Affliction Appointments

“. . .that no one should be shaken by these afflictions; for you yourselves know that we are appointed to this.”Β  1 Thessalonians 3:3

We usually try to keep all our appointments.

Lord, we desire to trust You during times of appointed afflictions.Β  And here’s a simple poem . . .

Appointed

Source: uhs.wisc.edu

What I’m going through today
You will use in my tomorrows
and though I be abased
I need not be ashamed

for this time by You
has been appointed
planned and watched over
without blame.

20 Comments

  1. Yep… sad to say but afflictions are the one appointment I do not enjoy keeping! (But I know it is for my good and His glory)

    Lord bless… thanks for all your time doing these daily reminders. They are a real blessing Deb.

  2. Mark Twain wrote about a man who was tarred and feathered and then ridden out of town on a rail. The man said, “If it had not been for the honor of the occasion, I’d just as soon had not been there.”

    There is sort of my feelings about afflictions. Yet I know that in my lowest valleys, God revealed Himself to be my loving Father.

  3. Oh how this ministers to me, Sis Deb–and I must say that Larry’s Mark Twain quote does offer a humorous perspective to afflicted days. You did an excellent job on this simple poem, Sis–I especially love the very last words. How much Jesus loves us, without blame–I’ll rest on that all day long!! God bless you, sweetest Sis. Praying for your injury to be healed today–Quick! Much love always, Caddo

  4. very nice Debbie

  5. Deb, were you injured? What happened? 😦

    Thank you for reminding us that hardships and afflictions serve a purpose. I’m praying that the Lord will have His perfect way.

    Love,
    Theresa

  6. God bless you, Pastor Rob, especially when you have to go through something hard, for Him and with Him. I know He wants the best for you!

  7. Oh I really love that Mark Twain quote, Mr. Larry. haha! I can sense these appointments coming on and try to show up with a thankful heart now . . versus the kicking and screaming approach. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and continue to show Himself to you as loving and faithful!

  8. I’m so thankful that this blessed you . . .and that Jesus doesn’t blame us. (He has me thinking more about blame today and being blameless!) God bless you and bring you sweet rest today, with Him. Maybe you can sit in God’s chair awhile. πŸ™‚ love you and thank you for your super sis prayers for us!

  9. God bless you, Angel Terry, and cover you in beautiful ways today! love and prayers!

  10. God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word, who knows a lot about hardships and afflictions!! We could all learn from you! You are such a comfort and bringer of His Hope.
    I slipped down some stairs on Thursday, and sprained my ankle. oops. What a klutz, eh? But, I will be fine! πŸ™‚ And God is blessing me even in this!
    love you and am thinking of you!

  11. Where would we be without the sure and certain knowledge that our loving Father is with us every step of our way – and not only with us, but in control and supplying all our needs.

    What an amazing God!

  12. Thank you, Mentor Angela, for the comfort and sweet assurance that your comment brings. Praying to not forget that in the middle of things! God bless you as you praise your forever amazing God! love and prayers and hugs!

  13. Although not looked upon fondly, it is during the times of affliction that we are reminded of the sufficiency of the grace of God! It is during these times, that His strength is made perfect in our weakness! As we endure hardness as good soldiers, our God is glorified! God bless you, my friend! Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  14. Thank you, praising Paulette, for such encouraging words. I really want Him to be glorified in my life, through the good times and the harder spots as well. I love seeing Him glorified in you. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and comfort you in His love!
    love and prayers for you too!

  15. I love the fact that God wastes nothing. Even our pain becomes a fruit bearing tree under His ministrations!

  16. Thank you for leaving that link, Betty, and God bless you!

  17. That is a really blessed way of looking at it, Pastor J! Thank you for sharing how He works and wastes nothing that we go through. God bless you!

  18. Hi Encouraging Debbie,

    I am finally coming around, so I will probably be “camping out” here at your blog, soon! πŸ™‚ As I chime in with my two cents, probably very much “after the fact,” please don’t worry about responding to all of my comments. I always feel guilty when I do that to you! πŸ™‚

    When you have a moment, please check out the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award” post at the link. You were given an honorable mention! πŸ™‚ http://pbus1.wordpress.com/awards/ Love and prayers!

    Paulette

  19. I am always so blessed when you get to make the rounds . ..then I know you are feeling a little better! πŸ™‚ You are such a blessing to us all, praising Paulette . ..so thankful for you!
    Thanks for letting me know about the link . .. I will go check it out!
    Blessings and love for your day!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

