“For We Were Slaves”

“For we were slaves.  Yet our God did not forsake us in our bondage, but He extended mercy to us in the sight of the kings of Persia, to revive us, to repair the house of our God, to rebuild its ruins, and to give us a wall in Judah and Jerusalem.”  Ezra 9:9

God did not forsake us in our bondage either.

Lord, thank You for extending mercy to us through Jesus on the cross.  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Unforsaken

source – servantsofthefather.org

Oh what a wonder
Your mercy is to us

reviving, repairing
building us up in Jesus

for we were slaves
stuck in sin’s lair

but unforgotten as Mercy
brought us out of there.

31 Comments

  1. Oh what a wonder, indeed, Sis!!! Beautiful assurance to uplift us in the wee hours–thank you! God bless you as you do your cleaning gig today–love to you and Aubie angel, from sis Caddo

  2. I am so grateful, that the Lord did not allow us to remain entangled in the yoke of bondage, to sin! I praise God for His mercy, and His kindness! So undeserved. Thankful to be walking in the freedom, which only Jesus could afford us! What a loving Savior Jesus is! Thank you, Encouraging Debbie! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  3. God bless you, Sis Caddo of the NOG club! 🙂 May His mercies gentle you through your day. Thank you for your prayers . .sorry for the false start today! love you!

  4. I loved this part, praising Paulette . . walking in the freedom which only Jesus could afford us. That is so beautiful and true. No one else could pay the cost of our sins but Him. God bless you and thank you so much for singing His praises here! love and prayers for your day, sustained by His mercy!

  5. nice pic, deb.

  6. What a blessing it is to remember that we were enslaved to sin but now are experiencing the liberty that is in Christ. What a great thought to enter the weekend

  7. Blessings and thank you Dearest Delightful Deb

    “Lord, thank You for extending mercy to us through Jesus on the cross.”
    Amen.

    Grateful for our compassionate King and the sacrifice for our freedom.

    I have been told that there are 27 million slaves to human beings in our world today. I imagine even more are slaves to sin…. How wonderful it will be when the experience the freedom that Mercy brings.

    Grateful,
    ann

  8. We was a slaved to sin and still some people mindset they are still acting like they are slaves, just like when Moses delivered the children from Pharoh’s hand they complain and wanted to be back there..Just because a person is free in phyical they keep slave minds..

  9. “…for we were slaves…”

    Even after the Apostle Paul was freed from sin by Jesus, he referred to himself as a slave (bond-servant) of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ. (Titus 1:1)

    How many of us think like that today?

    Great post.

  10. While reading your poem and looking at the image, I thought- ” the same hammer and nails that held Him on the cross repair our lives and relationship with Him”.

  11. I have often felt Him holding me just as the picture portrays. He is the only one who is able to rescue from the bondage of sin. Looking anywhere else only creates more bondage. I am so thankful for His mercy, His love, His forgiveness!!

    Thank you, Debbie, for consistently bringing His truth to us. I know I can stop by any day of the week and find something worthy of pondering and ultimately leading me to praise. Love and hugs to you!

  12. Thanks Z! I’m getting better at finding pictures . .. sometimes. 🙂 God bless you and have a great weekend!

  13. Mercy definitely is a great thought to go into the weekend with! 🙂 Thank you and God bless you, Pastor Rob, for helping us think of Him each day!

  14. What a beautiful thought, Ann full of Jesus grace! 🙂 I am imagining the praise from that many people being set free! God bless you, grateful one, as He shows you His mercy and grace and favor! love and prayers for your weekend!

  15. Great point, dear Desiray, that our minds need freeing in Him too! God bless you as you share the wonder of His mercy today! You are a blessing!

  16. It’s a very counter culture thing to think about , isn’t it Mr. Larry? It has me thinking about “better is one day in Your courts, than countless elsewhere.” Better to be a slave to Jesus, than to be my own person chained to sin.
    God bless you as you serve Him today, a free slave!

  17. Oh Ted . .that is really wonderful. Are you sure you don’t have some poems in you? 🙂 God bless you and your relationship with Jesus! Thanks again for the beautiful sunset with scripture. . .that was so special!

  18. “Looking anywhere else only creates more bondage.” Oh, you have shared something important there, sweet Michelle. It just gets worse when we do that! I know! God bless you as you keep coming to Him . . .in faith, trusting and loving Him. My how He loves you! Thank you for coming by!!! love and hugs to you too!

  19. “for we were slaves
    stuck in sin’s lair”

    This reminds me of this passage of scripture:

    “1I waited patiently for the Lord; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry.

    2 He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.

    3 And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the Lord.

    4 Blessed is that man that maketh the Lord his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.” Psalm 40:1-4

    Thank you for sharing this post.

    Love,
    Theresa

  20. Enslaved! Chained! Bound! Hopeless, helpless, unable to do anything to resist! Completely and utterly under dominion.

    “But God” . . . (You knew I’d say it, didn’t you?)

    But God delivered me from bondage in the kingdom of darkness and He translated me into His kingdom of love. What deliverance! What freedom! What abundance!

    What an amazing salvation!
    What a truly amazing God!

  21. Thank YOU for sharing His Word, wonderful woman of the Word! These are the verses He gave me when I needed understanding and compassion for someone who was stuck in sin’s lair. He reminded me of what it was like again, when I was in that horrible pit. God bless you for speaking His heart to me today!!! love and prayers for a good weekend!

  22. 😀 Oh Mentor Angela . .. you had me laughing at the “You knew I’d say it, didn’t you?” haha! I’m so thankful for you and all the “But God’s” you remind us of . .. and your ever praise for your amazing God! I have a hard time staying in my chair when you get here. You make me want to jump and shout! 🙂 God bless you and your witness for Him! love and prayers!

  23. I’m thankful for God’s reviving and repairing! Great Post!
    God Bless you & yours!

  24. I need revived and repaired regularly! 🙂 God bless you too, Lady D, and your beautiful gift of photography!

  25. Great poem!

  26. God bless you and your heart for Him! Thank you for coming by today and commenting!

  27. 🙂 🙂

  28. “reviving, repairing
    building us up in Jesus” It is so much more than just forgiveness as if that weren’t enough! What an amazing God!

  29. God bless you today, Pastor J, and all that He does for you!

  30. […] by Deb over at Deb’s Blog. Great poem, hope you enjoy it! You can see the original post here. While you are there, why not check out the rest of Deb’s blog and let her know something she […]

  31. Thank you for sharing this and for your encouragement! God bless you!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

