless your day, and weekend–much love, sis Caddo

  7. I love how you saw this, which is what I was picking up on when i read the verse, that even those things that are hard in us (or on us) Jesus uses as an example to others of His own longsuffering, so we know what that looks like and how it applies to our lives.
    God bless you too, sweet Sis Caddo, as He stands long for you and with you through it all! love and prayers!

  8. Thank you for including such a complete definition of “longsuffering”. It is not a commonly used word in our culture; but is such an important concept for the Christian to grasp. Not only in the way God deals with *me*, but in how I need to interact with others!

    There is a tendency, I think, for me to take for granted the incredible privilege it is to be called “child” by the Maker of All. And, that leads to the type of testing of God’s grace that Jesus condemned when He refused to throw Himself off of the top of the temple.

    It does seem as though the better awareness I have of the Lord’s patience, the less likely I am to become easily offended at others. And, when I do fail, the need to confess and repair relationships becomes an urgent priority.

  9. What a word, for such a time as this! Although no one invites suffering, myself included, when I find myself suffering, enduring long suffering, may it all be to the glory and honor of God, and to the edification of the body of Christ! May it draw me closer and closer to Him! Encouraging Debbie, the definitions you included spoke volumes! Even on today, these qualities are hopefully being perfected in me! Thank you so much for sharing on this topic! The Lord bless you today, and hold you close!

    Paulette

  10. Do you think sometimes we’re suffering even without knowing?

  11. Thanks so much sweet Heather, for such a great comment. I love that you talked about our own longsuffering in dealing with others. Surely that is part of the pattern Jesus wants us to see!
    God bless you as you stay ever sensitive to Him! love and prayers!

  12. You bless me so much . .and this made me cry, just thinking about the suffering that you go through, yet give your life over to glorify Him. God bless you and hold you close too, Praising Paulette, as you endure and never let go of the One you love and Who loves you! love and prayers!

  13. Tammy, I think that can happen. It might be something that He slowly reveals to us and helps us understand and endure with His grace, while before this we just knew that something wasn’t right, or we’re angry or sad, etc. God bless you and yours this weekend!

  14. Amen! Binding Christ’s traits to me — God knows I need them! πŸ™‚
    Great post, Deb.
    God Bless you & yours!

  15. This one is so convicting, but much needed. I was thinking about something as I read this and a question came to my mind. I have seen little kids yank on a dog’s tail over and over, and laugh while they watch him chase it. Do you suppose we could say the dog was long suffering if he growled once in a while, but never bit the child? I’m a lot like that dog I bark and growl a lot at my pups (especially the 24 year old pup)…Then I tell them I’m sorry and go to my room and cry when I snap….sigh

    Love,
    Theresa

  16. Oh me too, Lady D! Still smiling and thinking about Lily’s , “My heart . .he hurt my Jesus”! That was something else! God bless you and keep you safe . . .are there fires near you, Dei?

  17. Oh my wonderful woman of the Word . . .YES you are still longsuffering even when you need to correct and disagree with disagreeable behavior!!! You have not disowned your pups and high tailed it to another state! You can teach us all about this, believe me. Now, give yourself a hug for me and play some music you like and light a candle. I’m thinking you still have a long way to go yet and you will need some God comfort along the way! Love you lots and am thinking of you!

  18. Thanks again. Love you bunches.

  19. Yes, about 3 miles north of the airport some 640 acres burned. But Steve said it didn’t look like any houses burned. Now an hour and half South, that fire took out a lot of houses. Oklahoma is on fire, dry, and hot! Much prayer is needed!
    Lili is my special little girl! She puts a smile on my face constantly! πŸ™‚

  20. Long suffering is a wonderful gift that comes form God’s Grace. Thanks for reminding us of it’s importance. Lord bless.

  21. I love thinking about it coming from God’s grace, which is always sufficient. Thank you Pastor Rob, for showing us that! God bless you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

