We Have Sinned

” . . .please let Your ear be attentive and Your eyes open, that You may hear the prayer of Your servant which I pray before You now, day and night, for the children of Israel Your servants, and confess the sins of the children of Israel which we have sinned against You.  Both my father’s house and I have sinned.”  Nehemiah 1:6

We tend to notice other people’s sins.

Lord, help me pray “please forgive us”, not “please forgive them.”  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Fallen

We are
a fallen people

though You raise
us up again

so I confess
and ask forgiveness

for we all
we all have sinned.

14 Comments

  1. Insightful post, Debbie.
    Confessing someone else’s sin and worrying about whether THEY are right with God tends to cause me to ignore error in my own life. It also encourages me to become prideful as I begin to think I’m less guilty of offending God than “they” are.

  2. Excellent! I tell people (myself especially) the everything that God tells us is personal and directed only at me. I’ve got to work on my ‘log’. I can’t fix or change anyone but me. 🙂

  3. In the book of Daniel, there are no sins mentioned for Daniel. He is one of the few main characters without sin in the whole Bible, except Jesus of course. Thus, when you look at his intercession for Israel in Chapter 9, you realize this godly man identified himself with all of the sins of Israel.

    So I agree with your prayer:

    “Lord, help me pray “please forgive us”, not “please forgive them.”

  4. Such a gentle but powerfully worded truth, and prayer, Sis Deb–so good–and I love what the one commenter said, that God’s Word is to “me, personally” (not everyone else I can think of, when I’m wanting to run away from my own responsibilities). Thank you, and God bless you abundantly, dear Sis–love you much, sis Caddo

  5. “We tend to notice other people’s sins.”

    Sometimes it’s difficult to know if I’m judging or discerning. That’s why I find it liberating to daily let the Lord “do me over” before I decide. Praise God for the blood of Jesus! Thank you, Debbie.

  6. Sweet Heather . .I have felt that before too, that thinking I’m less guilty of offending God. yuck. Thank you for making this clearer about how pride enters in. God bless you as you pray!

  7. I love that, Ted . .working on your log. 🙂 I’ve got a forest of my own. (No wonder I don’t see so well! haha!)
    God bless you as He shows you what you need to do each day!

  8. Thank you for understanding what I was trying to say, Mr. Larry! And making it plainer. Identifying with all the sins is what I was sensing that I needed to do. God bless you as you go to Him in prayer for others and yourself!

  9. God bless you, too, dear Sis Caddo Delight, as He shows you how to pray and what to pray each day. Praying with you for Him to make it personal for me and not all about everyone else and their sin. Love you!

  10. That is a great prayer and practice, Roger. A “do over” by Jesus! 🙂 God bless you as you continue to listen to Him and pray!

  11. Thanks for sharing, Dearest Deb

    “Lord, help me pray “please forgive us”, not “please forgive them.” ”
    Amen and amen.

    Beautiful post and prayer. Much to contemplate… Praying I’ll be honest about the beam in my eye instead of pointing fingers.

    Blessings
    ann

  12. Amen, Encouraging Debbie! The line from your poem which Ann quoted, stood out for me, as well. Definitely food for thought! God bless!

    Paulette

  13. God bless you, Ann full of grace and song . .and a beautiful heart that seeks Him always! love and prayers!

  14. God bless you, praising Paulette, as you pray today and identify with others, wherever they may be! He loves you sooo much! I love you too! Sorry I missed Wed. worship . . next week I’ll be there for sure!! 🙂


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

