God Fractions

“And they stood up in their place and read from the Book of the Law of the LORD their God,  for one fourth of the day; and for another fourth they confessed and worshiped the LORD their God.”  Nehemiah 9:3

The more we read God’s word, the more we know Him and realize how much more we need Him.

Oh Lord, I desire to spend time each day reading Your Word, confessing, praising, worshiping and praying.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Options

There isn’t time for
thoughts that don’t bless
God and others
lifting up Jesus
so throughout the day
let me check and see
if I’m not praying, praising or worshiping
then let it a confession be.

25 Comments

  1. Lovely Debbie. More time for prayer and praise.

  2. That sounds great to me, Tammy! 🙂 God bless you as you choose your options in Him today!

  3. “The more we read God’s word, the more we know Him and realize how much more we need Him.” This is one of the great reasons why we should always be in His Word. Great posting Debbie. Lord bless.

  4. Amen!

  5. God bless you, Pastor Rob, as you keep in His Word and keep sharing it in the unique way He gifts you to!

  6. God bless you Ted! It’s nice to know we have options! 🙂

  7. “…There isn’t time for
    thoughts that don’t bless…”

    I agree. Now, if only I could somehow set my mind on a godly cruise control at the beginning of each day and just head down the road.

    Have a great day. Stay home and bake cookies.

  8. I have nominated you for the Very Inspired Blogger Award. You can pick it up with the instructions at http://loopyloo305.com/2012/07/30/very-inspired-blogger-award-2/

  9. This poem is “perfect”, Debbie!

    You made me think of:

    2Corinthians 10:5 We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ,

    I know this verse is often applied to the sphere of apologetics (ie being ready to give an answer for the hope that is in us). But, often, the arguments and lofty opinions come from inside myself.
    The internal battle can be won only by submitting my own mind and will to be conformed to that of Christ.

  10. Amen to this blog!

  11. I like the thought of a godly cruise control. 🙂 And staying home and baking cookies! 🙂 God bless you and how you use your time for Him today!

  12. Thank you so very much, loopyloo! God bless you as you keep us inspired and encouraged and Jesus lifted high!

  13. I love that you brought that verse from 2 Corin. here, sweet Heather! Thank you! I think it goes really well! And can well understand that often the arguments and lofty opinions can come from myself. God bless you as you submit yourself to Him, in joy and thanksgiving! love and prayers for your day!

  14. God bless you, Angel Terry, as you pray, praise and read today!

  15. You are most welcome Debbie, God bless you!

  16. Oh, you scared me for a sec, Sis–I thought I was back in Math Class!! Godly cruise control, GPS–can I order them here? Okay, I’m serious now–I LOVE this poem. A LOT. Great job, perfect reminder of where my thoughts need to be fixed. I’m thankful for the Shepherd Who keeps redirecting me with a gentle push, poke, pull–whatever I need, He’s THERE!! Praise HIm, Praise Him! God bless you–love, sis Caddo

  17. Hello my dear friend!
    It’s taken me so long to understand the difference between reading the Word to know more about God and reading the Word to know God more.The first leaves me with lots of room for options – the second draws my heart, as you so rightly put it – to a place where there isn’t time or space for thoughts that don’t bless.
    Thank you for the gentle encouragement,
    Debbie

  18. Love you, Sis Caddo Delight! I’m thinking He doesn’t have to push, poke or pull you much . .. you are always right there, so eager to be with Him and praise Him and know Him more. 🙂 I think we are going to have to start a separate website with that tool kit, the head vac, the cruise control and GPS . ..for starters! 😀 God bless you and your heart that always beats for Him!

  19. Oh gracious FF . . .I didn’t think of that, the difference between knowing more about God and knowing God more. Thank you! 🙂 I so desire that place where there isn’t time or space for anything that He doesn’t want. God bless you and your gracious ways and gate guarding days (well, nights!). love and prayers and thanks!

  20. God bless you, Dearest Deb…

    I want every breath to bring Him praise….

    (I cannot write all that is in my heart, so all I will say is THANK YOU! and May God bless you over and over again!)

    Grateful,
    ann

  21. God bless you, Ann full of grace and song! Thank you for the song that says it all for us all! We are His, every bit of us. love and prayers and thanking Him for opening doors for you!

  22. Oooh this is a good one Deb! Something God’s been challenging me about. To be more focused on Him, stop worrying about what others are up to, to reign in my thoughts and especially my words. If they’re not words of blessing just be quiet! Very convicting and challenging poem – and you always manage to do it in such a pleasant way! Bless you xx

  23. Sweet Aimee, there was something about them spending a fourth of the day confessing and worshiping and a fourth reading . . ..and I thought I could spend that much time doing those things . . .all throughout the day . . .if I just didn’t have all the other stuff going on in me and coming out of me! God bless you as you keep listening to Him and obeying Him. You shine! love and prayers!

  24. Oh man this one hit me right between the eyes. I am committing this one to memory. May I post it on my Facebook and twitter and reblog it?

  25. I’m so glad that it blessed you, Pastor J. Yes, you can use it however you want, thanks for asking. God bless you as you commit yourself and your time to Jesus!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

