Proactive Prayer

“Then the king said to me, ‘What do you request?’  So I prayed to the God of heaven.”  Nehemiah 2:4

Nehemiah prayed to God before he responded to the king.  Too often I pray after the fact.

Lord, help me to be proactive in my prayers.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

First: Prayer

No matter who I find myself
standing and asking of

no matter what I might think
they are capable of

let me pray first
to the God of all things

the One that can answer
even through earthly kings.

Published in: on July 21, 2012 at 12:40 am  Comments (23)  
Tags: , , ,

23 Comments

  1. My wife will call up in the middle of the day and ask for prayer about something at work. Maybe it’s a customer she has to give bad news to or she has to ask her boss for a favor, but she is always proactive…even more than me,

    So, Lord help me to be proactive, too.

  2. excellent!

  3. Great word, Sweet Sis Deb–I need this one tattooed on my arm!! Thank you so much for your faithfulness to pray, and for the generous love and grace you share with us. Praying right now for you and Aubie, as you continue your sabbatical (and for sick doggies). Much love, sis Caddo

  4. My first thought of the day is saying good morning to the Lord, but how many times throughout the day do I forget to ask Him FIRST before going ahead with saying or doing? Too many!

  5. Thanks for sharing, Dearest Deb.

    “let me pray first”
    May this be my prayer. For every situation. Regardless…

    Thanks for the ‘simple’ truth, Poet Deb.

    Blessings
    ann

  6. Wonderful encouragement and advice, Encouraging Debbie! I like the idea of “Proactive Prayer!” Thank you so much!!! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  7. Deb, I really cannot add to your posting. Just emphasize your statement “Nehemiah prayed to God before he responded to the king. Too often I pray after the fact.” Very well done. Thank you

  8. That Mrs. Who is something else and a wise lady! 🙂 Praying to get better about praying now . .. and not just when things are falling apart. God bless you as you pray as needed and before needed!

  9. God bless you, Angel Terry! There is so much to stay proactive about!

  10. Thank you for your prayers, Sis Caddo! You pray us through so much! Even the doggy is getting better! God bless you as you pray now and later! Love you!!!

  11. That is me, sweet Mentor Angela . .. in the middle of the moment, I may not always go to Him first, but after I make a mess of things. 🙂
    God bless you as you pray all through out the day, to the One who loves you!!!

  12. Yes, Ann full of grace and song . .for every situation it would be a great thing to do!! 🙂 God bless you as you pray and put Him first always!

  13. It couldn’t hurt, could it, Praising Him Paulette! 🙂 Now is the perfect time to pray . . and praise! God bless you and yours, as He listens to your heart today! love you!

  14. Thank you for understanding and teaching us to think about the things of God. Things like praying first! God bless you, Pastor Rob!

  15. Yes! Right NOW! I needed that reply, at this moment in time! You’re a God send! Love you too. Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

  16. Nehemiah prayed to God before he responded to the king. Too often I pray after the fact.

    Dear Debbie,

    Thank you for this timeless reminder to inquire first of my God.

  17. God bless you, sweet Heather, as you keep going to Jesus in prayer! love and prayers for you day!

  18. Oh yes, my sweet friend.
    I need this reminder.
    Pray first, say later! 😉

  19. I can always appreciate a person who writes and talks about prayer because that is one of the things that is truly lacking in our walk with God..and why I don’t know..often times I ask the Lord why people don’t pray but yet they bee the first ones asking someone to pray for them but won’t go to a prayer meeting as if God won’t answer their prayers…

  20. Hi gracious FF! 🙂 “Pray first, say later” would make a great bumper sticker or plaque! Praying the Holy Spirit blocks me from doing it in reverse. God bless you as His grace covers you and flows to others! love and prayers!

  21. God bless you, dear Desiray, and your heart for Him and prayer! I have to be careful that I am not talking about praying more than I am actually praying! Help me Jesus!

  22. I love Nehemiah’s example, and I love your poem!

    Love,
    Theresa

  23. The Book of Nehemiah is a great one! Lots of good examples in there! God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word, as you pray and love your Jesus! 🙂 love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

